We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food with great service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Don Tello

Don Tello
Av. Las Nereidas no. 36, Catano, Puerto Rico
724 5752
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Catano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Orange, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good food with great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stopped here for a super quick lunch before catching our ferry back to Old San Juan. Our waiter was super accommodating by seating us, taking our orders and bringing the food out in half hour!!!

We ordered:

*sancocho: very thick veggie soup with corn, potatoes, yucca, meat, etc. Was pretty tasty and served with delicious white rice

*chicken fricase: tasty sauce and soft chicken

*beef stew rice: some pieces were a little tough bit still good

*big avocado which we ate with the rice and soup, a bit pricey at $6!!!

Overall, a very good meal with fantastic service!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    32
    12
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food & service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This was hands down the best food we had in San Juan! It's a nice family-run restaurant with great food! The criolla paella was to die for! It's a short ferry ride from old San Juan - took it during sun set and had a great view! The ferry is 50 cents each way - totally worth it to visit this awesome restaurant. If you want authentic Puerto Rican food - this is the place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statham, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best meal we had during our stay...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stopped in for a quick bit after the Bacardi tour before returning to Old San Juan by ferry. Fantastic, authentic, reasonably priced, comfortable atmosphere. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Popular spot but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Nice looking restaurant. Busy at lunch time. Only place open on the main street running along the waterfront between the ferry and the marina about a kilometre away. Lots of menu choices and the prices are reasonable but we found the food rather bland. We had the chicken breast and mushrooms in garlic sauce and red snapper in creole sauce. The sauces were disappointing.

Service was fine until the bill arrived. Take cash. Both of their credit card machines had transmission problems. 5 or 6 attempts to pay by credit card to no avail which wasted a good 20 minutes before we decided to pay in cash or miss the next ferry.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
900 helpful votes 900 helpful votes
“Superior Puerto Rican cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

On advice of Puerto Rico Tourism Company representatives, I took the 50¢ (25¢ for seniors) ferry to Canaño (across the bay from Old San Juan cruise ship port) for an alleged tour of Bacardi distillery. Big mistake! Walking around for half an hour, I found no directions to Bacardi, and stopped at the quaint Don Tello restaurant to ask directions. A kind server explained that Bacardi does not really offer a distillery tour, just gives you a couple of rum drinks, shows a movie and then takes you to the gift shop, just after the rum has a chance to inhibit rational thinking. If you buy the rum, you can’t take it with you on a cruise or flight, and the price is about 20 percent higher than you pay in Pueblo Supermarket. There’s no such thing as a free lunch—or rum!

I opted not to pay for a cab ride to Bacardi but instead to have a mojito (a margarita-like fruity drink) specifically WITHOUT Bacardi rum, at Don Tello Restaurant. Two Puerto Rican Medalla beers are $5. Pleasant service for the mojito, I decided to have a late lunch and skip the evening meal. Specialty meals like lobster can exceed $40, but most menu prices are reasonable. I had Chicken Cordon Bleu for $9.95, and the two side dishes were enough by themselves. There’s extensive seating indoors, but in February, I chose a terrace table. The restaurant is exceptionally clean, and well appointed. Service staff are professionals and deserved the 20 percent tip. Ask your server for recommendations, but specify your price range. I have nothing but good things to say about Don Tello, and recommend it to anyone visiting Old San Juan.

This budget-conscious TripAdvisor Top Contributor suggests for lunch when in Old San Juan, take the ferry across the bay to Restaurant Don Tello, located at Avenida Las Neridas #36, Cataño, PR, at the ferry from Old San Juan (787/788-1951, www.dontellorestaurant.com), and is closed on Mondays.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Tello also viewed

Catano, Puerto Rico
Catano, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Catano, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Don Tello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Tello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.