We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa to your Saves list
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino de los Bueyes, Nimboja #2, Masatepe, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Masatepe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Look no further”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

You have found it: the peace and beauty of an unspoilt tropical destination and the perfect place to stay to enjoy it. Here is a magical land of water, forest and volcanos. You can gaze down into the Mouth of Hell, marvel at the giant ferns in the cloud forest, let the brilliant colors and shapes of Grenada dance before your eyes, and be back in time for cocktails. Hacienda Puerto Del Cielo really does lives up to its name. It's built into built into a hillside. The views are stunning, and we loved the natural materials and openness of the rooms and public spaces. Our comfortable and spacious casita (Bella) had a wall of screened french windows opening onto a private patio overlooking the valley and volcano. Whether you wanted to be private or sociable, in the sun or in the shade, there was always a hammock or lounge chair in just the right place, and someone offering you a cool drink.
The owners Juan Carlos and Linda are quite remarkable hosts. Warm, generous and enthusiastic, they really do make you feel like a guest in their home. And the young Nicaraguan staff clearly benefit from their genorosity and mentorship too.With the result that they, too, go out of their way to look after you and practice their English. The food was fresh, simple, using local recipes and ingredients. It was all delicious, from the first big cup of fabulous local coffee in the morning to the home made dessert under the stars at night.. Try and stay at least FOUR full days - and longer if you can. That way you can enjoy all the amazing excursions and still have time to relax at the Hacienda and enjoy a massage. Thank you KLinda and JC, for a truly a truly wonderful trip and a glimpse of sustainable tourism at its best. I can't stop thinking about it or talking about it. We'll be back.

.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    13
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
158
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed at Hacienda Puerto Del Cielo for seven wonderful nights. I have to say it was one of my all time favorite vacation spots. The owners Juan Carlos and Linda were wonderful hosts, funny, generous with their time and knowledge and a pleasure to be around. We loved the staff and felt like we got to know some of them well. We also enjoyed getting to know the other guest who we shared meals with and went with on some trips.

The location is just spectacular, with views of the lagoon, volcano, mountains, flowers, birds and fruit tress. It is just cut off enough to feel like you’ve gotten away from everything, while being close enough to go on excursions with the staff. The star filled nights were another thing that we were able to enjoy every night because of the location.

The food and drink were far too good so go prepared to enjoy the wonderful Nicaraguan food prepared by the talented cooks there. I expressed an interested in learning to make tortillas and some Nicaraguan dishes, and voila, they made it happen and I learned to make several of the lunches.

I can’t speak highly enough of this wonderful little hidden jewel. I know that I will be returning again and bringing friends with me to share the experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellow Springs OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

From the moment my friend and I arrived at Hacieda Puerta, we were treated like family. The owners Juan Carlos and Linda were incredibly kind and so much fun. They (along with their fantastic staff) went out of their way to ensure every guest had a fantastic time. JC and Linda even arranged a special Nicaraguan folk dance group to perform onsite with many of the guests and staff dancing late into the night. This hotel is nothing short of magical. The tours offered here are wonderful, although it's also great to relax by the pool or in one of the many hammocks surrounded by a wealth of natural beauty! I'm dreaming of returning here as soon as possible!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

My wife and I wanted to vacation somewhere tropical but avoid tourists and commercial resorts. This place was perfect. From the moment we stepped out of the airport, Juan Carlos and Linda (owners) treated us like family. Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo is beautiful, both inside and out. The food was fresh (often grown on the property) and delicious, the staff were gracious and always available to help, and the tours were spectacular. We honestly don't have anything negative to say about our trip or stay here. We never had concerns about safety, we learned so much about the history and people of Nicaragua, and the diverse microclimates around the resort are amazing. We stayed five nights and highly recommend all of the tours; each gives you a unique view of the area. We spent the last day lounging around the pool, sleeping in hammocks, and sipping drinks - it doesn't get any better. Many thanks to Juan Carlos, Linda, and all the staff for a relaxing and wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Stayed here for two nights after Granada and before San Juan del Sur. It's a great property - totally isolated and quiet retreat in the trees overlooking Lake Masaya and the volcano. The property is only 4 individual casitas and 2 guest rooms, so it's very intimate. Each casita is very well done with a private deck, nice bathroom, etc. The beds are very hard though.

The shared facilities are great - nice pool, plenty of different areas to relax. The owners were very helpful and friendly in discussing the area and in setting up and executing various activities.

The staff, like most staff in Nicaragua, is still kind of learning about how to serve tourists, but they were friendly and helpful and trying hard.

Overall a wonderful experience and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This was our first trip to Central America, and Nicaragua exceeded all of our expectations. We stayed 6 nights at Hacienda Puerta del Cielo, and from the moment we arrived Juan Carlos and Linda made us feel right at home and went above and beyond to make sure we loved every minute of our vacation. Each day we were in awe of the beautiful scenery, wonderful food, and fabulous drinks- and that was just at the Hacienda.

We felt like we really expereienced the Nicaraguan culture, had great history lessons- courtesy of Juan Carlos, and loved the tours that were offered. We did all 3 tours: Granada and the Isletas, Mombacho Cloud Forest/ Canopy Tour, and Volcan Masaya. Each one was special, and we'd highly recommend doing them all, as each one is unique and a once in a lifetime opportunity. Once we got home to the States, it was hard for us to pick a "highlight," as we reminissed our adventures of a boat trip through the Isletas, a horse drawn carriage ride though Granada, Zip lining though the canopy, peering into the smoking Masaya crater, and of course hanging out poolside and by the bar!

We can't recommed the Hacienda Puerta del Cielo highly enough, and thank you to our wonderful hosts and the staff, who made this our favorite vacation ever! We will be returning soon with friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Originally conceived as a vacation home for the owner's extended family, Hacienda Puerta del Cielo has maintained its intimate and inviting feel.

Between the close personal service, the excellent food and attention to beverage preferences before arriving I'd be hard pressed to remember a a more personal and caring experience.

The location offers excellent day trips for shopping, eco adventures and touring. When you're done with a canopy tour and volcano hike winding down at the pool can't be beat.

The altitude and proximity to the lake results in cooler temperatures than the beaches or cities. We also appreciate the quiet afforded by the adults only policy.

We plan to come back with friends in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa

Address: Camino de los Bueyes, Nimboja #2, Masatepe, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Masaya Department > Masatepe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Masatepe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a green mountainside paradise in beautiful, sun-kissed Nicaragua. "Hacienda Puerta del Cielo Ecolodge & Spa" borders a protected national rainforest, teeming with colorful flora and fauna. Imagine yourself relaxing in a tropical pool overlooking a peaceful lagoon or meditating in a breezy hammock on your own private veranda. Explore the natural environment or adventure hike through the 60 acre grounds of our exclusive -adults only- boutique hotel and enjoy Ecotourism in luxury! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Hotel Masatepe
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa Nicaragua/Masatepe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.