We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming! can't wait to return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Capellania

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel La Capellania to your Saves list
Hotel La Capellania
La Cruz 14 | La Rioja, 26340 San Asensio, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Asensio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Huntington, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“charming! can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Having been fans of Rioja wines for years, on short notice we took at 3-day trip. we received instant replies to our enquiries, spent 2 restful nights at La Capellania, and the ladies couldn't have been more helpful and charming, having arranged appointments at various wineries, all of which welcomed us heartily, and provided wonderful tours and tastings. they've done a wonderful job in the renovation, maintaining the old world charm of the building while fully modernizing, and prepared a wonderful breakfast for us each morning. The village of San Asensio doesn't offer much, however it's a perfectly central location in the valley for visiting all of the surrounding villages, wineries, and monasteries. A delight! Muchisimas Gracias, y hasta la proxima! Saludos de Nueva York, Lesley,Larry&Chris

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capellania H, Propietario at Hotel La Capellania, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Good morning from La Rioja!
Thanks you all for this nice comment about the hotel and the región. We are very happy to know that you really enjoy your stay with us. Francly speaking it is very easy for us to do our work with people like you. It has been a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to wellcome you again in the future.
Many thanks and happy Christmas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
80
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights during our trip to Rioja's Wine Festival and visiting many wineries (one of my wife's favorite La Rioja Alta ), and enjoying visiting small cities around. I need to thank Mercedes and Carla for every advise for restaurants, places, and cities to visit. They knew exactly what we were looking for, and help us with every detail. This Hotel is beautifull and fully restored house from 1789, with every modern comfort inside. Clean, quiet, relaxing, welcoming. I think is a litlle heaven...and if you looking to visit Rioja, stay at this place, you won't regret...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capellania H, Propietario at Hotel La Capellania, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hello from La Rioja!
We are really happy to know that you enjoy visiting wineries, small towns, tasting food and wines, the landscape, and, as well, the Hotel La Capellania. We do our best to get that our clients enjoy the hotel and as well, the área.
Thanks a lot for encouraging people to visit us. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelnaud-la-Chapelle, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

It would be difficult to find a more charming place to stay in the heart of the Rioja wine country. A wonderful atmosphere in a building dating from the 1700's, beautifully decorated and filled with lovely furniture. Large tasteful rooms, modern bathrooms, exposed stone work and beams throughout.The very welcoming hostess could not have been more helpful including aiding with language, highlighting local sites and even suggesting and booking restaurants! I First class all round and ticks all the boxes!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capellania H, Propietario at Hotel La Capellania, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hello!
Thanks very much for your time, explaining about your stay at our hotel. Ve are very happy to know that our help and our suggestions made your trip in La Rioja succesfull.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here in august 2012 and, although it has been over a year since we stayed here (life gets hectic sometimes), I still feel like I need to write a review. This bed and breakfast was one of the most memorable parts of our trip. The owners are so helpful and kind. The building is beautiful. It was an overall amazing experience to visit such a quaint town and be welcomed by such an amazing host. If you are looking to get off the beaten path and see some non-touristy culture, this is a great place. The wineries are just a bus ride away, and the owners of the hotel were extremely helpful in helping us plan our tours of the wineries. AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING! Highly recommended. I hope we have an opportunity to return here someday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capellania H, Propietario at Hotel La Capellania, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello from La Rioja!
It is really very kind that, even one year later, you write on such nice words. We feel very happy to know that for you, your stay at La Capellania hotel has been unforgetable. We do hope to see you once again in the future. Thanks a lot and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

After spending a night at La Capellania as part of our honeymoon I can only describe the experience as truly amazing. The first thing you'll notice on arrival is the building itself. But it's through the beautiful front door where the experience really starts. Mercedes and Carla will firstly help you remove your jaw from the floor back to its correct position before showing you around the stunningly refurbished house. Each room is finished to the highest standard whilst in keeping with the natural and historical charm of the old building. Mercedes and Carla happily arranged a fantastic trip for us to the Marques de Riscal winery along with lunch and dinner in the quiet little town of San Asensio. This is possibly one of the very best hotel experiences I've ever had, and it's all down to the way it is run. Carla and Mercedes make you feel welcome and are more than helpful without being invasive. This is How a hotel should be run. BRILLIANT.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capellania H, Propietario at Hotel La Capellania, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks a lot for your writing! We are are really happy to know that you have enjoy a lot your stay in La Rioja, and that you feel at home at our hotel. Anyway, clients like you make our job very easy. Thank you very much and we hope to see you again in the future. There is so much to enjoy!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent 3 fantastic nights at La Capellania during the San Mateo festival weekend (Mid Sept). The town is not a touristy place and that added to the experience of visiting this region. Carla and Mercedes could not have helped us more with planning our stay and nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms are immaculate, quiet and peaceful and the breakfast is a delight. We did lots of vineyard tours (one on horseback) and packed a massive amount into 3 nights thanks to our hosts help.
There are other wonderful towns/ villages in the area but I cannot imagine you will find a better hotel to experience this region.

Room Tip: Our room was great but I imagine they all area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capellania H, Propietario at Hotel La Capellania, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hello again from La Rioja, and thanks a lot for your kind words. It has been a pleasure to have you with us at the hotel and it is great to know that our suggestions for the visits and the restaurants help to make your stay a successfull.
Clients like you make our job very easy.
Best regards and thank you again for your kindness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

A charming and exclusive small hotel with 8 rooms for a charming experience at low prices. The hotel is in an ancient house that has been refurbished and decorated with great taste. The staff is professional, really friendly and tries to help before one asks without being invasive.
San Asensio is very well located to tour around the beautiful region of la Rioja
Iñaki G.

Room Tip: Every room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capellania H, Propietario at Hotel La Capellania, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Google Translation
Hola Iñaqui:
Muchas gracias por el comentario. Esto nos ayuda mucho. Fue un placer tenerles en el hotel durante esos días, son todos encantadores. Como le dijimos a Augusto, esperamos volver a coincidir en otra ocasión. Un abrazo para todos.
Clara y Mercedes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Capellania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Capellania

Address: La Cruz 14 | La Rioja, 26340 San Asensio, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > La Rioja > San Asensio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Asensio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 stars charming hotel in the heart of the "Rioja Alta" region. The building is a stone house of the XVIII century which has been completely renovated in 2007. The hotel is specialized in wine activiries. Situated in a closed distance from The Santiago's Way, the Monasteries of San Millan de la Cogolla, the "Rioja Alavesa" region, and near all points of interest in La Rioja. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Capellania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Capellania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.