We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cayman Castle

Cayman Castle
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East End
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cayman Castle
You added Cayman Castle to your Saves list
442 Austin Connolly Drive | Gun Bay, East End KY1-1501, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 East End B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Our extended family stayed at the Cayman Castle for a week at the end of March 2012 and it was absolutely amazing! There were 16 of us in total and we rented the main castle and the guesthouse, and everyone fit very comfortably, with lots of privacy still! The youngest in the group was 6, and the oldest was 86.

Each bedroom in the main house has it's own bathroom (great when getting ready to go out for dinner), and the living space was large enough to accomodate us all. When we ate dinner at the house, we all fit at the tables on the outdoor patio. Obviously the space and layout was the greatest asset in my opinion, although the landscape was also very beautiful.

Everything was clean when we got there. There was a dishwasher, stove, microwave, 3 fridges (2 big, one mini) and 2 washers and dryers in the main house, and an additional of each in the guesthouse. There were pool towels provided as well as bathroom towels and bed linens. The kitchen was full of dishes and utensils ... pretty much everything you could possibly need over a week (blender, mixer, can opener, toaster, 2 coffee pots, etc ...). As well, 4 Kayaks were provided which we were able to use on the first few days while it was calm. The wind was pretty strong the last couple of days we were there, but the castle sheltered most of the main deck, so we were still able to enjoy the pool and sun.

The location was good for our large group as the East End is very quiet, but we were still within driving distance of Rum Point (approx 30 mins) and 7 mile beach (approx 45-60 mins), which we spend a full day at each.

We only encountered 1 problem the whole time we were there and that was the pool pump quit after a couple of days. We tried to phone, but got no answers. Eventually someone in the group figured out to manually start it, and when the pool crew came on Friday, they fixed it all up.

All in all it was a great place to stay, and I would recommend it to those travelling with families. Due to the quiet nature of the area, for those looking to party ... I'd suggest 7 Mile Beach over the East End!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
3 Thank krrt016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Why stay on 7 Mile Beach crammed next to thousands and bombarded by hoards of tourists clamoring off the cruise ships, when you can stay on the quiet East End. If you want the Vegas strip on your vacation then 7 Mile is your place. However, if your idea of a vacation is a beautiful quiet scene where your family can relax and enjoy the laid back charm and beauty that still exists in the Caribbean then Cayman Castle on the East End is your spot.
We rented the main house for our family and the guest house for a few friends, plenty of room to spread out and come together in doors and out.
The distance is not that far to get out there and its nice to leave the city behind after you hit up the grocery store in Georgetown. If you want to eat out there are some good places to eat on the East End (Tukka, the Lighthouse and Chester's Fish Fry to name a few). If you want to do more than hit the beach, kayak, snorkel or lounge around the pool at the Castle, you can walk down the beach to Compass Point to go diving or take a quick drive up to Rum Point. Regardless plenty of things to do without going back to the west side.
The Castle is comfortable and tastefully done in a bright Caribbean way. It is a perfect place for an event or wedding and can handle a sizable group.
My only recommendation for the Castle is to get some closets where you can hang things up, other than that it hit everything on our list and we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
3 Thank SunsetTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

Our family stayed here for 10 days in July 2008. We had both the castle and the guesthouse. The location is great as long as you don't mind driving a good distance for restaurants, shopping, etc. It is quiet and peaceful on the East End of the island.
The castle and guesthouse are spacious and have beautiful views of the water. The towels are plentiful and having 2 sets of washers and dryers in the castle was fabulous. The bedrooms are comfortable and the en-suite bathrooms were very nice.
The kitchen is very spacious and well supplied. Our biggest problem was that the castle was not fully weather proofed and when a tropical storm arrived midway through our trip the castle leaked badly for 2 days! We used all the beach towels multiple times trying to sop up all the rain water in the living area, kitchen and staircase. The owner gave us several very good recommendations for restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
2 Thank jenw89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,402 reviews
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
4.5 of 5 stars 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Compass Point Dive Resort
2.5 mi away
Morritt's Tortuga Club & Resort
19.0 mi away
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Reso...
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 3,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayman Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayman Castle

Address: 442 Austin Connolly Drive | Gun Bay, East End KY1-1501, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Cayman Castle Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing