We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and intersting place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snagov Monastery

Snagov Monastery
40km north of Bucharest | Snagov Island, Snagov, Romania
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Snagov
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Monastery said to be the final resting place of Vlad (Count) Tepes, also known as Vlad Dracula.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice and intersting place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

very nice and ancient place. one year before was in repair stage. The place itself is pretty small. However, must be visited

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    18
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oyama, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A little hard to find but worth the search”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We hired a private driver to take us on a 3 day tour. This was one of the stops. Really interesting grounds and setting. Great to be able to go into the church and see the grounds. I felt the people who were looking after the church were not that friendly but our guide said they were paid a small amount by the church to tend the ground and look after the tourists. They were really farmers so we were a distraction to them from their hard work of earning a living on the land. Very interesting place to see and learn about.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful island with a really pretty Monestary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

You no longer have to take a row boat. They have built a nice bridge to the island. The Monestary is beautiful and Vlads grave is there.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderfull place, quiet and full of green!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A hystoric place church of a great value a 15th century place to visit. I have been impressed by the landscape. This Monastery is placed in the middle of a very small island. It is linqued whith the mainland. The acces is very simple.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“History along with Nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Whether this is Vlad Tepes burial site or not should not be relevant when you actually get there. The Monastery sits on an island in Lake Snagov. You used to only be able to get there via boat but they have recently built a walking bridge you can take. I was a little disappointed, I was looking forward to rowing across the lake!

The Monastery is very nice in itself but the island and the nature around it is beautiful. It is a nice walk around the island to see various different fruit trees and animals. I would definitely recommend it!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snagov Monastery also viewed

 

Been to Snagov Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snagov Monastery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.