We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxing getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate to your Saves list
The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1204, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 20% - Winter Sale!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

My boyfriend and I just spent 8 nights at the Reef and here is my review, feel free to message me with any questions.

General location
The Reef is tucked away on the East side of Grand Cayman, it's away from 7 mile beach and it was perfect for totally relaxing and doing nothing. If you are hoping for crazy nightlife and fancy restaurants, you will not find it here. What you will find is a laid back resort where you can relax all you want. The Reef was about a 45-50 minute drive from the airport by shuttle.

The Beach
The beach is large and beautiful, nice white sand to lay on while you sunbathe. The water can be a bit rocky in some places so bring water shoes for sure. We didn't mind the rocks because it made for GREAT snorkeling. Bring your own snorkel gear because you will use it every day to see all kinds of amazing fish. We saw lobsters, squid, and stingrays as well, it's an incredible adventure. There is always extra lounge chairs on the beach so no need to worry about getting a spot. When we went (May) sometimes we would find that we had the entire beach all to ourselves, other times there would only be maybe 15-18 people MAX on the beach at a time. You really feel like you are alone and secluded. Incredible!

Rooms
I would recommend getting the 1 bedroom with the full kitchen. We had a studio at first and had an issue with it but they upgraded us for free, they were so nice. The 1 bedroom has a full kitchen so you can shop at the grocery store across the street and cook all the food yourself if you want, it really made it easy and saved us a bit of money. It felt more like an apartment than a hotel room. Rooms are clean and tidy, every room has a stunning view of the ocean which makes waking up a treat every morning. Maid service seemed to come every day so it was always clean.

Food/Drink
The resort has an outdoor bar and indoor bistro as well as a restaurant upstairs. The food was decent but we found with the heat, we were not as hungry so ended up splitting appetizers mostly, the portions are fairly large so it's great to split as a snack. If you are going to drink yourself silly, it'll cost you. Drinks are about $10 US each so check for happy hour specials. We are not big drinkers so it didn't bother us much, there is also a liquor store across the road. The water is totally 100% safe to drink from the tap too if you want, you don't have to worry about food issues, it's not Cuba or Mexico. Food at the grocery store is a bit more expensive but don't sweat it too much, you are on vacation mon! Everywhere takes US $$ and most places take a credit card.

Staff
The staff were super friendly and always willing to go out of their way to make you happy. As I said we had an issue with our room and they switched us free of charge to a larger room. Linsy, Sam and everyone else was just so sweet to talk to at any time. Apollo is hilarious, one love my friend!

Island life
I strongly suggest you rent a car. We rented a car for 2 days and drove around the East end exploring. You find little nooks where you can discover an isolated beach all for yourself, it feels like the movie cast away LOL. Take a car and go talk to the locals, they are so sweet and genuinely nice people with no agenda. If you want local island souvenirs go down the street about 5-10 minutes to a small shop (house) called "Island wreck", it's blue and painted all with fish outside, can't miss it. Talk to Mathew, he is so nice and will cut you a deal on all kinds of trinkets. For local food head to restaurants like Over the Edge and Vivine's place. We went to Rum point which is nice to sit and relax and have a drink. The island is very safe and secure, no need to worry about venturing anywhere, the locals would love to meet you.

Overall
We can not wait to return to the island, the people, location and way of life is all geared towards relaxation and loving life. I can not say enough good things about the Reef Resort. Message me if you want more information as I would be happy to share more.

Natalie & Mike

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    329
    97
    41
    20
See reviews for
276
509
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Let me first just say I didn't pay anywhere close to an advertised rate, but I'm not affiliated with or do business with The Reef eithe--just one of those things I "happened" upon right before we left. Spent 28/29/30th of April at the Reef, and I think we got our bang for our buck. Woe to those who do not rent a car on the island though--$30/day cannot be beat for plans versatility and freedom.

We arrived about 430-500 pm or so and had no issues with our reservation. Room was 223 I think, with elevator service to second floor. Rooms nothing special, tiled floors (which was nice, but their was sand in there even after cleaned), king bed, smallish bathroom, and kitchenette; as promised, room had ocean view (attached). Went down to outdoor bar and proceeded to get hammered though not intentionally--was just being silly and the Diets/Jacks snuck up on me. Before that, ordered the eggs rolls [avocado, chicken I think] from the menu and they were delish; Pooh had the shrimp quesadillas and [on another night] the conch fritters--former better than latter. Drinks a bit pricey at $10, but the Reef has a weekly schedule of events at the property including DJ, live music, drinks and eats specials, and the activities guide. Didn't do the 'free dinner/live music' thing since we weren't interested in the least bit for buying a timeshare. There is ample room to roam around the beach, and saw quite a few guest butt-up snorkeling right off the beach; activities center also rents gear and does smaller, bay tours [we missed morning kayak tour for Fat Fish Adventure reflow].

The property is quiet and spread among 5-6 buildings [with a similarly arranged resort next door]. There is an on site restaurant which serves all food at the bar as well, and the breakfast is in the adjoining cafe: breakfast is best described as "continental lite". Wifi was free everywhere on property which I inferred was a newer [but welcome] development. Small but well stocked general market across the street, but Dunkin Donuts was expensive (about 50 cents per Munchkin!). Never worried about parking space, but did get a 'ding' from unknown person which was luckily covered by AMEX--check your insurance before going [oh, and drive on the left side of the road]. Takes about 30-40 minutes to drive from airport; Rum Point is 20 minutes further on but worth visiting to hang/eat; 15 minutes to QEII arboretum, and without a car, you'll miss plenty of eating establishments outside of Georgetown.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Place was very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. Food was to die for. Snorkeling right off hotel was wonderful. Thanks to the best bartenders Colin, Sam, Tony, Nick!!!!! You guyz are great. Place is wonderful.... Ocean front rooms were fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Husband & I spent a Saturday night at The Reef prior to a bicycle road race the next morning. Great value for money. Upgraded to Deluxe Studio Suite was well worth it and spent a fair while in the jacuzzi. Fabulous view from the balcony, although it could do with a little work as water pooled on it and didnt drain away.

Bar service is fantastic and the food was good. Beach is peaceful and plenty of sunbeds. Pools and spa pool are clean and warm! Be aware tho' that the main pool is salt water, not fresh.

As we already live on Grand Cayman, it takes something special to make us go "wow" and The Reef certianly achieved this. Even booked a return visit for husband's birthday in July!

Overall, a fantastic place to get away from it all.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

My husband and I, along with about 12 relatives, spent 5 days at the Reef Resort for my son's wedding. It was gorgeous! Wedding and weather was beautiful. The wedding coordinator, Linda, took care of the plans and reception for the wedding. She did a great job and all went well. Decorations and food were great. The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially Michelle, Jake, and Laura. They were awesome when we had questions. Our room was the deluxe studio and it was plenty of room for my husband and I. The view from our 3rd floor balcony was out of this world. We did take a tour of the timeshare, but no pressure was put on us to purchase. Because we took the tour, we all received free tickets to Stingray City. This is one thing that everyone needs to do! We had a great time and the tour guides were fantastic! Food was ok but very expensive! They really need to write prices on menus that reflect Cayman money as well as US currency. Watch out for that. All in all, the trip to the Reef Resort in Grand Cayman for my son's wedding was the most thrilling experience of my life. One day I hope to go back there and I would highly recommend the Reef Resort ot anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Reef and would recommend it provided you are looking to have the beach, water, and roads almost entirely to yourselves. The ocean front room was great and that by itself made the Reef for us a far better value than paying much more money for an ocean front room at the adjacent Mortiz. The room was spacious, clean, and quite. Contrary to some earlier reviews, we were very satisfied with the continental breakfast, which included toast, bagels, fresh fruit, juice, cereal, and either hot oatmeal or corn pudding. The menu items looked good, but unless you like to eat really heavy in the morning the continental breakfast should satisfy you. We did not eat at the Reef restaurant as it looked very expensive. Everyone on the Reef staff that we dealt with was very friendly and helpful. The Over the Edge restaurant 15 minutes down the road was good (try the spicy land crab and the marinated conch), and the Driftwood Bar and Grill just outside of Rum Point offered simple, but filling meals with a nice location. Food in GC really is as expensive as advertised. About the fourth day we realized buying a roasted chicken or smoked fish or "paties" at the Fosters across the street saved us a lot of money and we still had a gread view/atmosphere eating on our balcony overlooking the ocean. We went to GC to snorkel, and even though the conditions weren't great weather wise, found the snorkeling great. If you have a car there are several super spots within 5 - 20 minutes of the Reef (and we had them all to ourselves - we were always the only ones at the beach or out in the water). Highly recommend Barefoot Beach and the wreck of the G-K; Rum Point (enter water at Public Beach before you come to Rum Point, swim out to reef and then follow reef up to where it is even with the tip of Rum Point, cut in to visit coral gardens, and then long swim to beach by pier, walk 10 minutes back to car parked at public beach) ; Queen's Monument (park at Connolly's Cove and walk up the beach to big pink house - then snorkel back down; and finally in front of the Reef and the Moritz (enter water at last Moritz building, swim out to fan coral formations and then work your way to Moritz pier, then on to and past the Reef pier - water is super clear, not any coral formations, but lots of sea life - we saw a sea turtle, large and small rays, eels, baracuda, tarpon, and a surprisingly rich variety of fish in front of both hotels); and Anchor Point. We also did Cemetery Beach on the West Side the day we flew in since we were only 20 minutes away and couldn't check into the Reef until 4:00pm and it was excellent too. The only area that disappointed us was Boden Town, both at the end of Beach Bay road and in front of the cemetary (nice beaches, but very disappointing snorkeling - we also encountered a very strong current inside the reef at the end of Beach Bay road and struggled to get back to the beach. The Mastic Trail is also close to the Reef, but I don't recommend it. It takes two hours to walk round trip, and the walking is very difficult on the iron shore ground the makes up almost the entire trail (wear heavy shoes if you make the hike). The vegitation is very close to the trail and there is no breeze - you will sweat a lot so bring water with you. Finally, I suppose you should do Sting Ray City, but I recommend doing the shorter, less expensive glass bottom boat and go in the afternoon when the crowds are gone. Fifteen minutes with the rays is plenty when there are only 20 of you and the coral gardens snorkeling is no better than Barefoot Beach or Queens Monument. The catamaran trip is twice as long and twice as expensive and probably not twice as enjoyable. So, if you want the beach to yourself, don't like fighting crowds, don't need lots of restaurants or bars at night to keep you happy, the Reef would be a very good choice for you.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

The reef resort was ok...nothing great, but not terrible. The beach is so-so...The hotel pool was satisfactory..not very clean...Not much snorkeling to do around the hotel.. you definitely have to go out to Stingray City...it was amazing to be around the stingrays and the eel that came out of its home under the rock..oh my goodness...just beautiful..we chose a local company...it was perfect and they treated us very nice...

The service at the hotel was good. They did have an all you can eat buffet which was really nice. The ribs were amazing...The service at the bar is fast!! Definitely a nice atmosphere there...Overall my experience at this hotel was ok...It's far away from the city, so if you're into nightlife/shopping/going out, this place isn't for you.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate

Address: Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1204, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.