We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pennycroft Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pennycroft Guest House to your Saves list
Pennycroft Guest House
Far Lane, Kettlewell, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD235QY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Kettlewell B&B and Inns
East Midlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“warm welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We arrived damp and very tired after a long walk doing the Inn Way. Laurence was very welcoming and showed us to our room which was the downstairs of their home (the main B&B is a few doors down the lane). It felt slightly strange being in a room underneath the owners but they were very quiet and the room was a good size and very nicely furnished with a decent en-suite. We were shown how to get instant heat from the storage heater to dry our clothes and warm up - very welcome despite it being June! After a hot shower Laurence took us to the main B&B cottage where we were shown the great kitchen facilities and the constant availability of tea, coffee, biscuits etc and Lizzie's excellent home made cake.

We sampled the wares of the three great pubs in the village that evening and the next day enjoyed an excellent breakfast watching the myriads of birds feeding in the garden. An enjoyable stay - thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
71
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights B&B and would definitely go back again. We had the en-suite in the cottage overlooking the garden and the bird feeders which we both liked. As we were staying with 2 friends, who had the other room in the cottage, it was a home from home without the cooking and washing up to do. Lizzie and Lawrence were great, a really pleasant couple. Breakfast was good. The weather was horrible, but we had a coal fire lit in June and the heating came on both morning and evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We booked last minute and the owners Lizzie & Lawerence are just lovely. The B&B is so welcoming and the room we stayed in was very comfy and clean. We arrived to wellies and clothes of other guests getting dried in the kitchen and some yummy cake. A tour of the main house and instruction to the fire. The room we had was in a seperate cottage just a few doors up from the main door and we loved the little touches. Dvds, cds, games and books about the village in our room.
We did hear noise upstairs but It didnt last long and if anything it felt fitting. We did have the owners on top of us we think and we could tell they tried to keep quiet bless them. I found it sweet the owner helping us to find a place to park and then showing us to our room.
We both slept like logs after eating locally, sampling the villages pubs and playing the games in our room. We couldnt get over how friendly everyone was.
Now the breakfast...... best breakfast (we both agreed this) we have had in a long time. The eggs... which Lizzie offered us two- Thankyou. They were really yummy. The whole breakfast sat at the table, watching the birds in the stunning back garden is something I wont forget in a hurry.
Credit to the owners, they really couldnt do any more.
We didnt want to leave to be honest. We know we will be going back. Thankyou for such a lovely stay. Oh and they mentioned cyclists as we left. We saw a few going past the b&b when we were leaving. Your right Lizzie.... they do dont they.

Room Tip: We had the room in the seperate annexe- you get more privacy but you dont get to see the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is our 4th time at Pennycroft and yet again we had an amazing time

Lizzie & Lawrence are the perfect hosts and can not do enough for you! They both go out of their way to attend to your needs.

On arrival you are greeted with a lovely cup of Yorkshire tea and Lizzies home made cake which is amazing.

We were in the room overlooking the beautiful garden. You could sit forever looking out at the wildlife that this garden attracts. The bed is amazingly comfortable so a great nights sleep.

The breakfast here is like nothing we have ever had anywhere it is HUGE it sets you up for the rest of the day.

When you return after walking in the lovely Dales there is home made cakes & scones waiting for you in the kitchen and a lovely fire going in the lounge.

We have already booked to go back for our 5th visit next year!!

Highly recommended and thank you to Lizzie & Lawrence for making our stay another memorable one

Room Tip: Book well in advance so you will not be dissapointed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, NH
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Reading other reviews before our visit made us expect something very special but we thought our stay was just average. Our room was fine although we had to walk outside to get to the breakfast room. Our welcome was very warm and the breakfast was good but very standard. The breakfast room/lounge was very cold in the morning and no fire was lit there in the evening. No big complaints but again nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Our two day stay at Pennycroft wasn't long enough! The accommodation was excellent quality. Lizzy & Lawrence who run Pennycroft were friendly, welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was outstanding. Kettlewell is a beautiful Yorkshire Dales village and convenient for exploring the national park by foot or car. I

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is the 4th time we have stayed at Pennycroft and it will not be the last. We stayed 4 nights for my 50th birthday. Lizzie and Laurence decorated the cottage and layed on nibbles and a bottle of bubbly on ice and strawberries when we returned from out day out very nice surprise.Plenty of homemade cakes and biscuits and lots of good information on where to go. It is also next door to two pubs with great food and beer how perfect is that. We had the hole cottage it was home from home, great breakfast all you could wish for and all cooked fresh. Nothing is to much trouble for Lizzie & Laurence. This is worth every penny.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pennycroft Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pennycroft Guest House

Address: Far Lane, Kettlewell, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD235QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Kettlewell
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kettlewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pennycroft in heart of Kettlewell is the perfect base to explore The Yorkshire Dales. We offer luxury traditional rooms - double/twin or family, all with modern comfort in our homely cottage with log fire, home baking and so much more. Our Yorkshire breakfast is cooked from local produce and will set you up for the day. If it's walking, shopping or just relaxing let us take care of you - come to visit Pennycroft we look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Pennycroft Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pennycroft Guest House Kettlewell, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pennycroft Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.