We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate to your Saves list
The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1204, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 20% - Winter Sale!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Newport News
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I just finished a 5 day stay at the Reef. It was truly a vacation to remember. The room was clean and comfortable with a breathtaking view of the water. The staff was friendly and really worked hard to make our visit ideal. The food was delicious with a nice variety of entrees. There's nothing better than the Reef French toast on the beach! :)

The concierge Cathy really went out of her way to make the trip enjoyable. Her local knowledge and connections were right on target. She has real enthusiasm for her work, and it's obvious she wants every one to have a good time. Look her up if you stay there; she knows her stuff!

If considering a trip to Grand Cayman, stay here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    329
    97
    41
    20
See reviews for
276
509
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have done both 7 Mile Beach and the quiet east end...and nothing beats this if you want a quiet relaxing week without any formality. The condos are either first floor walk out to the beach, or second and third floor with balconies. The White Sand water sports guys are excellent. Don't do this location without a rental car, and if you go, plan to stop at the Fosters Market in Savannah avout half way from airport. Total drive from airport is about 20 miles. There is a small Fosters right across the street with limited choices. For dinners out try Tukka, Rum Point Restaurant, Lighthouse, and Over the Edge.

Room Tip: We love the ground floor walkout to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I went with my husband and we had a wonderful time. At one point he said to me, "this is all I had hoped it would be."
Although on the East End and without a car, we were able to do everything we wanted on the island. A car would be helpful but is not necessary. After touring the West End for a day - we were happy being on the East End without all the congestion. Be aware that some days there are 6 cruise ships docked at Georgetown with 18,000 tourists roaming through town.
We had a Deluxe Studio which was comfortable and spacious with a spectacular view! It includes a very small area with a sink, microwave, toaster, coffee pot and dishes for four. There is also a mini-fridge. We were able to have breakfast in the room everyday - cereal and even bacon and eggs. There's a grocery store right across the street. We had a few issues with the room (A/C not working and a leaky faucet which were promptly repaired. The staff is pleasant and the concierges are eager to please.
The food at the restaurant was good but not great. I think we got better food and better value at the local restaurants. Our favorite restaurants: Italian Kitchen (right across the street) has wonderful pizza and pasta dishes, Over the Edge (a $30 round trip taxi ride), Tukkas (will pick you up for free).
We snorkeled with the guys from White Sand (located on the premises) and had a great time! Were only 6 people on the boat and the reef was amazing! Then went on the stingray trip with Red Sail that was organized by The Reef hotel. Had 60 people on a large boat and the snorkeling was good but not as nice as on the East End. Still, being with the stingrays was so cool! If you listen to a 90-minute timeshare pitch, you can go for free.
I would skip the Island Tour that is arranged by The Reef. They took us to a few nice places but lots of crappy, small shops that sell lousy t-shirts. One place, they call "Hell" is a ridiculous waste of time as is the Tortuga Rum "factory" which is really just a sales outlet. Try to avoid transportation and tours arranged by The Reef with "Leon." He is the weak part of The Reef's network of locals. He rushed through the tour and tried to skip stops like 7 Mile Beach so we could go to another t-shirt shop. He also took us to dinner one night. We told him we wanted to be picked up at 8:00 PM. He said we didn't need that much time so we agreed to 7:30 PM. At 7:25 PM he came right into the restaurant, found us and tapped his watch telling us it was time to go. Very rude!
I would recommend The Reef and look forward to going back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Excellent experience!
Quite, clean,comfortable with very kind employees.
Truly a relaxing experience.
The food was great.I paid all inclusive. The price was really good but after a while got somehow bored of the same restaurant so I decided to go to the Italian kitchen just in front of the Hotel. Great food but also Island price.
This hotel is perfect to get yourself supplies for breakfast and maybe lunch as the rooms are fully furnished apartments (we had a two room).The kitchen has all appliances.
The beach is more wavy than the West end but the sand is clear and soft.The problem is when the weather is rough the tide affects the east end more than the west end.Regardless of this I prefer the East end!
You can always go for a city tour and then go back to the east end and relax.
The diving company: Tortuga divers is excellent and I strongly recommend it.
I am definitively planning to go back to Grand Cayman and to The Reef.
I recommend it strongly.

Room Tip: All are Ocean front. I would recommend to get your own breakfast and lunch and enjoy dinner at the H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Fourth time traveler to the Cayman's and the first time staying outside of seven mile beach. The Reef is very nice and I would definitely stay there again. We had a two bedroom condo with a large porch right on the beach with great ocean views. Hotel staff very friendly. You will want to have a car on this side of island. There aren't many great restaurants, and the beach isn't as nice but you also don't need to fight any crowds. Food and the bar at hotel were good. Guys enjoyed diving with the Ocean Frontiers. Rum point restaurant was great. Went to Georgetown one day and ate a great Mexican lunch at Agave. My personnel favorite was Totua's - the snapper was fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Valley, Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at The Reef Jan 30-Feb 5, 2013. This resort which is located on the east end of Grand Cayman has a beautiful setting. It is a well kept resort, but has not been renovated, so does show some age....But we spent most of each day outside enjoying the beautiful Cayman weather. Each room/suite is located just a few feet from the beautiful sand....which is amazing and very rare. The east end of Grand Cayman is much less congested and offers a peaceful setting. The restaurant is average, I would suggest eating somewhere else on the island since there are so many fantastic restaurants. If you like mudslides, they make the best on the island. This resort offers a true "getaway" with not a lot of people and incredible views, great snorkeling between The Morritts and The Reef and a true value for your money. Also, make sure to get a car and explore the island...so much to see and experience. Plan to set up excursions with Red Sail Sports(located in the resort lobby)...they are fantastic!!

Room Tip: Ground floor is perfect..only a few steps from the beach ....amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here and would definately stay here again over seven mile beach. We are only in our young 30's and were one of the youngest couples here, but that suited us just fine. Wasn't a lot to do but that's what we were looking for. We wanted a quiet place to sit on the beach and enjoy the weather and that's what we got. Rooms were clean and in great condition, beach and resort tidy and cleaned daily, staff was friendly. I did however think the food and drinks were way overprised even for grand Cayman for the quality that was received. Didn't like paying $3.59 for a small cup of coffee either. Would suggest anyone going utilize the coffee maker in room. Had a rental car and found excellent places to eat. Lionfish at Tukka, hot and sour soup and chili prawns at Bombay Chopsticks. Grouper at Vivines were all great. Italian kitchen across the street was sub par on the seafood pasta and pizza we got.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate

Address: Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1204, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.