We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Presentation, Price and Preparation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tukka

Tukka
898 Austin Conolly Drive | Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands, East End, Grand Cayman
1-345-947-2700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in East End
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Located just footsteps from one of the most gorgeous ocean views, looking out on the Wreck of the Ten Sails. Watch the playful seagulls wait for Chef Ron to throw them a surprise! Passenger’s rave about the friendly and fun atmosphere created by Chef Ron and his wife Lana. The lucky passengers staying on the quiet East end enjoy his Sunday Brunches and great breakfasts. Chef Ron Hargrave, who hails from “Down Under”, has created a mouth watering menu, combining the freshest local seafood with an authentic Australian flair to create an amazing dining experience for the whole family. So many passenger's love his Walk-About Wednesdays! Enjoy an Australian themed 4-Course dinner with culinary delights to tickle the taste buds! Includes in this $40 dinner is a complimentary glass of wine or beer of your choice, Ala-Carte menu also available! Return transfers can be arranged with our courtesy vehicle for the Morritts Tortuga & Reef Resort as well Compass Point Dive Lodge. Just ask your concierge or front desk for bookings.
Troy, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Presentation, Price and Preparation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We went for happy hour and small plates (tapas) on our last night at Grand Cayman. We thought the food was among the best we've had - each offering outdid the one before. Beautifully arranged and equally delicious. We sampled at least five different appetizers, had multiple rounds, and the entire adventure was only around $115 US.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    228
    61
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food was greasy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The food was heavy on grease and light on flavor.
The setting is lovely, but I would not go back again.
I prefer healthy but tasty food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I'm sad to say that I do not agree with my fellow trip advisors regarding Tukka. I've been here a few times and it really never measures up. The food is very average, unimaginative. I will say the the service is friendly and location is very nice. Maybe enjoy a drink and appetizer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugus, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

There were 4 of us dining we met the owner very friendly great atmosphere right on the water. Food was delicious and the drinks were also very good. overall one of the best meals on the island.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville tennessee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very Well Worth the Drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Tukka fulfills your idea of a dive bar where fascinating expats swap stories of adventure, revolution and treasure!
It is far out on the East End, which is a beautiful and less developed part of Cayman, so do plan on a leisurely drive - well worth the trip. Be sure to bring camera and snorkeling gear.
We came for lunch and spent an enjoyable time on the covered back porch with a beautiful ocean and reef view - they have complimentary binoculars to look at the wrecks on the reef!
Our food was fresh and good and pleasant service. We would definitely go back.
We were there for lunch, so we did not sample many of the choices, but the restaurant has a great reputation for dinner and Sunday brunch as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tukka also viewed

 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Tukka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tukka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.