We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great few days with Vung & CO” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Bamboo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Green Bamboo Lodge to your Saves list
Green Bamboo Lodge
Hemlet 4, Nam Cat Tien ward, Tan Phu district, Cat Tien National Park, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great few days with Vung & CO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time. It is perfectly located to the park for some trekking in the park, relaxing by the river & the food is good. The Staff were genuinely welcoming and helpful. A great spot for anyone keen to enjoy the nature of the area and have some nice hosts. We heard from others that it compared favourably too others in the area too. Obviously suited to people who enjoy being close to nature rather than pampered.

One thing is to be careful with the transfer...the one we took in a minibus from Ho Chi Minh and it was a 5hr display of crazy driving that had us on the edge of our seats followed by another taxi and finally scooter (felt like a long day). If you are of a more nervous disposition or are travelling with kids, I would advise to pay out for the private taxi/find fellow travellers to split the fare with as we did on our way out :).

Enjoy...

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
35
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Family run place in front of the entrance of the nationalpark. The place is lovely and is next to the riverside, rooms are clean and food is delicious. The owner and his family is more than friendly and gives good advices for the park. He is a former tour guide and can tell you a lot. In front of the lodge stops the bus to saigon. It's 5 min to walk to the park ferry.
There are 4 hotels in this area and the Green bamboo lodge is the cheapest. they also have a longhouse with a dorm. overall the 3 days here were really a highlight and I highy recommend a visit!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Although more expensive than our usual budget Green Bamboo Lodge was the cheapest accommodation at Cat Thien national park. And after a warm welcome and constant care throughout our stay the price we payed was definitely worth it. We were surprised with ice creams one day, free chocolate bananas after one meal and fresh fruit after another. On arrival the rack on our motorbike was broken, they immediately removed it, took it away to weld it and put it back on within the first hour of our stay...completely free of charge.
The bamboo lodges are a great size and very cool...The entire thing is made out of bamboo, including the table, chairs and the bed. They are equipped with fans and Mosquito nets. This is a reasonably sustainable business, with water tanks and minimal electricity being used.
Being located just outside the national park it is very easy to jump in a boat and cross the river. It's $1for a return journey (this price is your entrance fee into the park). A great place to relax, be amongst nature and meet other guests. This is one of our highlights of Vietnam.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Though the hut is great -- big, clean and breezy, with a veranda overlooking the river -- the real draw here is Vung. A former park guide, Vung has great insight into the best and worst of Cat Tien. He's honest about what's worth seeing and what's not, and he's out to save you money (he'll tell you which treks actually require a hired guide and which don't). He's also honest about the real impact the park has had on the local population -- impact that doesn't measure up to the claims made by many eco-tourism operators.
Vung hires from the neighboring village. It's clear that his business is driven by a vision to empower the people who live around the park.
Green Bamboo is a family-run business. We had a great time hanging out with Vung's wife and 5-month old son.
The lodge is also right next to the lot where the local buses drop off, which makes it very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The lodge is a new venture for Vung and his family, its about months old and there is still some building going on but its not intrusive at all. The hut you stay in is basic but its was clean and the bed was comfortable. The shower had hot water and the toilet was clean.
When we arrived Vung took us through the list of trips available, he and Tim (our guide) have both worked as guides in the park so they know the area very well.
We had booked the gibbon trek before we arrived but we also booked a short trek through the jungle, a visit to the sanctuary and a visit to a local village. Tim accompanied us, his English is good and he is keen to explain the eco story and the work and history of the area. We saw a scorpion on a tree amongst other small animals!
If you are a bit scared of bugs be aware! To go into the jungle you have to wear leech socks and when you come out of the jungle they are on your trouser legs and socks, Tim kindly helped to remove them all quickly so its not that bad!
I enjoyed the village visit the best, all the kids learn English in school and are keen to say hello as you walk through.
In the evening we just hung out in the lodge playing a card game with a couple of beers, its fairly quiet chill out time with an early night but early mornings too.
Vung arranged our trip to and from here to the next destination, I would suggest you pay a bit more for a larger vehicle as some of the roads are a bit dodgy.
We really enjoyed our stay with Vung and his family and Tim our guide, you will enjoy your trip here. Also the wifi connection is great, better than one of the 4 star hotels we stayed in!!

Room Tip: there is a brick unit but we stayed in a hut by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The owner, Mr. Vung, has a story to tell how he got as far as he did now. They only openend something like six months ago. Therfore the family is still working on the place, but so far I think it is very good and only gets better. The family is really nice and very very helpful.
If you want to get here from saigon take a bus to Dalat and stop in a place called Tan Phu. Takes about three hours. Then get a taxi to Cat Tien national park and ask to drop you off at the Green Bamboo Lodge. A driver tried to do us off at another place, probably because he will get a commission.
Do go for the crocodile tour. It is cheaper when you are with more than one person but still worth it. Vung can help you with booking.
So don't miss out on this place as the area is beautiful!

Happy travel ^_^

Vince

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The lodge is literally opposite the park HQ and accommodation but across the river. You just need to jump in the little boat to get across. It’s a really good option if you want more choice.

The actual accommodation was lovely, very sweet little bamboo huts, basic but all you need. The bed was comfy and the shower warm. They are building some extra rooms too, this will be suitable for families or groups.
The food was great, they grow their own coffee and that was delicious!

Mr Vung organised our trip after I contacted him off another reviews recommendation. We had a private taxi pick us up from our hotel in HCMC, stayed one night with a walking tour to the rapids on the first afternoon (this is where bamboo floor lodge is located, just up river). We were lucky enough to see a family of gibbons as well as lots of birds, lizards and creepy crawlies! That evening we were supposed to go on night safari but it was cancelled due to the biggest storm ive ever seen!

In the morning we did a second walk to crocodile lake, paid extra to go out on the lake with the rangers – we didn’t actually see and crocodiles though – then we headed back for lunch and then on to the city via taxi to the local bus. Mr Vung had planned it all very well, the taxi driver even waited with us for the correct bus (it wasn’t that obvious which was the right one, where the stop was, or what times they were coming)

Our guide Tim was great, very helpful with the leeches and very knowledgeable about the Jungle.

Overall it was a great experience, one that we are really happy we had. It wasn’t cheap, all the individual elements were reasonable but added up for effectively 24 hours in the jungle it was a treat. If you can stay longer you can get much more out of the effort of detouring from the usual tourist hotspots. Do take enough cash to pay as there is a limit to the account to can pay on card in one transaction (about £60). You can therefore be charged multiple times from your bank to pay the bill which is really annoying.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Bamboo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Bamboo Lodge

Address: Hemlet 4, Nam Cat Tien ward, Tan Phu district, Cat Tien National Park, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Cat Tien National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cat Tien National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned, modern resort with free-standing bungalows; each room with private bathroom, fridge, fan or AC, twin or double beds with mosquito nets, situated on a spacious area on the riverbank equipped with seating accommodations and hammocks whence you can enjoy the picturesque view over the river and surrounding woods; spacious open-air dining area under bamboo roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Green Bamboo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Bamboo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.