We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Wine Tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Story Wine Tours

African Story Wine Tours
501 Portvale, New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, 8001, South Africa
+27 73 755 0444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 70 Food & Drink in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy a fun-filled yet informative tour through the Cape's beautiful winelands. Our day includes visits to some of the winelands' premier estates and tastings of various wines, sparkling wines, cape ports, and delicious cheeses. There are also olives and chocolates (Subject to availablity). An appetizing a la carte lunch is included in the tour.We leave Cape Town daily to the winelands making the day one of your best days of your holiday.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Wine Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great tour of 4 beautiful wineries in Paarl, Franschhoek and Stellenbosch. Lovely cheese tasting included in the first winery, some chocolate in the third and some nougat with our sparkling wine at the fourth. The guides were really friendly and knowledgeable and helped ensure everyone had a good day. Lunch was also provided at a nice restaurant, good choice of meals including vegetarian choices.

Highly recommend!

Jamie and Sarah

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricanStoryTours, Owner at African Story Wine Tours, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Glad you enjoyed the tour. Pairing wine with sweets or food always is fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“excellent day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

we had a great wine tour with paul who was very knowledgeable and gave us loads of hints and tips.we went to 4 different vineyards and had a great lunch came back slightly sozzled after tasting 24 wines but we both slept well that night
great day out

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricanStoryTours, Owner at African Story Wine Tours, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Glad you enjoyed the tour and some great South African wines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great time, great wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

From the start all went well. Charline is a great driver and tour guide. She is charming, helpful and most knowledgable about all aspects of wines. Whad a marvellous day and enjoyed good wines and company. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricanStoryTours, Owner at African Story Wine Tours, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Glad you enjoyed the tour. South Africa some great wines and wineries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excelent Wine Tasting tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I did the day long winery tour with AfricanStory and had a great time. The tour guide 'Fern' was outstanding, very funny, knowledgeable, and a lovely person. We went on 4 different wineries, and got to taste up to 6 different wines in each place. Our lunch was also very nice and there was cheese and chocolate tasting as well. I highly recommend this company!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricanStoryTours, Owner at African Story Wine Tours, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Glad you enjoyed the tour. Fern always is friendly , trying to make everybody happy. Glad you enjoyed the food to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
“Best wine tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were visiting Cape Town and had heard wine country was a must. All 7 of us loved this tour! Charlene was fun and informative. I learned much more about wine than on any tour in a fun setting. I highly recommend taking this tour to explore wine country-this one include lunch unlike the others. If I'm ever back in Cape Town I will book again!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricanStoryTours, Owner at African Story Wine Tours, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Glad you enjoyed the tour. Charlene has tons of knowledge , as she is a qualified wine maker and also a great people person. Hope to see you back on tour again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed African Story Wine Tours also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to African Story Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Story Wine Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.