We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacks atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bull Inn at Bisham

The Bull Inn at Bisham
High Street Bisham, Bisham SL71RR, England
01628 484734
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Bisham
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lacks atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Not a great place to meet and socialise. It looks like it should, be a pub, but standing at the bar is positively discouraged and all the tables are set out for eating but it doesn't feel like a restaurant. A massive menu which actually isn't always what you want, old fashioned style that really needs to be dragged into the 21st century.....I sense the locals like it and go there the same time each week for their lunch

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    41
    18
    10
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Always a treat - and consistent over the last 4 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is one of the best family run restaurants I have ever visited - No matter how long since our last visit - we are met as old friends and welcomed
The choice is formal dining in the restaurant or less formal in the bar (only real difference is tablecloths in the former)
The service, food quality, and value is excellent
They source their meat, fish and seafood from excellent sources and the quality shows - truly a great meal
Wine list is extensive and good choices to suit all budgets
Starters were glorious - I had the fresh prawns - my husband the crepe fruit de mer - which was truly a delight. We both had filet steak - mine au poivre, his tournedos rossini - both were marvelous - Only problem no room for the dessert trolley delights!
The restaurant was busy but it made no difference to the quality of our dining experience
Well done team - we will be back

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bad choice for our Christmas lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have eaten here before at lunch time and been satisfied with the food so decided to go there for Christmas lunch. This turned out to be a bad mistake. They had two sittings and the place was crowded. As we arrived the people from the first sitting were leaving so it was quite chaotic. No one welcomed you and there was no sense of occasion. Service was speedy...too much so if anything, and the food was disappointing considering what it cost. Their normal lunch time food is better and the staff,not so rushed off their feet, are more welcoming and helpful. Perhaps had they had only one sitting they would be able to do justice to the occasion. They must have made a lot of money from Christmas Day which, I regret, seemed to be what it was all about.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned food served very well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We took part in a celebratory lunch today at this restaurant along with 30 other people in our group. We were all taken out by a friend, and so have no idea of what our meals would have cost.
The menu was comfortably old-fashioned....some would say slightly 70's with their choice of dishes, but we don't mind that!
The food was served by very pleasant and helpful serving staff, who couldn't do enough for us.
If I'm going to be honest, the food was not what I expected from this celebrated pub, but was quite palatable nonetheless.
Would I go there again? Probably not! I understand it is not cheap, and if it is highly priced, then I would expect better quality food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Snooty Staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My family and i had wanted to visit here for while so we decided to visit for a drink with the intention of booking a table for later date. From the moment we arrived the Manager looked down upon us as if we were dirt!! The welcome was non existant. We had one drink and left Never to return again!! We know how to behave, we were smartly deressed and we have good manners. I have never been so disappointed in an establishment.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull Inn at Bisham also viewed

Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Bull Inn at Bisham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bull Inn at Bisham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.