We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Reef” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate

Save Saved
You added The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1204, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Fall-Tastic Getaway
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in East End
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Reef”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Spent 3 days at the Reef and rated it average. We had a one bedroom suite with a full kitchen, spacious living room and balcony. All the rooms overlook the ocean and are big and clean. The service and food were just OK. Located at the far eastern end of the island it was a totally different vibe from 7 mile. The reef was very quiet and there was very little to do nearby. The restaurant and bar tended to close early even on the weekends. Better for families than solo travelers.

Room Tip: One bedroom suites sleep 4 comfortably with a queen bedroom, 2 murphy beds in living room. Fully fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    487
    313
    89
    39
    18
See reviews for
261
479
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and i stay here for 2 nights... The room was big... The service was good as well and the food was great.... The onoy thing is not to much beach here.... But the snormel is very good....

If u want to relax this is the pleace...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Located far from all tourist attractions. You can get there by a public bus for a few dollars, but it will take about an hour. The Reef is on a nice private beach. Even during busy Christmass holidays the beach was not crowded. Of course, it is not as good as the 7-mile. The room is about the average size, slighlty dated, with a huge balcony facing the beach. The balcony is not very private, your next door neighbour can even peek inside your room. Dining options are minimal. There is a bar and a restaurant onsite, we did not like either. There is also a subway and a grocery store across the street. Overall it feels more like an apartment than a hotel. Especially when it comes to services, the front desk is pretty much like a building manager, they will help you if you ask, but nobody seems to have been trained in hospitality. I will not be coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

The Reef is a wonderful place to take your family or just for a relaxing getaway. My wife and I were married there a few years back and have been coming ever since. Linda took care of everything for our wedding and it was perfect. The bar staff and White Sands guys have always taken care of us whenever we stay. Last year The Reef hired a new manager for the Food and Entertainment, Milos. He had made some impressive changes to the outside entertainment the last time we were out that really made the night life pop. We are heading back as soon as we can. It's our favorite place to visit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The main thing to remember about this resort is that it doubles as a timeshare, AND it's on the opposite side of the island from pretty much everything. The result is a place where you can truly unwind and enjoy being "off the grid" as much as you want to be.

The rooms are nice, and we booked a studio suite. The floors, as with most Caribbean locations, is completely tiled. There's a jetted tub outside the double sink and then a water closet with a standup shower. Seemingly endless hot water and great water pressure in both the shower and tub.

The bed is adequate, and it seems that all balconies are both large and have a great view of the beach/ocean. Some balconies, however, are semi-private and only separated by a hip-high wrought iron divide. No big deal, but if you're waking up, you can see you neighbor if they are at the railing, looking at the ocean.

We ate at the beach grille once and the food was very good. Also did the resort breakfast as part of the Euro-plan, and were pleased with the freshness and portion size. Other dining options included going to the grocery store across the street, and there's a little Italian place that cooks up great food for either dine-in or take-away (their hand made, wood stove cooked pizza is terrific! You're about 1.5 miles down the road from Tukka, which was fantastic as well.

As far as activities, we were only here for diving, and we booked with someone who departs from the Northwestern part of the island. We rented a car and had no trouble getting to and from the other side of the island within 45 minutes to an hour. It's a lovely drive, and we were happy to cruise at the speed limit.

Overall, The Reef is away from the fast paced side of the island, but offers a great place to unwind, and relax. We weren't able to stay completely off the grid (work never ceases), and the wifi was affordable (by resort standards) at $40 (US) per week.

Should we return to Grand Cayman, this would definitely be a place we'd stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the reef twice and it is a little slice of heaven! It's a little bit of a drive from 7 mile beach but that's why we love it! Very quiet and peaceful. The staff at the tiki bar is awesome! Tony and Collin are always very nice and fun. We will try go back every year

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breckenridge,co
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived May 15 and were upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite, sharing the adjoining suite unit with my sister and her husband. We had a fabulous 10 day stay! We were in 208 A & B overlooking the pool and sharing a balcony, because we knew our neighbors this was not a problem for us!

The really good: Check- in with Tanya and David at the front desk was fabulous and easy after a long travel day. We initially thought ground floor units would be best for us, but Tanya convinced us to take the upgrade and come back and see her if we were not happy with the rooms. We never looked back! One bedroom unit has a full kitchen, well appointed with cooking utensils and dishes, including a toaster, and blender! Our concierge for the week was Rocky, a delightful American girl who was most helpful booking our rental car and Stingray City trip with White Sand Sports. Directly across from the hotel is a small shopping center with a Foster's grocery mart, and a liquor store, both which saved us a lot of money for our 10 day trip. When people tell you food is expensive, you need to believe them. $100 US is worth $80 Caymanian money. Our first night, we paid $57 US for two plates of pasta at the Italian restaurant in the same shopping center as listed above. Rocky gave us a couple of local restaurants to try, Kurt's Corner becoming our dinner of choice! Once we had the rental car we had many more options for dining. Don't miss the Stingray City trip with Captain Chris of White Sand Sports, excellent trip and he is very entertaining! Know that upon check in, your credit card will be charged a $500 US hold for the duration of your stay. You are able to use this in the restaurant and bar and also for day outings. Not available to transfer to a car rental, make sure you advise your credit card company of your travel dates so that your transaction is not declined! Room was very clean, and our housekeeper most of the days was Barbara who did an excellent job keeping us cleaned up and well stocked with clean towels. Air conditioning worked well, comfy bed and black out curtains helped us sleep well the entire trip. The maintenance crew was out early every morning cleaning up the beach and pool area, keeping it all fantastic looking! Very friendly staff, hellos from all that we greeted.

Could be improved: As the island comes on board with recycling, a separate bin for bottles and cans in each room could make the sorting out easier. Also, cards could be left giving guests the option of reusing towels and sheets to save water resources and labor for the hotel. Most hotels now offer sheet changing after 3 days and travelers have come to not expect sheets to be changed every day. Also, just more trash containers out in the resort area, would probably alleviate people leaving their trash by the sunbeds and on the picnic tables. Rooms are rented to local families on the weekends and there were very small children in the pools with no parents in sight, diving off the rocks and screaming and shrieking for hours, seems like more accountability should be required before someone gets hurt jumping off those rocks. Babies in the pools with diapers and some flat out naked, very unappealing, didn't use the pools for that reason.

Security concern: We returned from a day outing on election day to find the deadbolt to our common door thrown, and both of our unit doors open. We had to get to Rum Point quickly for our sunset sail, and went to the front desk upon returning. David understood our concerns and was very apologetic thinking that perhaps the housekeeper forgot to close the door behind her when she finished cleaning. As a law enforcement officer in a resort community myself, I take several calls a year for theft from hotel rooms. When there is a card reader on the door, normal security measures are in place as the lock can be "audited", meaning, the lock records which key is opening the door and the time it was opened. When a deadbolt is thrown, anyone walking by can simply push open the door and walk in and steal from the unit. I personally have arrested housekeepers and maintenance people working in cahoots with each other for this very scheme. I am not accusing the Reef staff of this at all, but I was very concerned when I saw this practice taking place. There is absolutely no reason for this practice, every housekeeper has a key, and it should be tracked accordingly. David agreed to speak to the head of housekeeping about my concerns, and I have no doubt it happened.

Overall, we had a relaxing vacation and highly recommend this resort to anyone. Buy your duty free liquor when leaving the airport, but don't wait to buy souvenirs here, mostly booze stores, and only one food vendor, plan accordingly!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate

Address: Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1204, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.