We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Fel

Auberge du Fel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge du Fel to your Saves list
Auberge du Fel
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   12140 Le Fel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Le Fel B&B and Inns
kinross
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“peaceful haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

once we found the signs it was well worth the twisting drive up the hill. Our room had a balcony overlooking the valley which at night had a wonderful sunset followed by twinkling lights from distant villages. The evening meal was outside on the terrace. Our half board menu was more than sufficient with a wonderful local cheeseboard and wine. After a peaceful night in our quiet room breakfast was served outside if you wanted. Madame Elizabeth has english and she is charming.The village has 2 excellent wineyards and you are made welcome at any time. If in the area again we would not hesitate to stay.

Room Tip: If the room on the top floor with the veranda is available this is a better option as it has an umbr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
23
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hook, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We arrived to find no record of our dinner booking but the owner finally said this was no problem (reasonably large party so that was a relief!). By the time we sat down and managed to get a drink, however, we were gasping!. Lovely setting in this tiny, peaceful hamlet. Dinner was well cooked and tasty but not exceptional. The cheese was the triumph, a superb selection.
We rated it very good for the area and by the end the rather awkward atmosphere had thawed but let's just say it was long way up and down the hill!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This sweet hotel is well-run and good value and, best of all, is located in a lovely village looking over the hillsides above the gorges du Lot. Conques isn't far away. Our room had a great view and plain but cheery furnishings. Relative to similar places we stayed in during our trip, we thought it was good value. We weren't that impressed by the restaurant (except for an excellent cheese selection and a delicious, Fel appellation wine) but at least the menu is inexpensive. The well-priced breakfast had good bread and jams as well as decent coffee. Friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We felt like we had "discovered" this lovely, remote village and hotel. We had a wonderful dinner in the beautiful dining room (and asked to take a photo of the chef, who graciously consented). The rooms overlook the Lot Valley, and at night you can see other villages' lights twinkling across the valley. In the morning, breakfast was set in a different dining room, and the colors alone got the day off to a wonderful start.

The whole experience was a huge treat!

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a nice view, and ours was on the front and had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

I wasn't sure whether to write this review, after all, do I want everyone knowing about this place? However, it is a business and this business deserves all the recognition it gets.

To enjoy your stay here you must have your own transport, the village of Le Fel is high high above the Vallee du Lot (you wind your way through the vinyard terraces) and quite a way from anywhere of significant size.

You must enjoy stunning scenery and not desire shops, neon lights or anything louder than a cuckoo. The views are fantastic. I have no idea where the nearest shop is. They do have a huge stack of paperbacks (in many languages) for the guests to enjoy.

We had a double room with terrace overlooking the valley. The bed was extremely comfortable, the shower was steaming and the radiator was pumping out heat (useful as the weather was terrible).

If you do stay here, please eat here at least one night. This is not a restaurant to try if you are on a diet, but if you want to taste food that is excellent, that captures the local flavours and where the menu has been put together with incredible forethought, this is very good. Residents can have the menu for 25 Euros (there is also a vegetarian one), for which you get 5 courses. The menu is the menu for the week (there is another for Sundays) so perhaps you wouldn't want to eat there every night for a week, however, to miss it altogether would be nothing short of a sin. And, as someone who thinks the path to heaven is paved with French cheeses, I met a Blue D'Auvergne (one of 11 cheeses on the cheeseboard) that will live in my memory for the rest of my life.

Breakfast is not cheap, but it is delicious.

The hotel seems to be favoured by French, Catalans and Brits alike. It is a quiet place, the service is very good but understated, this is the place to come if you want to get away from it all and appreciate some of the simpler but finer things of life. And the area around is simply stunning.

And if I can't get in next time I want to stay there due to it being fully booked, I will sulk. If it was that good in the cold pouring rain, I simply can not imagine it in summer. www.auberge-du-fel.com

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge du Fel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Fel

Address: 12140 Le Fel, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Aveyron > Le Fel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Le Fel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge du Fel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Auberge du Fel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Fel Le Fel, Aveyron, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Fel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.