We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Cafe and Beach Restaurant

Grand Cafe and Beach Restaurant
Beach road, 8005, South Africa
021 4250551
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #464 of 1,723 Restaurants in Cape Town
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cape Town's most desirable destination restaurant, the Grand Cafe & Beach embraces a free-spirited beach Cafe culture – the only one of its kind in Cape Town. Offering a unique experience the tactile decadence completes the trendsetting design offering a cafe style dining experience on the deck or beach with magnificent views of the Atlantic Ocean and Robben Island.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Although the restaurant came well recommended, we found it pretentious: more pomp than substance, I'm afraid. My kingclip fish came nowhere close to the one I experienced at Mitch's Thumb. The sauce of sun-dried tomatoes, rocket, parmesan cheese in a soy glaze was strange and not well balanced. My husband encouraged to try kingclip after I lauded it from Mitch's Thumb ordered his done in tempura: sadly, it was mushy. Service was also unimpressive as we were ignored for much of the evening. The setting that faces the beach reminded me of California and I wished we had walked the beach and found some cute little place where we could have watched the sunset and nibbled something really yummy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    125
    45
    24
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“what a cool place ! Unbeatable view, fantastic food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Don't miss it when in Cape Town : It's a really cool place : right on the (mini) beach, facing the ocean. Excellent food and perfect service. Children friendly. For us, it has been a marvellous experience of its own (and we do go out and travel often as a family)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very disappointing on all fronts”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We went expecting a lovely setting and dining experience. Unfortunately we found a completely different experience. The food was way overpriced and of really bad quality - we ordered two different steaks and they both arrived less than fresh. The meat was not very good, chewy and bland. The service was also poor with inattentive waiters. A real shame given the potential of the location, but not long after we got there we couldn't wait to leave.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A dinner with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Wonderful dining with a view of Granger Bay. A little bit pricey but the food is of a high quality and the service is excellent.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unsurpassed ambience but chaotic service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Chaotic service. Good food. Unsurpassed views that should not be missed. Even though the service leaves a lot to be desired the total experience is totally worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Cafe and Beach Restaurant also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Clifton, Camps Bay
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Grand Cafe and Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Cafe and Beach Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.