We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable and restful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Logis Le St. Eloi

Save Saved
You added Logis Le St. Eloi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Logis Le St. Eloi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66, avenue St Eloi, 87110 Solignac, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Solignac
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A comfortable and restful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights before our return home to uk. Owners were welcoming and informative on the area. Our room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. en suite bathroom was spacious too. Our room had view of hills. Breakfast was plentiful, self service buffet, more than we could eat! Evening meal was delicious and good quality food. Mrs ashton was rushed off her feet as only she was waitressing, so we had to wait quite a while! But whats the hurry anyway, we were on holiday! Would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ourr room overlooked village and hills beyond. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
3
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night here on our way through France. We had read the reviews about the rude hostess but decided to try for ourselves. Neil and Dawn could not have been nicer or friendlier. The accomodation was good and the facilties as expected. We had drinks and dinner in the courtyard. The excellent food was cooked by Neil and serrved by Dawn and everything was excellent. Solignac is a lovely little village and just off the autoroute. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We were made to feel completely unwelcome by Mrs Ashton, I was astonished at her rudeness and lack of customer service. After touring France for 3 months we have had nothing but delightful and warm receptions from French proprietors. Why would you ever own a hotel if you so obviously don't like people?
Other than the unpleasant customer service the room was perfectly OK and well situated in the lovely village.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stopped at the St. Eloi for one night on our way south. We received an email a month before our arrival warning us that there would be a vide grenier at the village on the Sunday of our departure and were offered the chance to cancel or change our booking. As I love a chance of a good rummage we did not cancel. We were warned that there might be restrictions as to unloading and loading due to road closures. We had no trouble when we arrived on the Saturday, but Sunday morning we opted to take our luggage to the car rather than attempt to drive it through the crowds.

As to the hotel, the room was clean and comfortable. No problems with the bathroom. Although they had a terrace, on our arrival we opted to have a beer at the tabac on the corner and watch the world go by.
We ate a la carte. The menu was perhaps a little pretentious and the food not quite up to it. But pretty much what you would expect from a small country logis.
I would have to agree with other reviewers that although the patron was helpful and friendly, his female counterpart was unsmiling and aloof. But I would recommend it, it is very handy for the motorway but in a quiet rural spot.

Room Tip: We had a room with twin beds which was at the front of the hotel and on a level with the rear entran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Felt I had to write a review of the restaurant in this hotel. When we arrived early in the village, we decided to have a drink in the courtyard of the hotel. The English speaking male owner could not have been more accommodating, so we decided to stay for dinner.
The owner's wife(?) dried our table after a brief shower. Thank you.
When we had finished the bottle of wine and I was wandering around looking to order another, she looked up from the book she was reading and completely ignored me.
Dinner was even better! Whereas the young male waiter and female 'bringer & clearer' had made an effort with their appearance, Mrs Owner was still in the old 'T' shirt she had had on earlier. When we asked about the steaks and how did we order 'pink' she reeled off half a dozen French phrases with absolutely no explanation. Bear in mind, we were all English, no language barrier here.
Quite frankly, she seemed totally disinterested in her job and couldn't have been ruder.
We only had dinner there and wouldn't dream of staying there when we next visit France.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Solignac hotels

Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

The reviews were varied but as we were driving down to the South of France it made sense to stop in the area and we are so glad we did. The hotel is in a very pretty little village right next to a medieval Abbey. The rooms were very clean and the bed comfy and breakfast was good, continental style. We ate in the restaurant the night we arrived rather than drive all the way into Limoges (although it is only a 15 minute or so drive) . We had a set menu for around £25 and had 3 courses which were delicious and the menu even said where the beef was from (all local). And staying in the hotel meant that we were able to try some of the very good wine on the menu!
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night prior to a flight out of Limoges and were disappointed.
The town was uninspiring as was the hotel.
I didnt realise there were hotels that didnt open their reception until 5pm - as a result we and some other guests wanting to check in found ourselves lined up waiting to get in (reminded me of earlier youth hostel back packing days!)
The room was very basic and not very clean - on a positive note it did have a comfortable bed and a good sized shower with hot water.
We didnt eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food.

Of the two owners, the gentleman was very friendly and helpful while the woman was abrupt.

We paid 75 Euro for the room and I'd like to think our money would have got something much better elsewhere.

I would not choose to stay here again and would not recommend it to others

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Logis Le St. Eloi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis Le St. Eloi

Also Known As:
Le St Eloi
Address: 66, avenue St Eloi, 87110 Solignac, France
Location: France > Limousin > Haute-Vienne > Solignac
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Solignac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Logis Le St. Eloi 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Logis Le St. Eloi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Logis Le St. Eloi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.