We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time as good as the first” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate

Save Saved
You added The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1204, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Fall Into Paradise
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in East End
Plano, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Second time as good as the first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

There is something about this place that wants me to keep coming back. This is my second time at the Reef (came by myself in October 2012) and I brought 2 girlfriends with me. It was paradise (again)! In fact, this time I went to Seven Mile Beach to check out the other side of the island. After a few hours my friends were saying 'can we go back to our side, it is so much better.' If you want the party scene,then the Reef is not for you. If you want to be able to sit out on your patio, listen to and watch the waves, walk our from a ground floor room directly onto the sand, into the water - then this is the place for you. No fancy lobbies, no fancy restaurants, just a very low-key type of paradise.
A few things . . . I rented a car this time at the airport, big mistake for me. I don't like driving on the left side of the road, especially at sunset when you may see crabs crossing the road (yes crabs and unfortunately I hit a few). Since I don't wander far from the resort, I really didn't need a car . . . You need to go to Tucca, I have done the Walkabout Wednesday both times where you get appetizer, soup, entree, dessert, and a glass of wine for $40 - it has such a great vibe . . Did go to Stingray City this time, took the morning trip (only 7 of us) and we were the only ones out there for the first feeding and then did some snorkeling; this was AMAZING! . . . Ok it did rain a few days but we sat in the hot tub, drank, met some great people, snorkeled, met some other great people, drank at the bar, met some other great people . . . . I'll see you there next year! This is truly my paradise.

Room Tip: The only way to go is the ground floor; I love 102-104 as you have direct access to the beach. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    500
    316
    94
    40
    18
See reviews for
268
488
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Spent 3 days at the Reef and rated it average. We had a one bedroom suite with a full kitchen, spacious living room and balcony. All the rooms overlook the ocean and are big and clean. The service and food were just OK. Located at the far eastern end of the island it was a totally different vibe from 7 mile. The reef was very quiet and there was very little to do nearby. The restaurant and bar tended to close early even on the weekends. Better for families than solo travelers.

Room Tip: One bedroom suites sleep 4 comfortably with a queen bedroom, 2 murphy beds in living room. Fully fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and i stay here for 2 nights... The room was big... The service was good as well and the food was great.... The onoy thing is not to much beach here.... But the snormel is very good....

If u want to relax this is the pleace...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Located far from all tourist attractions. You can get there by a public bus for a few dollars, but it will take about an hour. The Reef is on a nice private beach. Even during busy Christmass holidays the beach was not crowded. Of course, it is not as good as the 7-mile. The room is about the average size, slighlty dated, with a huge balcony facing the beach. The balcony is not very private, your next door neighbour can even peek inside your room. Dining options are minimal. There is a bar and a restaurant onsite, we did not like either. There is also a subway and a grocery store across the street. Overall it feels more like an apartment than a hotel. Especially when it comes to services, the front desk is pretty much like a building manager, they will help you if you ask, but nobody seems to have been trained in hospitality. I will not be coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

The Reef is a wonderful place to take your family or just for a relaxing getaway. My wife and I were married there a few years back and have been coming ever since. Linda took care of everything for our wedding and it was perfect. The bar staff and White Sands guys have always taken care of us whenever we stay. Last year The Reef hired a new manager for the Food and Entertainment, Milos. He had made some impressive changes to the outside entertainment the last time we were out that really made the night life pop. We are heading back as soon as we can. It's our favorite place to visit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The main thing to remember about this resort is that it doubles as a timeshare, AND it's on the opposite side of the island from pretty much everything. The result is a place where you can truly unwind and enjoy being "off the grid" as much as you want to be.

The rooms are nice, and we booked a studio suite. The floors, as with most Caribbean locations, is completely tiled. There's a jetted tub outside the double sink and then a water closet with a standup shower. Seemingly endless hot water and great water pressure in both the shower and tub.

The bed is adequate, and it seems that all balconies are both large and have a great view of the beach/ocean. Some balconies, however, are semi-private and only separated by a hip-high wrought iron divide. No big deal, but if you're waking up, you can see you neighbor if they are at the railing, looking at the ocean.

We ate at the beach grille once and the food was very good. Also did the resort breakfast as part of the Euro-plan, and were pleased with the freshness and portion size. Other dining options included going to the grocery store across the street, and there's a little Italian place that cooks up great food for either dine-in or take-away (their hand made, wood stove cooked pizza is terrific! You're about 1.5 miles down the road from Tukka, which was fantastic as well.

As far as activities, we were only here for diving, and we booked with someone who departs from the Northwestern part of the island. We rented a car and had no trouble getting to and from the other side of the island within 45 minutes to an hour. It's a lovely drive, and we were happy to cruise at the speed limit.

Overall, The Reef is away from the fast paced side of the island, but offers a great place to unwind, and relax. We weren't able to stay completely off the grid (work never ceases), and the wifi was affordable (by resort standards) at $40 (US) per week.

Should we return to Grand Cayman, this would definitely be a place we'd stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the reef twice and it is a little slice of heaven! It's a little bit of a drive from 7 mile beach but that's why we love it! Very quiet and peaceful. The staff at the tiki bar is awesome! Tony and Collin are always very nice and fun. We will try go back every year

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate

Address: Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1204, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Wyndham, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.