We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colossal Goloso.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goloso

Goloso
90 Regent Road | Sea Point, South Africa
021 4392144
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #235 of 1,589 Restaurants in Cape Town
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Colossal Goloso.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Despite a few dubious attitudes at this tiny restaurant, things were immediately improved with the good, well-mannered service and a relaxed, homey feel to the small place. After an amazing meal of what could be some of Cape Town's best Italian food, we left knowing that'd we come back in no time at all, hungry for more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dinner and Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My wife and I stumbled in here because we couldn't get reservations across the street at the upscale French place--let me tell you, I'm glad we couldn't. The owner met us when we entered and took us to a table. He was extremely friendly, funny, and a great host. There were several small groups eating, and he was attentive to all, sharing stories, and making sure we were entertained. We ordered a couple small pizzas and they were both fantastic! The service was speedy, the meal tasted awesome, and it was just a real enjoyable meal. If I ever make it back to Cape Town, this is one place I will stop by again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre, Blantyre, Malawi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Almost no food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Went here planning to have lunch whilst in the Sea Point area, but when my husband and I arrived the man in charge told us that only two menu items were available. He said that due to high volumes on previous evenings that was all they were able to serve. I found this to be utterly ridiculous and unprofessional. If you can only serve two items, why even open the restaurant!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“My Favorite place in Sea Point! Real Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I would highly recommend Goloso to anyone! Goloso was my favourite place while staying in Cape Town. It's delicious Italian food for a great price. Their breakfasts are perfect, they make proper cappuccino, for the diner their beef lasagne and gnocci are superb. There is warm atmosphere, great food and the service is very professional.
Alessandra, you are the best!
We will definitely go back to Goloso!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Replay to NATO SA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

For principal, I do not discuss what the customers write about my restaurant, but for NATO SA I feel that I have to reply.
I remembered very well the phone call that I received from NATO SA. At the beginning g I was surprised and also scared that the salmon was off, as he told me. Indeed the pasta was made with smoked salmon that I bought that real day. I checked the expiration date and it was far away. but i truly apologized and I asked the gentleman what I could do for him. And he asked to me to have a pizza on the house in a week time. But because he disliked my pasta, I replayed that I preferred that he would have again a pasta on the house (my mistake!!), He became angry and angry and he refused to listen to me, when I said that for me it was ok if he wanted a pizza instead of pasta.....and he closed the phone call suddenly in a very rude way. I am Italian and I do not speak a good English and sometime I struggle to understand at the phone.
I am writing this only for the sake of the truth and not to be polemic. I would like that mister NATO SA will come to my restaurant for a dinner (of course on the house) and for a pasta or a pizza as he want to.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goloso also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to Goloso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goloso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.