We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dear Me

Dear Me
165 Longmarket Street, 8000, South Africa
+27 21 422 4920
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #305 of 1,580 Restaurants in Cape Town
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Dear Me is a bistro, open for breakfast and lunch during the week. We cater for individual dietary requirements and our lunch menu changes regularly (can be viewed on our website). The White Room at Dear Me (floor above Dear Me) is open for a food and wine pairing 5 course or 8 course dinner on Thursdays and Fridays. This venue is also available for private day-time or evening use by reservation.
1 review
“A different experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Walked through the dear me doors on a tuesday afternoon for the fist time and got saved by a young friendly Heather who seemed a bit shy at first, but later gained her confidence. She explained the menu to us and how they source their Produce from different suppliers. (amazing theory )

Food wise I will never complain it was a great meal thanks to her suggestion. I can't wait to be in Cape Town again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing service, good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Having booked a table for lunch, it was disappointing to arrive and be told that another patron had simply sat down at our table. We were asked to wait and did so until another table left and were then seated. Why accept bookings?

Food was fresh and well prepared and wine pairings very good. Peach and nectarine sorbet was not good at all.

Service not great but in Cape Town this seems to be the norm. Pity.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOSCOW, RUSSIA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great trendy urban bistro!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

my friends and I visited the lunch! everything is fine! creative, but simple food! fresh ingredients! very friendly service .. we ordered a tasting dinner on Thursday and will be sharing our experiences!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful fresh healthy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Dear Me is open for breakfast and lunch Monday to Friday but only open for dinner on a Thursday- and booking is a must

We had absolutely wonderfully service with the waitress running us through the many and explaining it in further detail.

Dear Me is famous for their unusual ingredients, wonderful flavour combinations and their ability to cater to most dietary needs- think gluten-, wheat-, starch-, nut- free and vegan. And they use crazy incredible ingredients! Goodness! It's not surprising to see quail, grilled halumi, some kind of goats chevre cheese or pickled octopus on the menu!

I was very impressed with the planning and structure behind the menu- all starter options can be selected as main courses. And every item on the menu comes with a perfect wine pairing! Very clever and wonderful personal service touch.

My last comment has to be on the venue- Dear Me is beautiful and intimate and oozes low key class. Was truly a wonderful atmosphere- where some how a very full restaurant still felt personal and intimate.

Dear Me is beautiful- the food is high quality, the ingredients don't come fresher and the staff are slick and professional whilst still being charming and personal. Was a wonderful evening- and I look forward to going back.

For more information and pictures:
http://toomuchloveliness.blogspot.com/2012/11/dinner-at-dear-me.html

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Great food but poor service and acoustics”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Went for the Thursday night dinner (they only serve dinner on Thursdays right now), in the downstairs section for the 'ala carte' menu.While the food was fantastic, I agree with other reviewers' sentiments that the service is below average and very unaccomodating to requests. While they include a great drinks and sides menu beneath the dinner menu, when we asked for some teas from the drinks menu after dinner, we were told that that menu is for lunch only and that it is not possible for the kitchen to make tea in the evenings. The waiter actually refused to bring tea after dinner.

Another drawback is the acoustics - it is very very loud in the ground floor dining room. There was no music playing, but we struggled to hear each other across the table due to other people talking in the space - too many hard surfaces. Not the best choice for an intimate dinner.

All in all: The food is fantastic, and it's great to see a restaurant making so much effort for local, seasonal food and catering for different diets. If the service could improve and something done about the noise, then this place would be great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dear Me also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Dear Me? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dear Me, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.