We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Winetour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Flies Wine Tours - Day Tours

Wine Flies Wine Tours - Day Tours
South Africa
+27 21 462 8011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 71 Food & Drink in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You will get to visit world famous estates. BUT even better...as you will also get to taste the wine lands in a more real way by visiting hidden farms only known to locals. Share stories with the local wine makers, drink wine directly from the barrel, endless cheese, local treats, cellar tour, vineyard walk, various wines, Stellenbosch etc. This is what we pride ourselves in. It’s a must for the traveller wanting to experience the best of everything the wine lands has to offer. Our tours are something memorable, immensely fun and mostly a real South African experience in the heart of one of world’s most renowned regions.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Winetour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had a great experience with Nico and Wine Flies visiting the beautiul winefarms around Cape Town. Nico made a great effort to make the day interesting and fun - and we all learned something new about wine. We were four people in a group of 11 in total - a good size with great people.
We got to taste some fine wine, and had a fun experience at Annandale Estate, where we meet the famous winemaker Gerhard (Hempies) du Toit, and got to take home signed bottles of excellent wine.
The tasting at Beyerskoof Wine Estate was a bit rushed, and we didn't get propper explanation of the wines.

All in all it was, however, a fantastic day that I will recommend to friends!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    14
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best wine tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

We had a small private wine tour and it was perfect. We saw some amazing boutique wineries and learned so much about the region. The wine is fantastic and every place we went to felt like we were in someone's home vs a big factory. Highly recommend this tour as its also the best value for money w tastings included. Per the usual in Sout Africa- everyone is so nice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Such a fun day trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was really blown away by how much fun I had on this wine tour! Our guide was friendly, funny, knowledgeable, and really passionate about wine. Our group got along well, especially after a few glasses of wine. (; There’s only 14 people on the tour, so it’s nice to chat with everyone and hear their
different backgrounds and travels. You’ll definitely make a few friends by the end of the day.

As for the wine, this tour is perfect for people with all levels of wine knowledge. There were so many different wines to taste! Cheese tasting was simply amazing and lunch was a hearty meal. We visited 5 farms total and each had its own unique flair. They all had such beautiful scenery and a great atmosphere to enjoy the wine.

All in all, this was everything I was looking for in a full-day tour. Fun people, fantastic wine, and beautiful sights. It’s the perfect way to see what the winelands has to offer and have an awesome day in Cape Town. I would definitely do it again!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois964, Owner at Wine Flies Wine Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hi there Danielle

Thanks for letting us know that you had such a great day. We do what we do and we do it to the best of our abilities. We are passionate about our wine lands and get a kick out of showing people the real culture behind the art of wine making.

Safe travels and spread the word!

Lord Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Visit to small vineyards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

If you are looking for a small personal tour with lots of wine and visits to small vineyards this is the tour for you. We had a great time with a french couple who barely spoke any english and one british girl now living in Cape Town. There was a plentiful lunch with great views as well as some cheeses and chocolate samples. I would recommend eating breakfast before going on this tour since the first wine samples come quickly and arent small :-)

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Wine and cheese...what's not to love?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our tour with wine flies yesterday was a fab day out. We were picked up from our house and headed on our way to the first of 5 vineyards and had a glass of bubbly in hand by 10am! There was just the right amount of learning mixed with lots of lovely wines (I lost count by about midday) and nibbles. The tour guide was very enthusiastic and really kept us entertained throughout the day, from the funny hats to the quiz on the way home (the prize for which was more wine!!). A lovely bunch of people and some beautiful vineyards made for a great day and I'm likely to go again when another friend from the UK joins me here in Cape Town. Just make sure you have a very big breakfast!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Flies Wine Tours - Day Tours also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Wine Flies Wine Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Flies Wine Tours - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.