We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle View B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castle View B&B to your Saves list
Castle View B&B
Dromahair, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Dromahair B&B and Inns
Golden, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Castle View B&B is the absolute best Ireland has to offer in both hospitality and quality of accommodation. The rooms are warm and comfortable, with amazing views of nearby Lough Gill and Parkes Castle. The host is generous and friendly, and provides for every want and desire. Breakfast is delicious, whatever your choice may be. It's a very peaceful environment, surrounded by a beautiful countryside and a very comfy bed. The place is well-designed, with lots of natural material (wood and stone) and adds to the feeling of warmth and hospitality. JJ (the host) grew up in the area, so knows all the places to go, knows all the people to visit. The area itself is stunning and affords limitless opportunities, whatever your desire. Ancient monuments, refreshing sea bath, forested walks, outstanding music, sea-based activities like surfing and stand-up paddling, tours of Yeats country, shopping in the town of Sligo, a visit to the woodcarver who tells of the mythology of Ireland as no one else can, within driving distance of Co. Donegal - high sea cliffs, Belleek pottery factory in Northern Ireland, a visit to a faerie glen, and so much more.

An incredible place to visit and to stay. Can't recommend it highly enough. I can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: A view of Lough Gill is always lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this beautifully located B&B. JJ is a wonderful host and breakfast was the class of any hotel in Ireland. Rooms are big, clean and warm.
When you step out from the front door and take a look at the scenery, you will understand the bit of heaven you are in. Overlooking the Lough Gill and Parke's Castle and you can easily imagine the thousands of legends and stories surrounding this area.
This B&B has a good standard and location to die for. Perfect driving distance from Sligo town, Ben Bulben, Knocknarea, Deer Park etc.. If you are fond of legends and fairies, you have come to the right place.
Should I be travelling back to Sligo, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taby, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This place and host took us by surprise! We felt that we had landed an safe place and safe hands! You feel like at home directly, enjoy of the coziness of this place, friendliness of the family (inclusive the cute 4 year old "helper"). We recommend this place big time! It was also so wonderfully quiet by night time, so there is not trouble to get a good night sleep!
It is also suited in a beautiful surroundings and you got Parke's castle nearby that is also worth while a visit and a guided tour. Thanks JJ O'Hara for making our stay as comfortable as possible. It is a really good location for to start to discover all those tourist attractions nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susquehanna, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Wonderful place to stay in the west of Ireland. JJ O'Hare is a gracious host and a terrific cook! Well worth a visit - if I ever get back to Ireland, I WILL go back to Castle View.
Peaceful, serene..... words are inadequate to describe this B&B - absolutely the best!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Our tour group of 7 was booked into proprietor J.J. O'Hara's establishment & we had a blast. Set in the middle of Yeats country (W.B. Yeats), it overlooks Lough Gill which provided much of the inspiration for many of his poems such as "The Fiddler of Dooney" & "The Lake Isle of Innisfree".

J.J. is a wonderful host. He is engaging, personable & you feel at ease here right away. The place is about 6 years old. Our room, room 1, overlooked the lake & each morning we would look out to watch the mist rise from the lake & look off to Sligo in the West to check what the weather would be for the next few hours. Next was a full Irish breakfast of either oatmeal with honey, scrambled eggs with cheese or pancakes with strawberry jam. Also there was fresh fruit, yogurt, toast, juice, coffee & tea. If you come away hungry it really is your fault.

Our room had one quirk we never really solved. We just could not get the shower hot water adjusted but as with all things when traveling, we worked it out. Remember to bring your own wash cloth as it is considered a personal item in Europe & not supplied by most B&B's or hotels.

The area is not a big tourist location which is what attracted us in the first place. But it is the postcard Ireland everyone goes to find. We saw no big tour buses for the 7 days there.

As a base to operate while seeing the area, Castle View is one of the best you could ask for. And J.J. makes it that much better with his knowledge of the area since he was born & raised there. He is so generous in sharing where to go & what to see.

If you want an area with few other tourists, friendly people, beautiful scenery & a wonderful host, look no further.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had the great fortune of staying at Castle View in July of 2013. JJ O'Hara the owner is a gracious host that went over and above to make our stay feel like we had come to stay with family. As for our room, it was great, well lit, spacious with a beautiful view of Lough Gill every morning. Because of the peaceful country setting sleep was a dream. Each morning we were cheerily greeted by JJ as he made breakfast for us. He is a great cook and can whip up a full Irish in a heartbeat. We intend to return and stay with JJ again. I Say stay with JJ and not at Castle View because it really did feel like staying with family. I would recommend Castle View to everyone that is traveling to the area.
Lucinda Wise

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenties, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this lovely B & B on Saturday 20th July to say that it was a fantastic stay is an understatement the proprietor J.J was a delight nothing was too much trouble the rooms were large & spotlessly clean & the view overlooking Lough Gill took your breath away, the breakfast made by J.J was superb freshly cooked to order without hardly any waiting time at all there was a large menu with great choices to choose from portions where great & food was lovely & hot, I am so delighted to have found this gem of place & look forward to my next stay if any of you get the chance to visit Dromahair with its beautiful scenery & the lovely Loch Gill and Parkes Castle be sure & book this lovely gem for your stay I can assure you that you will not be disappointed, thank you J.J for a wonderful stay you deserve 10 stars, Jackie Gallagher

Room Tip: this is a lovely place not to be missed it is a typically irish B & B with a huge warm welcome t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle View B&B

Address: Dromahair, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Dromahair
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dromahair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle View B&B is overlooking Lough Gill, Parke’s Castle, Innisfree Island, Arigna Mountains, O’Rourke’s Table, Queen Maeve grave and St. Angela’s College. All rooms are en-suite, and have TV and internet access. Castle B&B is located outside Dromahair in Co. Leitrim within close proximity of Sligo City It is an inviting, three star registered bed and breakfast. Try our hillwalking and mountain walking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Castle View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle View B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.