We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful two weeks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. George's Retreat Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added St. George's Retreat Village to your Saves list
St. George's Retreat Village
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Kokkino Chorio, Crete 73008, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful two weeks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a wonderful two weeks at St George's Villa Retreat. It's been said many times before, but Stefanos and Roula really are amazing hosts. We arrived at 11pm and were welcomed with open arms. The fridge was stocked with a bottle of wine, beer, homemade dolmades, cake, cheese, ham, bread, eggs etc. And some lovely touches like a bottle of olive oil and raki/ouzo. We stayed in Villa Calliope and it was spotless and equipped with absolutely everything – the washing machine was just a godsend. Our 4-year-old Sam loved it here and fell in love with Fluffy the dog (also renamed Sausages by him!!) The pools were fabulous – Sam learnt to swim here – and the views stunning. Sam also enjoyed the playground. The grounds of St George's are stunning – beautiful flowers everywhere and loads of fresh fruit trees – figs, pomegranates, pears, peaches, lemons, oranges. Also lots of tomatoes – which Roula told us to just help ourself to – delicious. You definitely need a car. Stefanos gave us details of a local firm and they were wonderful – we dealt with them directly and they were half the price of the big rental names. Someone was waiting for us at arrivals at the airport and took us straight to the car – all very efficient and hassle free. They also gave us great directions for getting to St George's. Hania and Rethmynon are both beautiful towns and worth visiting. The water park near Hania was fun – perfect for little ones and not too overcrowded despite being July. We made it to Knossos and enjoyed wandering around the ruins. One highlight was a beautiful drive through the Theriso Gorge. As for beaches, we spent a lot of time at Kalives – again, idea for little ones and generally not too overcrowded. We cooked several times at the villa – the communal BBQ was fantastic – and the kitchen well equipped. Otherwise we ate out in Plaka, Almirida and Hania a few times. Thank you Stefanos and Roula for a fabulous time. We have travelled extensively and independently (backpacking until we had a child) and this trip was just brilliant, relaxing and stress free. We plan to hopefully come back.

Room Tip: We had villa Callipo – it was next to the playground so perfect for sitting on the balcony and being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stefanos, Roula, I have been meaning to write this review for quite some time as my husband, 1 year old daughter and father-in-law spent a week at St George's last summer. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation, a private little house with breathtaking views, privacy and the kind of scenery you can't get enough of when you open those patio doors every morning, this is your escape! I remember just wandering the property and picking fresh fruit off the trees, then plunging into the refreshing pool and taking in the view of the sea on one side and the massive mountain on the other, the sound of goats wandering the mountains... This place is nothing short of magical.

The villas are beautifully appointed, cozy, spotless. Roula and Stefanos are such charismatic, genuine and attentive hosts. They would make fresh fruit puree for my daughter one morning, bring fresh eggs the next, succulent homemade jam the next...and the list goes on. I would return in a heartbeat.

On a side note, I couldn't help but think how perfect of a wedding destination this would be. There is a charming picturesque tiny white chapel right behind the complex and a restaurant with the most breathtaking views just a few steps up the hill. I couldn't imagine a more perfect place for a wedding for family and friend to stay in the villas all together.

Just go! You will not regret it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was more than a villa rental – it was a Cretan experience. The historical location is just outside of a small village and half way up a mountain in a mix of farming and residential properties. Quiet location, stunning sea and mountain views from each patio.

Our villa was super clean and well equipped with modern conveniences including a clothes washer. What sets the bar really high is that the owners have exceeded expectations by providing a very extensive, well planned, welcome pack. We did not have to immediately rush out for groceries. Later on, we chose to shop at the local markets for meat and produce to be cooked Greek style on the wood fired BBQs provided on site.

Stefanos provided local, cultural and historical information which lead us to a better understanding and appreciation of the area. We now comprehend the villa name “St. George’s Retreat”. We appreciated learning about the agriculture on this property and he even taught us how to prune grape vines!

To those wanting a peaceful base to explore the Chania area, this villa is worth the short drive. Yes – it is a bit out of the way and an interesting drive through a series of towns but - Oh what a ride!

Thank you Stefanos and Roula for your attention to even the smallest details and making the experience a truly memorable one. Of course - we loved your Dog! She checked up on all guests each day.

Room Tip: All views are scenic. Request if you want Pool view or near Children's playground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We can't recommend St George's Retreat highly enough, nor its owners Stefanos and Roula. Wonderful place and wonderful people!! Unfortunately we missed our flight from Marrakech to Crete, but based on the good reviews of the retreat and determination, arrived on the third day of our 7 nights stay. We are glad we made the effort. Our villa (Euterpe) was absolutely beautifully furnished with every detail thought of, including the best welcome pack ever (think homemade olive oil, jams, honey, eggs, bread and more). Since we arrived late, we're buggered from the five transit flights we had to take to make it, Roula gave us a delicious plate of home cooked food - beyond what we expected. After weeks of travelling, we were greatly touched by Stefanos and Roula's warm and generous hospitality. The retreat is close to many quaint villages with tavernas serving great food, and Cretian hospitality. This place is a long way from our home Australia, but it's the kind of place we will definitely make an effort to come back to in the future.

Room Tip: We were the only ones staying at the retreat and had villa Euterpe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at St George's Retreat in August 2012, and had a wonderful week. Stefanos and Roula must be the most welcoming hosts. We arrived to find they had stocked the fridge with cheese, ham, butter, milk, juice and fruit (including a bowl of their delicious homegrown figs) as well as homemade raki, homemade olive oil, coffee, herbal tea, etc.
The villa was spotless, the beds comfortable and the views beautiful. Every little detail had been thought of.
Our children, Maddie (9) and Will (6) loved the pool, and meeting new friends there, and we all loved Stefanos' tour of the WW2 bunker on the hill above the villas, and the network of caves behind it. Fascinating stuff, brought to life by Stefanos' storytelling and historical knowledge.
Stefanos even offered to drive our son to the medical centre when he cut his chin open (the boy is a tornado).
They are kind, lovely hosts, and their villas are wonderful. Hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: All the villas looked good. We chose Polymnia because it overlooked the playground, but unsurprising...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

When my husband and I rented one of Stefanos' villas for a year we didn't know what to expect. To our delight we were welcomed with open arms and experienced living life the Cretan way.

The retreat was a glorious place to spend our summer months by the pool and our autumn months hiking through the olive tree groves and surrounding mountains. Stefanos and Rula were the most spectacular hosts to us (a Canadian and a Pole) who at times felt rather like outsiders :)

The beautiful panoramic views of the Mediterranean sea were only topped by the nights spent eating cake and drinking tea at the uppermost spot on the property with Stefanos and Rula, chatting and looking at all the terracotta-tiled villa roofs.

A wonderful time, many memories made, %110 love and dedication from Stefanos and Rula...the retreat is highly, highly recommended!

Much love,

Ashley :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a wonderful fortnight at St Georges Retreat. Peace perfect peace! Stefanos and Roula make you feel very welcome. The villas are immaculate and every detail has been well thought out. On arrival you will find a well stocked fridge, wine, coffee and Stefanos's Raki to settle you in.
Stefanos gave us lots of interesting ideas of places to visit, he certainly knows his Island!
We loved this place and we will be back. Don't hesitate to book a holiday in this beautifully set Village on this beautiful Island.
Hope the knee is on the mend Stefanos.....don't forget Steve has challenged you to get to the top of the hill!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. George's Retreat Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Retreat Village

Address: Kokkino Chorio, Crete 73008, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 546 Specialty Lodging in Chania Prefecture
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. George's Retreat Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About the Retreat: The Retreat Village is situated just below the famous St. George's Retreat cave. The complex benefits from extensive cultivated gardens, olive trees, a vineyard with its own wine press, and a large number of fruit trees, which the guests are free to taste. They are ideal for families and friends who would like to holiday together, but still maintain their private space. There are discounts available for groups who wish to book 3 or more villas. Contact the owner for details. There are two shared pools and a large BBQ area containing both a BBQ spit and traditional baking oven, while the tavern situated high up above the villas will take care of any appetite desire. The village of Kokkino Chorio is 5 minutes drive away while Plaka and Almyrida villages are a further 5 minutes drive each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. George's Retreat Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George's Retreat Village Crete, Greece - Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. George's Retreat Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.