We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding piece of heaven in the heart of Cape Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Grenadine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Grenadine to your Saves list
La Grenadine
Park Road 15 | Gardens, 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 845 Cape Town B&B and Inns
Helsinki
1 review
“Outstanding piece of heaven in the heart of Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The perfect hideaway. In the heart of Cape Town's bustling Kloof street, where one can find all the restaurants, bars, wellness centres, massages, yoga classes and shops at walking distance and feel safe. I highly recommend the place to anyone who is not looking for an impersonal 5 star hotels with cold design. When you get back at night after a long day, you feel like coming "home", in a different place, yet still very aware of being in Cape Town. Maxime and Mélodie are great hosts who know how to make you feel special! A

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
47
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at la Grenadine very much. I loved the room, everything was super clean and prepared with a lot of attention. The breakfast was delicious with the fresh juices to choose from. The garden is perfect to relax and read a book and the location in general is great to visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The memory of La Grenadine will stick with you forever!
impeccably decorated with so many beautifully handpicked items,
super friendly staff and super lovely owners!
Breakfast was delicious!
The location is perfect!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natitingou, Benin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

If you enjoy the unusual and charming La Grenadine has it all -- a converted 1820's farmhouse in downtown Cape Town with rooms looking onto a spacious and sunny garden full of pomegranate trees (hence the name, La Grenadine). Maxime and his wife Michelle have converted what was once a stable and then a school into 8 comfortable and original rooms each with its own bathroom and unique decor. Ours came with a trestle sewing machine converted into a table and a tailor's dummy which doubled as a place to hang clothes. Breakfasts are a la francaise, which is fine when you don't want to overeat. Service is cheerful and charming. Not in the least pretentious and very relaxing.

Room Tip: All the rooms are priced according to their size and view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I wish I'd come to stay here on holiday. It's a beautiful little escape from the city, where stress evaporates the moment you're through the gate. Was here on work though, and poor wifi slowed me down on that front.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grenadine P, Guest Relations Manager at La Grenadine, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Weldon,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this nice review. We are glad to hear that you appreciated your stay here, hopefully next time it will be for your holidays.
We apologize for the slow wi-fi, but since your last visit we installed a new system with high speed wi-fi, which you can use throughout the guest house.
We wish you all the best.
Kind regards
Maxime and Mélodie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The La Grenadine is so much more than just a guest house. From the beginning we entered this magic place with it's tranquil garden abd stylish rooms, we felt at home. Melodie and Maxime are so lovely and fun people, they made every effort for us to feel at home and even recommended lovely babysitters to us, so we could go out and enjoy a romantic dinner. The location is also perfect, in a backyard, so it is qualm and relaxing, but just around the corner of bustling Kloof Street with great bars, restaurants and shops. Next time we come back it will be La Grenadine again for us. We really didn't want to leave, because we found our perfect home away from home. Thanks, Melodie and Maxime for being such lovely hosts. See you soon!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grenadine P, Guest Relations Manager at La Grenadine, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to welcome you at La Grenadine.
We are very happy if you enjoyed your stay, and felt at home. It tried to help you the most that we could, and we are delighted to know that you could have time for you around a romantic dinner, and around all these shops and restaurants closed from our guest house.
We wish you all the best! And we are looking forward to seeing you again.
La Grenadine's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln, Deutschland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Thanks a lot for the wonderful time we had in your little and very nice guesthouse. It was beautiful and we felt home. Its the place to be in cape town if you are not looking for a 500 bed skyscraper. We will come back next year :-)

Best Regards

Simon

Room Tip: The rooms are all very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grenadine P, Guest Relations Manager at La Grenadine, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you so much Simon for your nice review. It will be a pleasure to welcome you next year in our guest house. We are delighted to have spent some time with you and your family.
All the best !
La Grenadine's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Grenadine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grenadine

Address: Park Road 15 | Gardens, 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 845 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Grenadine, an elegant guesthousetucked away in the bustling heart of Cape Town’s City Bowl.An escape from the city within the cityAs soon as you open the wooden gates, it’s hard to believe you’re still in the city centre. You discover a magnificent 19th-century farm building set in a garden dotted with antique tables and chairs under old pomegranate, guava, avocado and olive trees. And that’s what makes La Grenadine so special: just outside this idyllic setting is a vibrant neighborhood (Kloof Street) full of restaurants, coffee shops, young South African designers, a wellness centre, cinemas, galleries and museums… Modern meets vintageOriginally from France, we fell in love with Cape Town some years ago and decided to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your La Grenadine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Grenadine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.