We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Reef Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Reef Resort to your Saves list
Wyndham Reef Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1204, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just came back from a trip here. Resort is clean and well run, rooms were great and right on the beach. We had lunch one day on the beach at their café and the food was pretty good. We had a week of bad weather so that made the location difficult. Resort diving had to be switched to Seven Mile Beach because of the waves so we ended up spending a lot of our trip driving back and forth to Seven Mile Beach. But it was unusual weather. Red Sail Sports did an awesome job with our diving packages. We also took their glass bottom boat trip out of Rum Point to Stingray city. That was great for the kids.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    364
    109
    43
    20
See reviews for
310
553
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nutley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the The Reef Resort in March 2013. The resort is on the East Side of the island, away from the crowds, traffic and city type atmosphere, which is what we wanted. The hotel staff were very helpful and accommodating, especially Daina Edwards who was very knowledgeable and helpful in providing information regarding weather, excursions and restaurants in planning our week. Our room was on the second floor and faced the ocean, along with the pool. At first we were concerned that it would be noisy, but it was not a problem. The room had a small kitchette and we had breakfast on our balcony every morning with a view of the ocean. We ate at the hotel several times and the food was good, however ate at several places throughout the island since we rented a car, which I would suggest. Our favorites meals were the some of the local restaurants, such as Kurts which was not very far from the hotel. The temperature was in the low 80's, however we did have a couple of really windy days which made it difficult to go to the beach and took the opportunity to visit the Turtle Farm and the Botanical Gardens. The Reef Resort is an excellent get away to read, relax and get some sun.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We visited The Reef during the week of March 18th and it was perfect for us! The Reef is far away from the masses of people on 7 Mile Beach, yet has everything you could ever want in a vacation destination! Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, ocean front view from every unit can't be beat! White Sands Water Sports is located on the resort property and they provide great snorkle tours and excursions....highly recommend the sunrise stingray trip....definitely worth getting up early for - you won't regret it! We also snorkled next door at Morrett's dock and saw tons of fish including a barracuda! There is a grocery store, liquor store and gift shop across the street if you want to stock up on anything. We visited some local area restaurants which were all great...especially, Tukka, Bombay Chopsticks and The Light House!
The Reef, is casual, welcoming and unpretentious....We can't wait to come back!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This is the perfect location if you like bring away from noise, crowds and having all the amenities at your door. Got a spacious 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo on the beach for a song!!!! Great beach bar, pools, hot tub, dive shop w pier and boats right here. Grocery, liquor store across the street. Good restaurants on site and nearby. Clean, friendly, beautiful beach and great water.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

just came back from the reef, what an amazing stay, we have stayed at 7 mile beach before and was looking for something more quiet and relaxing, we absolutely got our wish, watched the sunrise from our two bedroom condo every morning, then hit the beach, always a lounge chair available, great snorkeling so many varieties of fish to see, the beach bar was handy with some fantastic frozen rum cocktails, kudo's to Tony one of the many friendly bartenders, the staff was great, friendly and happy to help us make dinner reservations etc., we ate dinner twice at the resort, once to see barefoot man, very funny show, just o.k., food, have found the island has so many great dining choices. all in all a great relaxing stay at the reef resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outer banks
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I loved this place and plan to return in the near future. It is located at the east end of the island, away from the cruise ship tourists of Georgetown. If you want peace and tranquility this is the spot for you. We made our reservations on Monday afternoon March 18 and were flying to the caymans by Tuesday morning march 19. Expedia did all the arrangements and the price was too good to pass up. The caymans were never really on my radar to visit but the last minute deal proved to be a gem and I am in love with this place. The reef is very nice, clean and all the rooms have a beach view. Unlike the resort next door which resembled something out of Walt Disney world. The staff were courteous and helpful. They knew why we had made our arrangements on short notice and respected our privacy. Across the street is a shopping center with a liquor store, grocery mart and an Italian restaurant. If you want your drinks strong then I suggest utilizing the first two. There is a restaurant named Tukus which will pick you up at the resort and bring you back-no charge. Chef Ron himself actually picked us up. Make reservations and try to get a table down on the beach. The food was amazing. We went to Georgetown one day and just ended up at seven mile beach for a swim. We live in a resort town so all the shops are basically the same here, except for the Cuban cigars. If you want to just relax and soak up the sun this is the place to go and I can't wait to get back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have gone to Grand Cayman for 11 years now. We have stayed at many places on the island but still love the The Reef the most. The staff is wonderful, it is quite and relaxing. They have water sports available through White Sands, there are several restaurants in easy walking or driving distance. The beach is lovely. There is a nice daily itinerary that you can participate in all or part and it includes activities for kids. I will come back to The Reef as long as I am able.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1204, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort located on Grand Cayman in the Cayman Islands, is the only resort in Grand Cayman that guarantees every suite is ocean front and also the only resort that offers both all-inclusive options and room only options! With 1600 feet of sandy beach, snorkeling right from the shore and a water sports vendor on property you can be as active or tranquil as you choose to be. Our all-inclusive options make planning your dream vacation even easier! Wyndham Reef Resort also offers the perfect place to hold that special event such as your wedding, honeymoon, celebration of life, graduation, a family reunion or just a memorable vacation. Whatever it is you are celebrating we are here to help make it extra special. We look forward to helping you create a lifetime of memories, one vacation at a time, at the Wyndham Reef Resort in Grand Cayman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.