We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   KM 182 Carretera Merida-Uxmal | Temozon Sur, Temozon 97825, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Temozon
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed in many places all over the world and few places can compare to the experience we had at Hacienda Temozón. From the moment you enter thru the gate you are going back in time to the slow life of the haciendas (plantations). The big house, the immaculate gardens, the old working tools, carriage, train, etc. This one was a henequen (a type of agave) plantation and a processing plant where they made rope, clothes, shoes, belts and everything you can imaging made of this fiber. The rooms are large, clean and the beds very comfortable with a private pool you can ask to fill it with hot water very nice and romantic. The staff as well as the manager are super professional and nice, very competent and attentive to us, guest, and willing to help and answer any questions about the hacienda and how life used to be. It has a large pool between the house and the old processing plant, also a cenote for massage. The food was delicious, the waiters very attentive and professional. Everything was exquisite!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    30
    15
    12
    3
See reviews for
29
91
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I have traveled extensively globally as SPG Platinum members and also in Mexico. Our experience at the Hacienda was probably among our top 3. The hotel is located in a non-discript place but was relatively easy to find. The restoration of this Hacienda has been done perfectly. They use a cenote as a venue for the spa, the fields still grow agarve, all the machinery of the hacienda can still be seen and the rooms have been perfectly blended with the old world charm combined with modern day amenities. But, most of all we enjoyed the tour that Spa Manager Reto Kate took us on - showing us each aspect of the carefully preserved monument with incredible enthusiasm. And, the F&B manager Ulises Ortega who organised a cooking class for us on the lawns outside the main suite of the hotel. Not only did we learn to make margaritas but also some delectable (even vegetarian) food with the careful supervision of 3 chefs! Overall this was an incredibly memorable experience for us - many thanks to everyone at the hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose P, General Manager at Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Samvit K,
It was truly a pleasure to have you and your wife with us at Hacienda Temozon.
I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the beauty of the place, the tour of the Spa and the cooking lessons. I'll share your comments with Reto and Ulises, I'm sure they are going to be very please.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for being part of Starwood Preferred Guest Program.
We look forward to welcome you back and show you our sister haciendas.
Warm regards

Jose Portocarrero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEXICO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

To stay in Hacienda Temozon was a very pleasant experience. From the moment you are in the hotel you feel transportated to another time in the past. It is very beautiful. Service and staff are very friendly and attentive and you feel their genuine interest, it's not like they were interested just in a tip.
The only thing we had a little trouble with was the mosquitoes, but even in your room you can find stuff to protect yourself from them; I think we stayed there during the mosquitoes season!!

I'd heard that restaurant that was not really good but I liked a lot, yes it is a little bit expensive but I liked it. I had breakfast and dinner and dinner was excellent, I tried a chicken that was delicious.

There are a lot of details that make your experience different in this Hotel. One day I received a glass with local fruit, every night we had in our room some canapes delivered, the ammenities of the room are really local crafts. The room was beatiful, they respect the same spaces the hacienda had in other time, my room was very big with antique furniture but including everything you need for a pleasant and modern stay.
The pool was fantastic, and pinas coladas are delicious!...To swim at night was a very relaxing experience.
One more thing! Before you arrive there, it is important you study the route because it could be difficult to arrive, but if you do this, you won´t have any problem! I hope we can come back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose P, General Manager at Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear POLLYMX,
Thank you for choosing Hacienda Temozon for your stay while visiting Yucatan.
I'm very glad to heard that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the architecture, food and servcice.
We have an extensive pest control program but unfortunatelly during the rain season is difficult to keep mosquitos away.
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards,

Jose Portocarrero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

to find this paradise you really need some time and patience if you drive your own vehicle. once you get there, you immediately forget about that though. Service and staff is impeccable, very friendly and interested. they share their knowledge about plants and surroundings. The property is beautifuly maintained and you feel back in time. lazy, quiet afternoons, a tour of the house cenote or a visit to the spa where you can get a massage in the 2nd cenote on the property (in this one you can't swim). The food is very tasty and the location of the restaurant breezy and enjoyable. breakfast was my favourite, the french toast is some of the best i ever had. The rooms are spacious and pretty, the only negative point to me was the AC in our room, but anyhow, the overall visti of 2 nights was really wonderful and i would go back anytime!

Room Tip: we were told that Rooms 7 and 9 are the most beautiful ones that are also used for photoshootings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 2 nights in December 2012. It might be dated but posting it nevertheless. I drove from Cancun. The drive was smooth. Just watch out for a tricky intersection at Merida. It is a bit difficult finding the hotel because there are no visible signs.

The property was spectacular. We had dinner at the restaurant and the food was great. The kids enjoyed splashing around in the pool. It's a clay pool, which made for a unique experience. We toured around the property and found some interesting artifacts tucked away in various corners. The rooms were spacious and airy. The beds were comfortable. Wifi was choppy and cellphone reception was poor, but it wasn't a problem for me. My wife went to the spa and loved it.

The next day, we left early and drove to San Antonio Mulix cenotes and later to Uxmal. The kids really enjoyed the experience at the Cenote. Uxmal was outstanding and I enjoyed it a lot more than Chichen-itza. It was less crowded and we got to climb the pyramids and had a close-up look at some of the artifacts. We stayed for the night show. That was okay...nothing spectacular.

The next day we took country roads back to Cancun...we stopped at Chichen-itza and cenote ik-kil before returning to our hotel at Cancun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notting Hill, London, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in a superior room (room 21) in March.

The hotel is located about 45 mins from merida in the countryside within easy reach of uxmal and the ruta puuc. There isn't another town nearby so you'll most likely end up having dinner at the hacienda in the evenings.

Compared to hacienda uayamon, hacienda temozon feels larger and less intimate, but more luxerious. When you arrive you are greeted by a 10 mins complimentary massage, a cold towel and a drink.

The hacienda's grounds are vast and the buildings are restored to their former glory. The pool is large, with comfortable chairs. It is much drier and has less of a jungle atmosphere than its sister property hacienda uayamon.

The rooms are large with a huge and very comfortable bed and a hammock. The superior rooms don't have a terrace.

Service is good, but again, not all staff speak sufficient English, so f.e. booking a spa treatment becomes a bit of a chore. We had a flat tire and the staff was very accommodating and helped change the tire for us. Good turndown service.

I had a spa treatment (mayan massage), which was good. The location is highly unusual in a candlelit cenote and therefore highly recommended.

The restaurant is mostly half empty and doesn't offer great value for money, but portions are large and there aren't any other restaurants nearby.

In sum I would recommend a stay here for a couple of nights as a good base for uxmal and the ruta puuc.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Hacienda Temazon is one of the Luxury Collection Haciendas in the Yucatan and Campeche. A truly magnificent property, our stay was spectacular and magical to say the least.

Not the easiest place to find, Temazon is 20Km or so south of Merida - granted we took the wrong road from Merida and almost made it to Campeche until we figured it out. Once you get to Temazon the property stands out and dominates.

The staff is first rate and unbelievably helpful. Because of our wrong turn we didn’t have enough gas to make it to the nearest Pemex gas station so they went into Temazon and purchased gas from a local for us. Who does that?

When you pull up you’re met by expansive manicured grounds and a path that leads to stairs that lead to another century. Even the check in is a pleasure. You are served a cold drink (which is nice because Merida and surrounding area is very hot most days and was super hot that day). and sit at an antique desk on a long beautifully set veranda - you feel like you’ve gone back in time.

All the rooms are magnificently restored. 20 foot ceilings, massive bathrooms, plush sleeping arrangements. The grounds are huge and stretch out for acres. The hacienda originally was a working sisal plant and the infrastructure of the factory is still evident through a rail system that runs through the property including remnants of old trolly cars and machinery. In other words you can explore the grounds forever - a photographer’s dream. In fact, as a picture is worth 1,000 word to understand the true beauty of the property check out the traveller’s photos for the hotel.

The hotel also has a sustainable vision for the locals - almost all the hotel’s employees are from Temazon.

A once in a lifetime experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spectacular and provide an authentic and luxurious hacienda experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: KM 182 Carretera Merida-Uxmal | Temozon Sur, Temozon 97825, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Temozon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Temozon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Temozon is one of the most valuable residencies built in the 17th century, located in the Yucatan Peninsula. Just a 35 minute drive from Merida’s International Airport, this place is surrounded by a landscape where henequen was formerly cultivated and sisal was widely produced. Among the natural attractions that surround the place are the Lol-tun cenotes and caves, and the Uxmal Mayan Ruins. Its high-elevated ceilings and the exquisite ambiance of its 28 guest rooms and suites evoke the splendor of the colonial times when these premises were built. The 37 hectares covered by the site, a large pool, the cenotes, wonderful paths, and a spa offering treatments inherited from the Mayan culture merge so that guests take a deep plunge into relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Media 8, Inc., Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Temozon Merida
Hacienda Temozon Hotel Merida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.