We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original menu and right on the water” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tukka

Tukka
898 Austin Conolly Drive | Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands, East End, Grand Cayman
1-345-947-2700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in East End
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Located just footsteps from one of the most gorgeous ocean views, looking out on the Wreck of the Ten Sails. Watch the playful seagulls wait for Chef Ron to throw them a surprise! Passenger’s rave about the friendly and fun atmosphere created by Chef Ron and his wife Lana. The lucky passengers staying on the quiet East end enjoy his Sunday Brunches and great breakfasts. Chef Ron Hargrave, who hails from “Down Under”, has created a mouth watering menu, combining the freshest local seafood with an authentic Australian flair to create an amazing dining experience for the whole family. So many passenger's love his Walk-About Wednesdays! Enjoy an Australian themed 4-Course dinner with culinary delights to tickle the taste buds! Includes in this $40 dinner is a complimentary glass of wine or beer of your choice, Ala-Carte menu also available! Return transfers can be arranged with our courtesy vehicle for the Morritts Tortuga & Reef Resort as well Compass Point Dive Lodge. Just ask your concierge or front desk for bookings.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Original menu and right on the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This place is wonderful--everything is good. Call ahead and get a good table on the porch overlooking the water.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    658
    228
    61
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice change from 7 mile beach environment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have always enjoyed the nice ocean breeze as well. Saw a white tip shark right at the shore last time - came in to feed at dusk.
Seafood is excellent.
Not a super elegant place but romantic or good for groups.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stouffville, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Beat Meal We Had In Cayman!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Our family of 4 loved the Delicious Lion Fish Taco's, Aussie Burgers and Chicken Curry we ordered all in a gorgeous setting looking out onto the Ocean. This chef can really cook! It is totally worth the drive to the beautiful east end of Grand Cayman!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This restaurant is a long way from Seven Mile Beach but it is worth the drive as the setting is wonderful Rather rustic and basic in its design the decor could leave you disappointed but outside is spectacular. The sea food is very fresh regularly bought from local fishermen and is well cooked. Some of the food is a little too creative, but generally a good place to go.
The pick up service from local hotels was a definite benefit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Ron H, Owner at Tukka, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
G'Day "Grownup55"...

Wow... 3/5 for:
"worth the drive ",
"setting is wonderful",
"outside is spectacular",
"sea food is very fresh regularly bought from local fishermen and is well cooked",
"The pick up service from local hotels was a definite benefit"
...and your only complaint was: "food is a little too creative" hahahaha! I'll take that as a compliment Mate!
You're a tough reviewer! ... Gave me a good laugh though!
We hope that you return to Tukka soon and enjoy it just a little bit more ;)
Cheers,
Chef Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great view, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Wow were we surprised by Tukka!

Everything was terrific. The view is phenomenal and the food delicious. We started with the mojitos, calamari, lobster spring rolls, and coconut shrimp. Followed with the curry and mahi-mahi salad from the lunch menu. The kids had the quesadillas, pasta, and fish and chips. Love the steamed veggie option for the kids and the fish for my son was perfect. Also, the chips were half white and half sweet potato fries which I love. Foe dessert, the peach cobbler was delicious with a great cinnamon emphasis.

This is original, fantastic food with an amazing view. What else could you want? Most likely, we'll head back again this week...

Good to know-they have happy hour drink and food menu items until 6 pm. The price increases by the hour per food item beginning at 3. At 5:55, a waiter came by to see if we wanted anything else from the happy hour menu (smart selling) and we tried the mango mojito this time. Yum!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tukka also viewed

 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Tukka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tukka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.