We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Tidy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of De Waterkant Lodge

De Waterkant Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added De Waterkant Lodge to your Saves list
De Waterkant Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   35 Dixon Street | De Waterkant, 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #392 of 845 Cape Town B&B and Inns
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean and Tidy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

This was a quick stop for business and my first time at De Waterkant. Check in was fast and efficient. Rooms nice, clean and tidy. Biggest problem was lack of parking in vicinity. Area very busy so ended up parking in a parkade and walking up to check in and then moved my car later. Am a light sleeper so street noise was a bit of a problem. Breakfast was self service and continental. Everything fresh and tasty. Location was good for where I hadto be so would go again but for the parking problem.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
4
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Thanks again to De Waterkant for making coming to Cape Town feel like coming to a second home. Always friendly and helpful, in a nice, village-y neighborhood. This time, my room was in a shared apartment (never saw nor heard the other guests) with a private balcony with late morning to early afternoon sun. Always something to be wanted - this time there wasn't a proper shower, just a hand-held connected to the bathtup. The bathtub is great, though, if you're into baths..! I'll come back, and back, and back.

Room Tip: Ask for one with balcony or roof terrace access
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We made a last-minute booking at De Waterkant when our first choice was unavailable, and it was a good experience. We balked at the price at first (R1000 during the low season), which is way more than we would usually pay for lodging, but the place was really nice, so I suppose you get what you pay for. The place was immaculate, the location was convenient, the breakfast was good, the staff was friendly, and we met some very nice people and sipped some decent port and brandy whilst chilling on the deck. No complaints, really, other than the obnoxious Belgians that were staying there.

Room Tip: The side building (around the corner from reception) was very private and had a nicely-equipped kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hi,
We stayed at De Waterkant Lodge for 4 nights, and would recommend anyone travelling toCape Town to consider staying there.It is very central, close to the hop on and hop off bus stop, and within minutes of great restaurants and a large supermarket/shopping centre. We could walk around the city of a day, and walk back to the Guesthouse without a problem. Lots of security personnel around the De Waterkant area, but we were not out late of a night, as we were exhausted after our full day of sightseeing.
Jeremy and his staff great to deal with, very friendly and helpful. We were in apartment number 7 which was around the corner from the main part of the guesthouse. Our bedroom was at the front of the building, but very quiet. We shared the kitchen , lounge area and balcony ,with one other couple, but rarely sighted anyone. Cooking facilities were good, but as the cost of eating out in Cape Town is so reasonable, we only made lunch once in the apartment,and walked to nearby restaurants for dinner.(many choices within 5 minutes walk) Breakfast was in included in the rate. Nice breakfast room, with a wonderful Balcony and views of Table Mountain.
Would love to return to Cape Town one day, and would have no hesitation with staying at De Waterkant Lodge. Thanks Jeremy for your kindness.
Russell

Room Tip: Not necesary to get a room with a kitchen, as there is an abundance of reasonably priced restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the De Waterkant Lodge for almost a week and had a nice stay. We were there in "winter" so I can't comment on how warm the rooms get. The bed was very comfortable, the room was lovely, and the clean bathroom was huge. The only disappointing thing was the breakfast (included in cost). I'd stay there again and eat breakfast elsewhere.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The breakfast is very poor and the room was just as bad! It was dark, humid and smelly. I had two twin beds attached together that made a so called “double bed” which they separated one from another during when I was sleeping so I kept falling on the floor through the crack in the middle of the night. When I told the owner he could not even be bothered to hear about it he only said we are fully booked

Room Tip: dont go if you need a good night sleep and a decent breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires argentina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The De Waterkant Lodge is located in the area of the same name.The picture that Tripadvisor provides looks like a Days Inn in the U.S. This guest house looks NOTHING like the picture. This is an upscale residential neighborhood. The staff, location, continental breakfast and decor were excellent. My room was large with great storage and had a ceiling fan. A table or desk would have been welcome. The free wifi was fine, but the only way to use your lap top is by lying on the bed. The bathroom was huge with a great tub on legs and a separate stall shower. There was almost no light near the sink and the mirror was too high. There is a shopping mall down the street with stores, restaurants and a beautiful supermarket.

Room Tip: The first room that I was shown was in a building around the corner. To get to the room one had to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Waterkant Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Waterkant Lodge

Address: 35 Dixon Street | De Waterkant, 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #392 of 845 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — De Waterkant Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your De Waterkant Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Waterkant Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.