We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous place, magical experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheetah Outreach

Cheetah Outreach
De Beers Avenue | opposite the Somerset Mall, South Africa
27 (0)21 851 6850
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 181 attractions in Cape Town
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Cheetah Outreach is an education and community-based programme created to raise awareness of the plight of the cheetah and to campaign for its survival.Cheetah Outreach is open 7 days a week, 365 days a year to the public. We are open from 9h30 to 17h00. You do not need to make a booking to visit the facility. We charge an entry fee of R10 on weekdays and R5 on weekends and public and school holidays. Adult cheetah encounters take place from 10h00 to 13h00 and from 14h00 to 17h00.
Odiham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A fabulous place, magical experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The photo I have of me here says it all, I'm almost in tears. I love this place. It's not flash, pristine and showy, that's not what its about. Some reviews have commented on the cost, all income goes to support the project to maintain and hopefully bolster the cheetah population in South Africa. As we now know after our visit, farmers often loose 30% of their livestock to big cats such as cheetah. The programme educates the farmers and then breeds and places Anatolian Mountain Dogs with the farmers to put with their animals. The rate of loss goes down to 3% and the farmers no longer have any reason to target the big cats. Yes, they have a few animals within enclosures but they are there as "Ambassadors" to promote the programme to farmers and the general public, raising funds to support the dog breeding programme. We met Joe, a wonderful male cheetah about 11 years of age...and what an Ambassador! I'm in love! This place is doing wonderful work and should be supported. Don't expect a flashy zoo, expect an intimate, amazing experience!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    34
    22
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Landgrove, Vermont, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Petting a Cheetah”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Although it was raining we were still able to pet a cheetah. They just had to wait for him to settle down. They showed you how to approach and give a firm smooth stroke on his back. Happy to see the dogs they are raising to help farmers save their livestock.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Doing a great job”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This center is doing a great job considering it is run almost entirely by volunteers. We were lucky to pitch up at 4pm as they started the rounds feeding the smaller animals, which was very cute. These were Bat-eared foxes, servals, a caracal, jackals and meerkats. The way the staff interact with the animals is very endearing, you can tell they care a lot about their welfare. To walk around costs ONLY R10, which really is a steal considering the residents you pay to see. We did not have time to do the cheetah encounter (R120) or bat-eared fox encounters (R55), but we thought those were very reasonable prices as well considering that an interaction with these animals is a once-in-a-lifetime experience! We got chatting with some of the volunteers who were very friendly and passionate. If you love animals then this is a great place to go and see some of the more rare specimens. I recommend looking up feeding times on their website (www.cheetah.co.za) and timing your visit. This is a great cause, please support them and contribute what you can to keep their programs going, especially the Anatolian shepherd dog program to protect cheetahs and other predators!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cheetah Outreach - an amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We loved this place! Cheetah Outreach is a cheetah conservation organization, running school education programmes, and using Guard Dogs to protect wild cheetah in the north of South Africa. At its new headquarters, outside Somerset West, just off the N2, there are captive bred, "ambassador" cheetah. Here you can learn about these magnificent animals and other small predators (jackals, foxes etc). Highlight of the visit was the opportunity to stroke one of the captive-bred cheetah in the centre's "Encounter" programme. I know it's a tame animal, and not wild - but still a thrilling, and surprisingly moving, experience - it moved my mother in law to tears. And great souvenir photo!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Not impressed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

The reception staff look bored and were not very welcoming. Im glad i did not take the full tour for that amount of money. The cafe there looks terrible and i paid R10 for a cup of coffee that i had to basically make and pour myself. I do not recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Cheetah Outreach also viewed

 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Cheetah Outreach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheetah Outreach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cheetah Outreach to your Saves list