We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst restaurant experience ever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ragu

Ragu
123 Waterkant Street | De Waterkant, 8051, South Africa
+ 27 (0) 81 276 3388
Improve this listing
Ranked #514 of 1,449 restaurants in Cape Town
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: South Africa's first Italian owned Campari Lounge situated in Cape Town's vibrant de waterkant village - the true essence of RAGU is felt with a European twist. Our passion is food, fashion and music and RAGU captures those words in every way. Our menu consists of over 60 delicious cocktails and various Italian canapes and dishes - the atmosphere is often relaxed moving onto more vibey in the evenings. We are a cocktail lounge and our focus is allowing our guests to enjoy themselves in an enjoyable atmosphere, drinking amazing cocktails and enjoying real home made Italian cuisine if hungry. The owners Taco and Kiki form the heart and soul of the place, with their easily recognizable passion and flair for all things grand - Ragu is like no other place.
Cape Town
1 review
“Worst restaurant experience ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My 5 girlfriends and I waited one and a half hours, in the otherwise empty restaurant, for our food which was horrible. The portions were tiny and very expensive. The manager was an imbecile and extremely rude. When we refused to pay, in principal, because it was such a bad experience, the manager locked us in the restaurant and got his staff to try to bully us into paying. Two of us managed to flee by breaking through the door and flagging down a passing car to help get our friends out!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragu L, Manager at Ragu, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi Lucia O, I would appreciate if you could contact me on (021) 418 3431 I am the new manager of Ragu and am aware of your visit to Ragu. Both myself and the owners were not there that night - we have received reports from our staff as well as other guests who were there that night and in fact paid your outstanding bill. I am confused as to how this situation was handled - if you were not happy with the delay in receiving food. Why wait? If you were not happy with the quality of food - why eat it?> send the plates back empty and then refuse to pay - I have never heard anything like it! A case has been opened with the police by the owners so I urge you to contact me to resolve this issue. Duane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    7
    4
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“one not to miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Sat on the a massive comfortable coach, quirky decor, great lounge atmosphere with brilliant music and food ......very creative environment.

we had fresh cocktails, must order the Ragu bruschetta and paparelle and the Italian Burger.

Thank you for welcoming our baby Daschund we had awesome service and will be back

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not really restaurant at all.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Although the food was quite good, the portions were tiny, the music was far too loud, the manager was rude and the venue really doesn't qualify as a restaurant at all.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragu L, Manager at Ragu, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We have never marketed ourselves as a restaurant, we are more of a lounge that serves food
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ragu also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Ragu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ragu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.