We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful paradise, fantastic value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa to your Saves list
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino de los Bueyes, Nimboja #2, Masatepe, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Masatepe
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Peaceful paradise, fantastic value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I recently returned from a week at the Hacienda (hi bunbun81!!!), and can attest to the reviews being accurate.

This is a gorgeous property in a remote region, with an incredible view - especially from the pool. Well maintained and chic, the casitas are clean, comfortable, and private. Having traveled in the hottest, driest month (April), the vegetation was a bit brown but then, the weather was absolutely perfect. Hot during the day - did I mention the spectacular pool?? - and a pleasant temperature in the evening (I needed no AC). Always a breeze, zero mosquitoes. Not a hint of rain.

The owner Luis takes great effort to ensure guests are well taken care of. The staff are lovely - Ariel was especially hospitable - and do all they can to meet your needs. Expect a personalized experience, count on being pampered.

I was a solo female traveler and felt absolutely safe and comfortable at all times at the hotel and in my daily excursions. Luis really was an impeccable host and went above and beyond on numerous occasions.

Tip: bunbun81's report on the driving situation is accurate. I arrived in Nicaragua at night and didn't feel comfortable renting a car. I wish I had scheduled my flight differently so as to arrive in the daytime and rent a vehicle. The remoteness of the resort was fantastic, and just what I needed to relax, but there are also many sights and activities that are within pleasant driving distance. I relied on the host Luis for transportation but will consider renting a 4x4 next time.

Room Tip: Worth the extra dough to get a casita versus just a room. The outdoor shower and deck/veranda area a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    12
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
135
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I can confidently say that there is nowhere on earth like this place. What a stunning experience:

Our charming, kind, & patient host Luis met us at the airport and drove us to a restaurant near the Hacienda, where we had our first taste of what our lives would be like for the next week...we sat, stunned, two pasty Northerners suddenly waking up to paradise...a beautiful meal, a sweet breeze in the hot sun, and some delicious Nicaraguan beer set the tone for the rest of our vacation.

We arrived at the Hacienda, where the staff immediately introduced themselves to us by name and showed us to our casita (Casa Linda). That first day, we just soaked in the almost unreal beauty of the landscape, the views, and the Hacienda itself. The landscape is lashed with brightly-colored tropical flowers which frame the beautiful mountain range in the distance and - of course - the volcano, a constant magnificent presence. The design, materials, and colors used in the building of the Hacienda are arranged so that everywhere one looks, there is a pleasure-reaction.

The staff at the Hacienda are, in a word, priceless. Warm, engaging, funny, sweet, endlessly helpful and courteous. Ariel, Nohemi, Ruth, Scarlet, Joseima, Carla, Benjamin...they all felt like dear friends by the end of our stay, and tears were shed when we said goodbye. And let us not forget Pancho, the resident dog!!

My husband and I both had an outstanding massage, and a reflexology session that was beyond wonderful. We highly recommend the spa services.

We took several tours, and all were perfectly arranged, adventurous, fun, and worth every penny and then some. We were able to explore Masatepe, Masaya, Laguna de Apoyo, the Mombacho cloud forest and Granada...all unforgettable experiences. When an unexpected small fire caused the Masaya volcano to be temporarily closed to visitors, Luis immediately planned an alternate tour for us that day, going WAY above and beyond the call of duty to keep us happy & engaged.

The food - every single meal was a complete delight. Each day we thought the food could not possibly get better, and we were proven wrong. I am generally a picky eater, and yet I ate every morsel put in front of me...Scarlet is a gifted cook, and Benjamin shines in the kitchen as well.

Being at Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo feels like falling in love - your senses are heightened, beauty and adventure are everywhere, even just waking up in the morning is pure joy...there is magic in the air at the Hacienda, and we will carry it in our hearts forever.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at the end of March, beginning of April and like everyone says, we wish we could've stayed longer! The hacienda was even better then I would've imagined (and I had read all the great reviews on Trip Advisor so I was expecting a lot!). We have never stayed in an eco-lodge that was so comfortable, had such wonderful meals, and with such personalized service from the staff and from Luis. We took the tours offered from the lodge in an air-conditioned van and enjoyed each and every adventure. We also lazed about the spotless pool, or in the hammocks, surrounded by nature and beautiful views. We were pleased to be awoken each morning by numerous birds singing and especially by the Nicaraguan National bird, the Turquoise-browed Mot-Mot. A pair of them flitted back and forth right outside our window each morning and evening, so if you're into bird-watching try to stay in the Casa Bella. We can't recommend this beautiful hacienda enough and will hopefully get another opportunity to come back. Thanks to everyone- especially Luis- for making our trip a wonderful one! S&S

Room Tip: I recommend Casa Bella- it's on the end so has the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We just got back from a fantastic 4 night stay at the Hacienda. The location and the views were amazing. April is supposedly the hottest month in Nicaragua, but there is almost always a pleasant breeze at the Hacienda that makes for some very nice lounging in the hammocks. Also, if like me you attract mosquitos wherever you go, there are very very few mosquitos there, so you can enjoy sunning and swimming without worrying about getting bitten. The service was excellent and the food was delicious and plentiful. I have a fairly delicate digestive system that is usually upset on trips, but I ate everything (I cleaned the plate for almost every meal), and had no problems. Bottled water and beer are relatively inexpensive (between $1 and $3).

Some additional tips if you are driving yourself from the airport:

They are not kidding when they say you need 4 wheel drive. The roads between the town of Masatepe and the Hacienda are steep and unpaved, and you will probably have to maneuver around people, horses, oxen, etc, with little space to spare. Make sure you have a cell phone so you can call Luis when you get to Masatepe. You can buy a cheap cell phone for $20 (plus the cost of minutes) at one of the kiosks at the airport, or we were told that you can rent one from the rental car company for $5/day. GPS will get you to the town of Masatepe but it will not get you to the Hacienda. FYI there are no street name signs anywhere between the airport and Hacienda, so GPS is very helpful to have.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is the most customer service oriented place I have ever experienced. The staff go out of their way to make sure guests are comfortable and work hard to accommodate individual requests. The food is delicious. The people are lovely. The view is incredible. And their hammocks are perfect. I recommend Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed 7 days and I don't mind sharing that I cried the last night. I didn't want to leave! My boyfriend said, "Are you crying babe?"..and the tears came rolling down.
The staff was so warm and welcoming, the atmosphere was beautiful, just to be surrounded by nature while we dined was a pleasure. The food was excellent and more than satisfying. I've never eaten so much, but the meals were very delicious.
I recommend visiting this property. It's worth the ride on the rocky road leading to the entrance!
Sincerely,
L&R

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We recently returned from an 8 night stay at the Hacienda and absolutely loved it!! After reading all of the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor we had very high expectations - all of which were exceeded!!

Upon arrival, we were picked up at the airport by hotel staff without a glitch and had a welcome drink waiting for us at the hotel bar. The hotel is a dream - filled with areas to sit and relax while enjoying the view of a spectacular volcano. There are hammocks everywhere which were so comfy we spent half our days reading and napping in them. Since the resort has limited room accomodations, you get to really enjoy the pool and other spaces with no disruption. JC, Luis and the staff will do anything they can to make your trip truely enjoyable. Everyone was so friendly and easy to chat with that we felt like we were visiting friends or family. It was hard to leave this place!

The food was very fresh and there was lots of it! Scarlotte's chicken enchilladas were our favourite, but there were many good meals. The kitchen posts the menu daily and we often looked forward to checking what the day's creations would be. Drinks were also quite affordable. Local beer was $2.50. Try the rum too! You can also get massages at the hotel. Nohemi gives a great foot reflexology massage!

We did all of the excursions. Each were great in their own way. We particularly loved the zip lining which has a 20 foot free fall at the end. For some of the tours, the hotel staff are your guides and for others the hotel arranges for local guides that speak english fluently and equally make the effort to ensure you have a great day. As for other activities, one night the hotel took us to downtown Masaya where we had some drinks and watched some traditional Nicaraguan dancing. It was a blast! The hotel staff gave us salsa lessons and had us out on the dance floor in no time. On a couple of other evenings, the staff took us out to some of the local establishments to have some drinks and to listen to live music. This was really fun for us because if we had not been with the hotel staff we never would have had that experience.

Overall, we could not have been happier with how the trip went. Special thanks to JC, Luis and all of the staff for making this such a memorable vacation. This trip was the perfect blend of relaxation and adventure. We highly recommend the Hacienda.

You will not be dissapointed!

Room Tip: We stayed in CasaBella but we think you can't go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa

Address: Camino de los Bueyes, Nimboja #2, Masatepe, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Masaya Department > Masatepe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Masatepe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a green mountainside paradise in beautiful, sun-kissed Nicaragua. "Hacienda Puerta del Cielo Ecolodge & Spa" borders a protected national rainforest, teeming with colorful flora and fauna. Imagine yourself relaxing in a tropical pool overlooking a peaceful lagoon or meditating in a breezy hammock on your own private veranda. Explore the natural environment or adventure hike through the 60 acre grounds of our exclusive -adults only- boutique hotel and enjoy Ecotourism in luxury! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Hotel Masatepe
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa Nicaragua/Masatepe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.