We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Place to stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Tavola Rotonda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Tavola Rotonda to your Saves list
La Tavola Rotonda
Via Piacenza 35, 29016 Chiavenna Landi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chiavenna Landi
uk
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Charming Place to stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stopped off here with our dogs on a return trip to UK, from the road it does not look much but once in the grounds this is a well restored medieval manor house. The bedroom was spacious and airy, and the bed comfortable, but the air conditioning unit had seen better days - it took three telephone calls to get the guy at reception to fix it, but he did in the end (bless him - I think he was scared of using step ladders) and thereafter it stayed cool throughout the night. WLAN was a complete mystery to get to work, not much help from reception. There is quite large back garden to walk the dogs around. We had the court yard to ourselves and had a good meal (Pizza, salad, fries and beer - the simple things in life are the best) The service was a but touch and go but was part of the flavor of the place.

Room Tip: If you have a room overlooking the court yard it could get noisy in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    66
    31
    11
    13
See reviews for
13
132
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Katowice
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had large apartment there (over 100 sq. m) - very nice two bedrooms with kitchen an dining facilities. Apartment was moderately clean, but at ehole make a perfect impression (beautiful wooden ceilings). Good breakfast. One thing you must do is eat pizza in local pizsery below and taste their red table wine!!! Amazing. Service could be better (italy, italy...)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Very nice hotel with a great big room. They could provide a babycot for us but charged us 15 euros extra for that (which is the policy of the website we booked through). The restaurant was nice, especially the pizza. Staff was quite helpful and friendly (except for one waitress in the evening, but the pizzaiolo was really nice). Breakfast was Italian style (sweets, chocolate croissants, etc.) but nice ans sufficient. The wireless Internet was working only in the lobby near the reception.
There is a nice park but many flies do not make it pleasant to stay outside for a long time.
The night was particularly quiet. The room's windows were on the "cortile" and not on the road... so the only possible noise could have come from there but it was really quiet.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross Scotland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Driving back to the uk from Rome we stayed at the Rotonda for one night. I had picked this hotel as the thought of staying in a beautiful former medieaval castle appealed to my partner and myself. Initially we were not disappointed, the room was very spacious with a large bathroom and the building was indeed beautiful but the service was non existent. The receptionist wasnot very welcoming nor very forthcoming with information. Perhaps Monday is a quiet day for restaurants but we chose to eat in the the hotel pizzaria and were only one other couple were there as well. Despite this, the service was very slow and we both felt disappointed. Would we stay here again? Definitely not.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

found this on expedia, husband was sceptical, had to eat his words!

A superb hotel and meal for the price and helpful staff, would recomend to friends and definately go again on our drive down to tuscany

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

We stopped at La Tavola Rotonda for one night on our way between our homes in Devon and Umbria. Convenient for A1; beautiful building; good value at the discounted rate we had - 50%; exceptional restaurant with the option of some interesting medieval recipes.

Large, airy room with all modern comforts in an atmospheric setting.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Tavola Rotonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tavola Rotonda

Address: Via Piacenza 35, 29016 Chiavenna Landi, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Piacenza > Chiavenna Landi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chiavenna Landi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Tavola Rotonda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tavola Rotonda Italy/Chiavenna Landi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tavola Rotonda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.