We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giants' Table and Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Giants' Table and Cottages to your Saves list
Giants' Table and Cottages
Junee Road, Maydena, Tasmania, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
SG
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We stayed a night at Giant's Table and were warmly welcomed. The cottage was lovely, with heaters in every room and plentiful supplies in the refrigerator. It was a treat to have your own platypus pond right in your backyard, although we weren't fortunate enough to see any. Would certainly recommend this if you were passing through Maydena on the way out west to Strahan.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Arriving on Good Friday we were not surprised to find nowhere open for dinner. We came prepared though with some soup, cereal etc. This was the first night of our honeymoon, the lady at reception provided us with champagne and asked if we were ok for dinner. We told her the limited supplies we had brought and we were offered home cooked lasagne (and vegetarian too!) to heat up in our room's microwave all complimentary. The cabin was very warm, very clean, there were books, a proper sized milk (not those silly little teaspoon single serves that you need three in one coffee), a range of cereals and basic cooking supplies.
We will definately return, next time for more than one night.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

We booked in for two nights but ended up staying for three. The owners were very welcoming and gave us a tour of the ponds on arrival. They also provided written information about the area of places to see and where to go, which we found very helpful. We stayed in a two bedroom cottage which was very comfortable. It had everything we could have possibly needed and were very warm and cosy. Breakfast was included in the tariff and was provided fresh daily.
On our first night we dined in the onsite restaurant and were very pleased with the quality and the price of the meal. Other evening meals were cooked in the cottage's well equipped kitchen.
Overall the stay was very enjoyable and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We needed a dog friendly place to stay for one night and found Giants Table on an internet site. We were warmly welcomed by our host and given the largest cottage just for the three of us. It was superbly furnished throughout and the kitchen had everything you could need to cater for yourself. It was serenely peaceful, warm, cosy and delightful. We could only stay one night on this visit, but have booked again to stay for longer later this year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

We loved our stay in Gidleigh Cottage. Heaps of space and recommend the large back balcony overlooking the platypus ponds. Seeing a number of platypus early in the morning was the icing on the cake! Although the rennovated kitchen had everything you would need to self cater, we ate at the restaurant, having the $40/2 course menu with internal choices! The food was lovely and plentiful - far exceeding our expectations. Wine prices were reasonable too. The atmosphere is so relaxed and peaceful. Try to drive down the road to the Junee Caves while you are staying. We also enjoyed the Styx forest - and of course Mt Field National Park. Giants Table & Cottages captured the magic of this part of Tasmania for us! Friendly greeting and tour on arrival helped set the scene for a lovely stay - wish it had been for longer! Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

We stayed in a spa cabin for $160pn. The cabins are arranged in a semi-circle backing onto a beautiful set of ponds which are full of platypuses (we saw at least 4 in there). Our cabin was clean and well-equipped with a fridge, microwave, minioven, grill, hot plates and lots of crockery. The cabin is large and a slightly unusual configuration, but comfortable. The hosts provided us with a lot of information about the area including a map for the Styx Forest Tall Trees walks (worth doing). Anne was very friendly and showed us where the platypus was. The rate includes breakfast provisions - these were adequate being bread, jam, butter, cereal and milk, but no juice - if you want a hearty breakfast bring your own eggs and bacon (we fortunately did - stop at New Norfolk if coming from Hobart). We had active days on walks and doing the Maydena Adventure Hub activities (rail rider track and eagle's eyrie are a MUST), so relaxed back in the cabin in the evenings - there is a TV with 3 stations and DVD player. Take your own DVDs as the selection to rent was not huge and expensive. The TV is a little small and the DVD player was squeeky (but stopped making a noise when put on its side!). Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would return for the lovely location and the warm welcome. The cabin's price is on the higher side for this area and in order to make it perfect, a better TV and slightly more elaborate breakfast would have been nice...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiantPlatypus, Owner at Giants' Table and Cottages, responded to this review, May 19, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is always nice to have honest feedback. One tip though, next time you stay somewhere and something doesn't work properly or is not to your satisfaction, it might be best to tell the owners at the time, so that they have the opportunity to put things right straight away. That way your experience can be perfect!
Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed here in Feb 2010. Our self contained cottage was clean, comfortable and functional even if the furniture was aging. The owners are lovely people and the cottage has lots of little things that are very British. When I say homely, it was surprising to find books, kids toys in the lounge room, a variety of sauces in the kitchen, even plastic wrap and aluminum foil. The property has platypus in the ponds, we saw them.

A point for improvement though would be the addition of a guest BBQ

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiantPlatypus, Owner at Giants' Table and Cottages, responded to this review, May 19, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your honesty and are glad you found your stay a happy experience.
We would just like to respond regarding the lack of a BBQ, this is because we have an absolutely excellent on-site restaurant with a great chef, 10 seconds from your front door, as well as kitchens in every cottage. We hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Giants' Table and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giants' Table and Cottages

Address: Junee Road, Maydena, Tasmania, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Maydena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Maydena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 7 self-contained houses available, a 1 bedroom spa cottage, a 2 bedroom spa cottage, two x two bedroom houses, three x four bedroom houses and a five bedroom house. We are situated 10 minutes from Mount Field National Park and on the edge of the South West Wilderness World Heritage Area. The Styx Valley with its Giant Trees is nearby and we are en-route to Lake Pedder and the Gordon Dam. We are surrounded by wildlife and have platypus in our lake and wetlands. We have an on-site restaurant, open in summer for dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Giants' Table and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giants' Table And Cottages Maydena, Tasmania, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giants' Table and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.