We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun family van park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kurrimine Beach Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kurrimine Beach Holiday Park to your Saves list
Kurrimine Beach Holiday Park
9H Coyle Street | Southern End of Jacobs Road, Kurrimine Beach, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Atherton, Australia
1 review
“Fun family van park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Family and pet friendly. Clean & tidy venue with down to earth service & facilities. Good to have shady campsites, a little small but it's in character with the rest of the park. The pool toys were really enjoyed by our 5 & 8 yr old children as they didn't use the new waterpark as much. It would be good to see more comfortable seating/furniture by the pool. Camp kitchen was useful and fairly tidy. Facilities were basic but clean and well maintained. It would be good to see a more open entry to or direct view of the reception office.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    18
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The sites are very small, so very large vehicles be prepared. Not a lot of movable space. The pool, while delightful, appears to be more for locals than caravan park dwellers. On arrival I must admit I would have left if not already paid to stay. The pool was chockers full of local children and their parents, and I got the impression we were intruding. It was a bit like "It's our pool. What are you doing in here."

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurrimine Beach H, Manager at Kurrimine Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Some of our sites are small but we also have some large sites that accommodate very large motor-homes or caravans. We always ask prospective guests the size of their rig so that we can allocate an appropriate site. Unfortunately not all guests give us correct information if any at all.

Our new water park is an excellent play facility in an area where there are very few play facilities for children. Our local children would normally need to drive to either Cairns or Townsville for such a facility. Our local community is very small and close-knit. We know the resident children in our town as they go to school with our own children.

Managing a new facility and opening it to the public is not without its challenges, we are trying to find the balance between our resident guests and local families. All children in our park have to wear wristbands so that we can easily identify park guests and day visitors. We have very strict session times for local families. Outside of these times our facilities are for park guests only. We do not allow day guests access to our facilities over long weekends. We limit the number of outside guests per session and all children must be supervised by a responsible adult.

As your review was lodged as a family we are assuming you stayed during the school holidays. At this time we had several large family groups staying with us. We also had a lot of children staying on the park (up to 120) and yes at times the pool did have lots of children playing – lucky it is such a large swimming pool. We love to see children enjoying our pool, giant inflatable’s and new water park, yes sometimes it can be loud and chaotic but it is wonderful to see children and their parents playing together in the great outdoors.

We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us. We hope your children enjoyed our facilities and had a great holiday. Perhaps if you would like to try Kurrimine Beach again in the future you might consider coming outside of school holidays when our park is much quieter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in our van .
Seems you pay big money for a jumping pillow and water park!!!
Which I don't mind, but the rest of the park rather untidy looked uncared for and the grey bricked amenities block was our view. When I rang to confirm if any vacancies the lady stated yes, but stated only at present . There were heaps when we got there !! . No shops there at all, get you stable foods at the garage.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcusandkay, Owner at Kurrimine Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Janet,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you feel you did not get value for money. Yes, we do have a lot of facilities for families, our new water park being our newest attraction (as an aside this has also been popular with some of our more senior guests too). At $35 per night for a powered site our rate is very competitive for our area. We are a Top Tourist Park and members of this organisation get a 10% discount on this price. In addition, to this, at no extra charge, we provide many social functions including morning teas, BBQ’s and fish dinners.

You stayed with us in September after a long dry spell. Lots of our sites had just been vacated by regular guests who had been on the sites for most of the winter season. Whilst we endeavour to keep our park looking its best it does take time for sites to rejuvenate after periods of long occupancy.

We have turned so many people away this season as we have been fully booked. During September lots of the nomads are returning to the southern states and our occupancy rates are very fluid. We always recommend booking during this period to avoid disappointment.

Kurrimine Beach is a small seaside town; one of its charms is its unspoilt nature. Whilst we do not have any large supermarkets in town we do have the basics covered. We have a hotel with a bottle shop, an ATM, a post office, a takeaway shop, a petrol station and a reasonably priced general store.

We do hope that you will consider Kurrimine Beach as a destination for a future holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

First visit to this park I booked one night only and stayed for 3. The second I booked for 3 and stayed a week. Next trip I'll book a month. Friendly staff and cleanliness of amenities and facilities are top of my tick list. I'm a solo traveller and was part of the friendly atmosphere instantly. Awesome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival I was met by the friendliest manager who had an amazing knowledge of all there was to do and provided all sorts of pamphlets to help us. We settled into our site for our two week stay and I must say the atmosphere in this park is second to none. The park provided free scone mornings and sausage sizzles including karaoke which really helped us get to know our fellow guests. My daughter arrived in the second week and stayed in a cabin. Her cabin was spacious and clean...we were quite impressed. Considering the unspoilt and tranquil location we thought it would be more expensive. Just want to say thank you to staff at kurrimine beach holiday park where nothing was too much trouble. We will be returning in a couple of months with the rest of our family. We have decided to make this park our regular holiday destination.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had read the glowing reviews of this park on Tripadvisor before making a very last minute, two-day booking while driving up the coast of QLD for a month. We were hopeful that it would be a child-friendly, clean and fun place to stay. What a mistake! We should have just driven to the town and chosen the other caravan park that has cabins on the waterfront rather than this place. We were assigned to Unit 2 which is basically three feet from the driveway. Be warned unless you really enjoy small spaces do not book this unit. The walls are thin, there are no screens on the windows, you have to squeeze yourself into the bathroom...the bunkbeds are right in the kitchen. There's no table for eating, and on the porch you have to navigate your way in an out of seating. The cookware was old, scratched. The children's playroom filled with a bunch of broken, old, dirty toys. The pool was freezing, filled with leaves, branches and flecks of paint from the pool interior. We decided not to swim. While we were there they were constructing a water park slide thing...be warned that the construction looked fairly shoddy...the slide was basically ending at the corner of a building. To get to the jumping pillow we had to walk through the construction site. To be fair, the woman at the desk was very friendly and nice....it seems like a place that could be fun, but only if you have your own camper. If you decide to stay here, be sure to get groceries before going into town. There's nothing in Kurrimine to buy. The beach was empty -- seems nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcusandkay, Manager at Kurrimine Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to Kurrimine Beach Holiday Park. Unfortunately, at the time of your stay our normal beautiful winter weather was cold and blustery and even our many Victorian guests, who normally swim all winter, did not venture into the pool at that time.

You did book a budget cabin, which is not as spacious as our more expensive villas or our new beach houses. However, we would have happily upgraded you to a two bedroom villa that we had available at the time if you had told us of your concerns. We had had some fairly destructive children stay at the time of your visit and we found a broken easel and pool cue after you left. We also found that our ping pong table had finally collapsed from too many children sitting on and jumping on it. These items have since been replaced.

Unfortunately, also at the time of your stay we were constructing our new water park and there was some mess around. The entrance to the jumping pillow was behind the water park construction. This was unavoidable but we made the decision to keep as many facilities available as possible for our guests’ enjoyment. The water park has a great tipping bucket and three fantastic slides and exceeds current safety standards. We are looking forward to opening it to the public, around the start of September.

The charm of Kurrimine Beach is that it is a quiet unspoiled village, with a fantastic beach and great fishing, but which has not been “developed” and still retains its old world charm. However, there is a service station which has an attached post office and convenience store with a good range of food, etc. at reasonable prices. There is also a motel, a hotel and a café that offer nice meals, also at reasonable prices. The people who holiday at Kurrimine Beach are not looking for fast action but come to enjoy its quiet and pleasant atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverstone, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This park would have to be one of the most friendly well run parks that we have had the pleasure of staying. The initial friendly greeting and advice about park activities were very welcome.Caravan sites are well spaced and most are private due to the placement of shrubbery.
Camp kitchen and amenities plus surrounds are a credit to the staff. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kurrimine Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurrimine Beach Holiday Park

Address: 9H Coyle Street | Southern End of Jacobs Road, Kurrimine Beach, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Kurrimine Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kurrimine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the southern end of Kurrimine Beach, a quiet fishing village untouched by major development. Our Holiday Park, set in lush tropical gardens, is the ideal place for a relaxing holiday, lots of fun for the kids and a perfect base to explore the beautiful Cassowary Coast.Kurrimine Beach is an unspoilt tropical holiday destination with the Great Barrier Reef right on its doorstep. The spirit and hospitality of old North Queensland is still alive in the picturesque fishing hamlet. It has become a haven for those who appreciate the laid back style of holidaying and relaxation.Situated 9 kilometres off the Bruce Highway, 1.5 hours drive south of Cairns, 2.5 hours north of Townsville and close to Mission Beach, Innisfail and Tully, Kurrimine Beach Holiday Park is truly a "get away from it all" paradise offering the perfect holiday hideaway.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kurrimine Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kurrimine Beach Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.