We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oct 12” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kayla'a Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kayla'a Beach Resort to your Saves list
Kayla'a Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Balbalan | Dimiao, 6305, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 147 Bohol Province B&B and Inns
Kamloops, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“oct 12”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

wow were to start this resort is a gem if you want a quiet place to spend some time its a little out of the way if you want to party but for us it was perfect the staff were just wonderful the service perfect its about 45 mins from tagbilaran they will pick you up and drive you there transportation if you want to explore is a bit of an issue if there is no vehicle avalible at the resort but they worked around it for us and we rented a jeepney for a day to go to the mountains but other than that the food was excellent and the owner lives on site and goes out of his way to assist you in any of your needs we will be back thats for sure

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    9
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
21
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed 7 days at this resort, The owner and staff were very friendly. The room was clean and spacious. The resort was also very clean and the staff very helpful. As I own a small company in Australia I take my iPad with me, to oversea my business but the resort has no wifi. I had to travel 5 kilometers to get wifi. The hotel has a policy that allows anyone to eat and drink there. So as a paying guest I felt a little put out by this policy as it attracts undesirables. We ordered room service at 905pm and was told there was no cook, so you need to eat at normal times but I would like to return one day as it was peaceful in our room. It is the local Mayor that hasn't allowed mobile/internet companies in her area not the resort but I have been told her term is up next year. The owner Jon allows you to use his laptop or stick to use free of charge but for some reason I couldn't log on to my email accounts. I hope this helps potential guests.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre or spas. The rooms are spacious, clean and tidy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadesboro, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

the prices are a little high, but for the time we spent there everything was very peaceful. however checking out cost over 3100 peso's and I found that exceptionally ridiculous. the staff could not explain in understandable english why we were charged that so next trip will be spent somewhere else

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I found this resort on Agoda, and I read all the reviews on it on here before I even decided to pick it. Me and my fiance are so glad we went here instead of anywhere else on Bohol or Panglao.

First off it is a bit away from the city yes, but that is a plus. Because it is nice, quiet, and peaceful. The staff are great. You can tell John has taken the time to work with his staff and show them the ropes. I even complimented him on this when I was there, that they are really good, and seem to be apart of your family as well. The staff are never pushy or overbearing, but always there in case you need anything at all.

Secondly: We took the Bohol Countryside tour for p3000, which at first I thought it was to expensive for the Philippines. But we went on it anyway, and are glad we did. The driver took us all around the island to the highlights of Bohol, while talking about the history and circumstances of it. We never felt pressured or pushed into hurrying up or anything at all. He was always close by whenever we got done so we didn't have to go looking for him.

Third: There were other guests there at the resort when we stayed. But we never felt crowded or ignored. The food is really good and authentic as possible. The rooms are good, and have actual satellite tv.

Finally, We would have stayed here alot longer if our schedule permitted it, which it didn't at the time. But hats off to you John for creating a small quaint resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We returned here for a 10 night stay after being bowled over with the place the year before. We love it. If you want somewhere that's near to a busy beach and 2 minutes from the town centre, publice transport available every 2 minutes and the fastest broadband in the Philippines, don't go here. If you're looking to relax, unwind, enjoy good food and excellent service this is the place for you. Go. Enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Brabant, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

First time in Philippines. What a surprise when we arrives to kayla'a beach resort. Very very nice resort. The view from the bungalow perfect. The food so good. And the owner Jon and his wife so kind with us. The staff was fantastic too, so nice, so friendly. the resort is so relax. All you need, you will find in kayla'a beach resort.Thank you Jon, Victoria, Rose and all the crew. My regret ; we stay only 4 days and it's not enough to do all you have to see and visite in bohol. stephanie from Belgium

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Kayla'a beach Resort is a small quiet establishment with comfortable concrete bungalows with thatched roofs.
There is a relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff.
Food is good. I especially liked the blackened tanigue.
The Dimiao markets are every Thursday and are well worth a visit. Specially recommended for banana addicts We walked down in the morning and took the high speed bus back. Do have the right change ready as they stop for no man (or woman).
From Tagbilaran it's best to take a van as it's around 35km. We haggled down to P700 and gave a P100 tip. Don't even think about a tricycle.

Room Tip: We stayed on two occasions in the bungalows and both rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kayla'a Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayla'a Beach Resort

Address: Balbalan | Dimiao, 6305, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Bohol Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kayla'a Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kayla’a Beach Resort. Kayla’a (pronounced Kay-la-ah) Beach Resort is nestled in the heart of Dimiao, Bohol. American managed to international standards it is the first and only resort in this town.It boasts of its peaceful, serene and relaxing atmosphere where you can spend your precious time. Designed so all areas of the Resort overlook the spectacular views there is no better place on Bohol to relax and let time pass you by. Food.We buy our food fresh everyday and prepare each dish with the highest quality produce available. Our menu ranges from local to international cuisine with many people voting our burgers the best in the Philippines. Our restaurant is open to both guests and members of the public so even if you are not staying with us, please stop by, say hello and enjoy a great meal with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kayla'a Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kayla`a Beach Hotel Bohol Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kayla'a Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.