We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Iguana Recovery Program Safari Tour

Blue Iguana Recovery Program Safari Tour
Frank Sound Road, East End KY1-1003, Grand Cayman
1345-547-8713
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 attractions in East End
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Behind the scene tours of the Blue Iguana Recovery Programme's captive breeding facility and a guided tour of the woodland trail. Monday to Saturday at 11 a.m. Tickets are available at the Queen Elizabeth II Botanic Park's main gate.
Riverhead, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This tour was well worth the time. The guide, John the head warden, was very knowledgeable and caring about these endangered creatures. He took his time walking us through the park, showed us the breading facility and answered any questions. There were people as young as 5 in our group and as old as 75 and everyone seemed to enjoy this tour. There is no wheelchair and disabled access available. Wear comfortable shoes. I particularly enjoyed the the nursery area. We were able to take close up photos. The Iguanas came right up to the edge of their protested areas.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    3
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent informative tour for kids and adults”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We visited with 3 kids ages 8-12 and they loved it. The guide was excellent. Informative, interesting, and entertaining, including for our 3 kids. It was the best part of the botanical garden experience for us. The naturalist was passionate and enthusiastic. This was one on the highlights of our week. You walk around the periphery of the enclosure area, about the size of a football field, looking into the enclosures of larger animals, and cages of smaller animals, while the guide talks about the blue iguanas, the program, and the island, with it's history and future. The iguanas themselves are impressive, and surprisingly different from the common green iguana. You also see a few of them walking "wild" in the botanical garden.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, Idaho
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Saving the Blue Iguanas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Visited the Botanical Gardens and luckily arrived in time to participate in the Blue Iguana revovery tour. The naturalist conducting the tour was very passionate and knowledgeable about the program, he was the head warden. I was accompanied by an 11 year old and he was sensitive to conducting the tour for her entertainment and enjoyment also. Great to see a successful animal recovery program similar to the California condor .

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great inside story”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Visit the beautiful gardens first at 9a.m. then head over for the 11a.m. tour. Be on time they leave promptly! Our tour guide was very passionate and knowledgeable. Our tour consisted of 10 people, so you can ask all the questions you may have. We were able to take some excellent close up pictures and learn about the local plants and animals. Quite a success story implemented by a group of hard working people.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Interesting and informative way to spend a few hours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

To be honest, I wasn't too keen on visiting this place but my wife is very keen about animals and helping endangered species so I went with the expectations of just tagging along while she enjoyed it. Safe to say, I was completely wrong and ended up enjoying more that her!

For start, it's a beautiful location. Long winding paths with a stunning variety of flora and fauna to look at and learn about. Our guide, John, was awesome. His tour was a great mix of enthusiasm, information, friendliness and light comedy. His passion for the iguanas is evident and after spending a few minutes in their company, I can see why he's trying to help save these majestic reptiles. We saw and learnt about all stages of the iguana life cycle, from the tiny, curious infants to the distinguished adults. Most of the iguanas were relaxing in their pens away from human contact but we got the pleasure of having 2 of the wild residents (eg: living freely in the reserve) cross our path. Slightly disturbingly they were called "Mad Max" and "Biter", but both didn't live up to their namesake thankfully and it was great to see the personable little fellas doing their own thing.

In the end we learnt a lot more than we ever expected about Blue Iguanas, Green Iguanas, plus some of the plants and culture on Grand Cayman! Overall, it was a great experience and really nice way to spend a few hours. The botanical gardens that surround the reserve are amazing as well and definitely worth a visit if you're inclined to that sort of thing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Iguana Recovery Program Safari Tour also viewed

 
West Bay, Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Blue Iguana Recovery Program Safari Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Iguana Recovery Program Safari Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blue Iguana Recovery Program Safari Tour to your Saves list