We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great carvery great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swan Inn at Forton

Swan Inn at Forton
Eccleshall Road | Forton, Newport TF10 8BY, England
01925 812169
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 24 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great carvery great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just returned from Sunday lunch. it was extremely busy so I was pleased that I pre booked a table. The food was great and so was the service. This looks an extremely popular haunt. I have eaten three times now at the Swan and it has never let me down. Keep up the good work. My mother is part of a party of 40 booked tin for Xmas and I know that she will love it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    9
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“don;t go there...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just returned from sunday lunch at the swan at forton.This must go down as one of the worst carvery meals we have ever had.Beef,pork,turkey and ham.The beef was dry looking,so asked if there was any more i was told thats all we have.I opted for the pork with stuffing roast potatoes ,leek and cheese ,carrots cabbage peas and gravy. The others in the party had the same,with one brave enough to tackle the beef.Back at the table pork poorly cooked and of poor quality ,basicly fat and grisle.cabbage uncooked but keept warm by overhead light .Carrots soggy and gravy tasteless. The beef unable to cut it, would make a good sole for one,s shoe.After complaining to a very nice young lady,we decided on 3 crumbles .Well best descibed runny goo ,very poor indeed.If you cannot get a carvery right well you may as well shut the kitchen. They knocked the price of one carvery meal off the bill.This was a insult as our Sunday lunch was ruined as it was a special lunch for friends. I many reviews and articles for the press as this one will go down as one of the worst.My advice get GOOD quality produce and pay for GOOD kitchen staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Are the Managers on holiday?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have eaten here many times and have enjoyed great food and service.
We visited for a Sunday carvery on 9th Septmber and we were really disappointed.
We had to ask for our drinks order three times and finally the waitress arrived with the wrong drinks. They then tried to charge us for 6 drinks when we had only had 2. The food was not up to its usual standard. The meat was fatty and the chocolate fudge cake desert was dry.
Although it was 25 degrees outside, the heating seemed to be on full blast and we had to leave and eat our deserts outside. The desert took 15 minutes to arrive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Where not to go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Although it was on the menu, they did not seem to understand what a Caesar Salad was - wrong ingredients, even varying from those listed on the menu. Service very poor. Coffee spilt in saucer. waitress did not seem to think it needed rectifying.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A late Sunday lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

At around 16:30 only 2 meats were available pork and ham, Yorkshire pudding bit tough and had been under heat lamps for a while, a variety of veg not too bad, Meal ok but nothing special bit over priced at £8.95 for one course. Atmosphere would of been better without a rowdy family of small children. Would not hurry back for Sunday lunch. Have been on a Saturday night a little better meal with more choices..

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swan Inn at Forton also viewed

Newport, Shropshire
Newport, Shropshire
 

Been to Swan Inn at Forton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swan Inn at Forton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.