We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Salentein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Posada Salentein to your Saves list
Posada Salentein
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Route89 S/N, Km 14, Tunuyan 5500, Argentina   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tunuyan
Woodstock, Connecticut
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week in a delightful suite, toured a dozen wineries, used the pool, enjoyed the patio dining.
Our experience was wonderful.
From the outset at check in everything went smoothly.
It was peaceful, no auto or aircraft sounds, no housekeeping staff banging on the door.
A leisurely stay that I have repeated.
Highly recommend Posada Salentein.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    35
    15
    10
    5
See reviews for
9
84
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alesund, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Unlike many of the other reviews this will be positive one. Simply because our experiences at Posada Salentein were entirely positive. Management was friendly and helpful, the food and wine were excellent and the rooms/houses on this beautiful property were clean and tidy. We were brought to the winery and guided in the best way possible. We were 16 people travelling together (wineclub) and left Posada Salentein with very positive impressions.

Room Tip: We were 8 couples travelling together, and we were all well satisfied with our rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

It is a shame so much expense and effort has been invested in creating this beautiful Pousada only for the experience to be ruined by either non existent or poor management. Customer service is not really a concept that has reached here yet and the few surly guys that wander the place make guests feel a bit of a nuisance. The food at dinner was very nice, but was served up quickly, no real choice and with a distinct feel of having been prepared early and then reheated as guests appeared. The dining area lacks atmosphere, albeit the wines with the meal were good and helped a little! Empty glasses we left outside at dinner were still there at breakfast and a meeting room where there had been a previous function was littered with half empty bottles and dirty glasses and still in the same condition when we left 2 days later. Try somewhere else, wish we had!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

One of the highlights of our trip to Argentina was Mendoza. After a week of hiking and camping through the Patagonias I was so excited for some romance and a relaxing few days with my boyfriend to spend New Years. I was so happy we decided to skip on spending an eve in Mendoza city and went straight to the Uco Valley. When we arrived to Posada Salentein it was about 10pm, well after dinner was served on December 29, 2011. We were escorted first to our rooms to freshen up and then to their dining room where they made sure to save us a 3 course meal with all the wine pairings. The pace at Salentein is exactly the pace of the culture down in Mendoza, it was totally efficient and totally chill. The staff were always so sweet and always helpful and I also felt that when you wanted your alone time you had it. There was a few times when maybe someone was not at the front desk but I would leave a note or message on the telephone and someone would come by and accommodate our requests, anything from laundry to getting some cold beers over to the pool. The room was perfect, huge king bed, wonderful A/C, a great bathroom with shower, it was private, quiet and peaceful. The property is stunning, a ton of land filled with poplar trees and gorgeous vineyards. We went horseback riding on their horses and took a tour of the property and farm, had amazing cherries and picked nuts from the trees. The food was wonderful, especially the breakfasts. The wine was fabulous! I also thought for the price of the room, which was all inclusive of breakfast and dinner with wine pairings was super fair. On New Years Day they arranged a beautiful lunch for all the guests without any extra charge, some of the best bife de lomo I had on the whole trip. The dinners were delicious and it was so nice after traveling for so long to not have to make a decision on what to order as they prepare a 3 course meal that is served and always delicious. They also served us fish one night which was so nice, especially after all the meat we had been eating. This was the most romantic trip I had ever been on, so much so on New Years Day after dinner, my boyfriend and I went for a walk under the moonlight and poplar trees where he proposed to me!! I would recommend this place 100% and hope one day I will have an opportunity to go back and visit. Mendoza was perfection and Argentina is such an amazing country!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

It was a great deception for the two of us. Reservations were made a month in advance. After a long flight and 3 hours by car, we got there at night just to figure it out that they had cancelled our reservation, without telling us!!!! No respect to the costumers. We had to search for a place to stay, hungry and tired, late at night. I do not recommend to anyone to take the chance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I still gave this place a 'very good' because unfortunately Tripadvisor still offers no step between 'average' and 'very good'.

We really liked the place, as it is beautifully located, pretty and real (it is still some kind of a working farm and NOT a luxury hang-out -if that's what you're looking for, you should rather stay at e.g. the Cavas wine lodge!).

The rooms are nice, big and clean.
You get a welcome wine and you can go horse-riding whenever you want ( the horses are very well trained and kept and the guy leading the stables and hacks ('Pierre'?) is very nice, knowledgeable and charming ( even though not speaking English).
We really enjoyed our daily horse rides in beautiful nature and with stunning views.

We visited the winery and the art gallery, which was nice, and also had lunch at the Killka Restaurant one day (the bill can be added to your room bill, so that's handy).

Breakfasts are good with fresh juices, fruit, scrambled eggs (unfortunately with bacon already added), pastries, etc.
Our three dinners were good, with some courses of very good quality, and they accommodated me being Vegetarian very nicely.
Do ask for the olive oil with your bread - it's amazing!

However, as previous reviews highlighted, the management does indeed need to improve!

The terrace should definitely be made a bit more inviting/cosier with e.g. a few couches, and get a more 'loungy'-character for people who want to hang out in the sun during the day or before dinners.

The pool (cold but fresh water from the mountains) should be cleaned regularly and there should be towels and/or covers for the metal lounges

We also felt there should always be one person to walk around, at least every now and then, in case guests would like to order a drink, etc. Instead you always have to search for somebody yourself and enter the kitchen to ask for wine even before dinner...

Other than that, staff (even though only speaking Spanish) is very friendly. You could say that they were responsive, but there was nothing proactive ( which should probably be induced by the management).

We really liked the Reserva wines -especially the Malbec and Chardonnay, but were less impressed by the 'regular' line.
When we had lunch at Killka, we wanted to try the Primus Wine, but it was not available. When we mentioned that at the Posada, we were given a bottle of Primus for dinner for free and thought that was an extremely nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

A beautiful setting and a great concept. The staff at the Posada were all very pleasant and helpful however things did not quite happen as expected. We did not get the winery visit or the opportunity to have dinner at the Killka restaurant or to visit the art gallery or chapel. The main reason for this was that we were told that a function was taking place at the winery so it was all closed to us. This was a great disappointment. We therefore had lunch and dinner at the Posada and although the standard of the food and wine was excellent we did not get the opportunity for the formal Salentein visit with tasting which our package should have included. We did, however, get an informal visit to the winery thanks to the Posada staff who were individually very helpful. A knowledge of Spanish is useful as with the exception of the manager none of the staff speak English. There was another problem at the Posada in that the bed covers and the bed cushion covers were stained and dirty although the bed linen itself was clean. This was mentioned on another review on Trip Adviser which I can confirm is correct. The overall level of customer service is poor as the staff are not properly managed. There is much on offer at the Posada although it seems up to the guest to work out how to get the best out of it as the staff are not proactive in explaining things. The problem at the Posada is that it is understaffed and neglected by the Salentein organisation. If they are going to sell it as a luxury experience then they should ensure that it is so.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Salentein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Salentein

Address: Route89 S/N, Km 14, Tunuyan 5500, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Tunuyan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tunuyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada Salentein 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and exclusive Posada, surrounded by the vineyards of Bodegas Salentein, nestled the Uco Valley at the foot of the Andes Mountain Range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Posada Salentein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Salentein Hotel Mendoza
Posada Salentein Province Of Mendoza, Argentina - Tunuyan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Salentein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.