We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location - great staff - good food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mondi-Holiday Grundlsee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mondi-Holiday Grundlsee to your Saves list
Mondi-Holiday Grundlsee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Archkogel 31, Grundlsee 8993, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grundlsee
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Stunning location - great staff - good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed at Mondi Grundlsee for 2 weeks. The hotel is like an mini Alpine Village with chalets, some overlooking Grundlsee Lake. We only had a studio which did become too cramped after 2 weeks but it was well equipped with a partial kitchen and the bed was good. With individually controlled radiators in the room and bathroom, this was a huge bonus every time we got caught in a downpour! Within minutes we could be warm and dry again.

The staff at Grundlsee are great - a special mention must be made of Petra, the activities co-ordinator. We did Nordic walking, hiking, etc and she was a mine of information on the area and just great to be with.

We ate dinner at the restaurant on site most nights - the food is excellent and reasonable priced. They have a huge outdoor patio but we chose to sit inside always for dinner as we are non-smokers.

The swimming pool is beautiful, they have a good selection of games (in English!) and books and you can borrow Hiking Sticks free of charge.

The daily program, together with suggestions of where to sightsee in the area, was a great help. It's a stunningly beautiful part of Austria if you enjoy hiking/walking/photography/exploring and clean air. Or just relaxing on the shores of Lake Grundlsee.

The hotel is quiet and peaceful even though it was busy while we were staying there.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing Grundlsee lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mondigrundlsee, Gastgeber at Mondi-Holiday Grundlsee, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Hello, thank you very much for your nice feedback. We hope to see you again here in Grundlsee!
Kind regards your MONDI-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    56
    20
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
53
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Quaint rooms, lots of stairs,self contained and very clean. Full kitchen with coin laundry, sauna,pool and exercise facilities. 5 euro a day for wi fi. Parking was full when we got here so it was a very long hike to park the car!

If you want to relax with exceptional views of the lake in classic Austrian villa type accommodation, this is the place for you! Stop at a 7 eleven first.

Room Tip: Ask for an unobstructed view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mondigrundlsee, Gastgeber at Mondi-Holiday Grundlsee, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Hello from Grundlsee,
thank you very much for your feeback!
Your MONDI-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed here with my husband and my 5 month old son. This was an RCI exchange week to mondi holiday. We have chosen this hotel, because we have been already at Mondi Holiday Bellevue in Badgastein, and we thought, it will be the same quality. Indeed it is not. It is not good, but not 4-5 star hotel. The equipment was older and a bit retro. And everything was more expensive. We had to pay 2 EUR service fee per person per day for i dont know why.
The Seeblick restaurant is pretty nice, have a lake view. For half board you have to pay 26 Eur. The first day we were a bit afraid that the dinner will be like that the whole week, but later on, it was excellent food. Only on the first day we did not like it, but maybe it was not for our taste. The breakfast is fascinating, big buffet breakfast with strawberrys and salmon and everything waht you wish. they make you ham and eggs, waffels..etc.
They have a room for children to play, you can rent some playing games at the reception for free, and they have a swimming pool for free. it vas excellent, with lake view. Internet costs 5 EUR per day. you can use your own laptop at your room, or a computer at thelobby. As i saw people in the resort, there were only seniors, or joung mothers and fathers with small children. Inbetween i did not see other typ of people. Sometimes i felt a bit embarrased that in the restaurant the older people did not speek with each other, and it was cemetery silence, and only our child was "talking" what everybody listened, and looking at us like : "dont talk, we eat silently," But later on, arrived more couples with small children, so i did not felt like in a museum any more. :) All in all we felt good, it was a silent amusing holiday. Nerby we visited some citys like Hallstatt and Bad Isch. Dont miss the worl famous pastry shop in Bad Ischle, the Zauner. Also in Bad Ischl there is a thermal bad, and a castle to visit. At one word, i would return to this area again. it is recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mondigrundlsee, Gastgeber at Mondi-Holiday Grundlsee, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Hello from Grundlsee,
thank you for taking the time for a feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Your MONDI-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We had a studiio apartment here for a week with a balcony facing the lake and its superb views.
The studio was spacious enough for the 2 of us and had a little kitchen area too. It was pleasantly decorated and clean. We had a table and 2 charis on the balcony and also 2 deck chairs.
It was very hot for some of the time we were there and we left the balcony door and windows wide open which gave us the coolness to sleep.

We took the breakfast option for the week and it was a 5* spread. You could get omlettes etc cooked to order, there were plenty of cheeses and cold meats, smoked salmon, fresh fruit including strawberries and cherries, lots of different breads/rolls, cereals and fruit juice. It set us up for the day.

We spent most of our week hiking and there is plenty to do be it low level or up the mountains, get the Compass map which is 1:25000 in advance.
We drove there but it is not the easiest place to get to on public transport. You can get a train to Bad Aussee though it is 2 to 3 hours from Salzburg and then it would be best to take a taxi the last 4 miles or so. These are buses up to Grundlsee from Bad Aussee.

A really enjoyable week indeed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mondigrundlsee, Gastgeber at Mondi-Holiday Grundlsee, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Thank you very much for your nice feedback! Your MONDI-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Just spent a glorious week at Mondi Grundlsee. Excellent resort in the most amazing position on a slight hill at the head of Grundlsee. We had a one bed apt with 2 excellent balconies, overlooking the lake and the views, at any time of day or night, were amazing. Surrounded by 2000 metre mountains; some days the peaks were topped with snow ,the resort is in a great location. The indoor swimming pool leads onto a sun bathing meadow and , as we were lucky enough to have days of sunshine, we spent quite a lot of time at the resort. The restaurant was good and reasonably priced.
Just around the lake we discovered the magic of Toplizsee , with it's amazing history and wonderful river walk to the Fisher wirt where the trout was perfect!
The local town of Bad Aussee is 5 K. from Grundlsee and there we found endless restaurants serving elicious Austrian specialities.....not a burger and chips in sight!
We have stayed in 4 of the Mondi resorts in Austria and Germany and have found each of them to be excellent but Grundlsee topped them all. Highly recommended.
( An English news channel as just 1 of 70 TV and radio channels would have been
nice but, given the threat of volcanic eruptions, strikes and scandals, perhaps it was better to ignore the world for just one week)

Room Tip: Lake view, one bedroom(not studio)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mondigrundlsee, Gastgeber at Mondi-Holiday Grundlsee, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Hello from Grundlsee,
thank you very much for your kind feedback, we really appreciate that!
Your MONDI-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

This place is where you go to remid your self that those picture book storys that you saw when you were a kid do really exsist. The rooms are small but they work well. The facilties and the grounds were well keep but the natural beauty of the lake with the Alps surrounding it were nothing but spectacular. The hiking trails that let you wander the countryside only to end up at another lake with a resturant at the end suppling you with fresh trout was just ammazing. I would highly recomment this to anyone going to Austria. It is just three hours from Vienna.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We stayed here for Christmas in 2002 and returned in 2007 just for a day visit because the memories of this resort are that good! Hopefully if I can scrape enough money together for airfares to get back for Christmas 2010.
Our stay in 2005 was my first visit to Austria so it was very special. The snow covered trees (the first time I saw snow :o), the very beautiful characteristic towns of Salzkammergut, the lovely people etc etc ,etc. But as I always say, a holiday is deeply defined by your accommodation; if you have a bad experience with accommodation it tends to ruin your holiday somewhat. Well Mondi club Grundlsee excelled. We had a magnificent apartment overlooking the lake and the snow covered grounds. The staff were exceptional and the food in the resort restaurant was to die for. There is not a week go by that I don’t think about returning to Grundlsee and it is all because of our wonderful experience at this resort.
I would highly recommend this resort to anyone, but with a note that it is out of the tourist route and a car is a must.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mondi-Holiday Grundlsee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondi-Holiday Grundlsee

Address: Archkogel 31, Grundlsee 8993, Austria
Location: Austria > Styria > Grundlsee
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grundlsee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mondi-Holiday Grundlsee 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MONDI-HOLIDAY HOTEL Grundlsee is situated in an ideal spot - on a hill at the head of Lake Grundlsee. Guests can enjoy the breathtaking view of the Lake and the surrounding mountains.Possibilities for sport- , adventure, ski - and leisure activities, a restaurant and spacious panorama wellness area await you; this is a fantastic holiday residence no matter what the season. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mondi-Holiday Grundlsee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondi-Holiday Grundlsee Hotel Grundlsee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondi-Holiday Grundlsee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.