We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed with Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Swan at Forton

The Swan at Forton
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Swan at Forton to your Saves list
The Swan at Forton
Eccleshall Road, Newport TF10 8BY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Newport B&B and Inns
sheffield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very impressed with Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Had an evening meal here in Oct 2012 as part of a weekend at the Ironbridge Museums. The restaurant is in a tiny village but has a good carpark. On a rainy night it had a very welcoming warm atmosphere with good lighting. Right from entering we were treated extremely well and nothing was too much trouble. The food was very good quality and beautifully cooked. The wine wasnt cheap but it was a proper Rioja. The timing of courses was perfect and service very attentive and prompt. We really enjoyed our evening and would recommend this restaurant, I think the owners are trying very hard to make it a success.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    21
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
17
35
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This must be the worst Hotel and restaurant that we have been to so far !, The rooms looked ok if you just open the door quickly but we found large stains on the carpet ripped wall paper in the toilet, and we had the best room in the place, on top of the stairs we could see a old mattress stuck in the corner, then we booked a table for that evening for six of us and it was like faulty towers , We had very young girls trying to serve us but just kept making so many mistakes it became a joke, only to be taken over by person like my Mum, the wine list was the worst i have ever seen three bottles of red and can you believe it they had only one bottle available to choose from , We asked is this right and a heavily looking lady "Mum" who informed us some ten days ago her wine merchant went into liquidation ! ,emmm “ Does she know about Google” and we have only one red available emmmm , then the best bottle of white was like paint stripper, Now for the food the starters for just ok but i had the pie of the day “Rubbish” it was so salty i can guarantee it was a bought in stock so rich and heavy full of salt it made me feel sick and the beef was so tuff i thanked the heavens for my own teeth, one of my guests had sea bass and that seemed ok, we then had rib eyed steaks cooked to medium/ well , and two of them looked and tasted like a old pair of boots, I would say that the staff in the restaurant and the kitchen were young and lacked training, The whole restaurant just looked like it lacked a good lick of paint and the chairs needed a re-varnish I’ve burnt better , The staff looked like they needed some good one to one training and a smile would not go a miss, when it came to sweet just ok , but when it came to ordering tea beware they only offer one type breakfast tea only !!!. Now breakfast which again was a joke one jam and one marmalade and then we chose the full breakfast OMG the bacon on one plate was ok and the second plate was like a burnt leather, the toast was just throw on a plate un cut lacking any care or thought about presentation, and the sausage was the cheapest money could buy my guess it was throw in to a deep fryer, I have read some of the previous comments was i in the wrong place !!!!!!! My advice stay at home or take a tent and sleep in a field .

Room Tip: Just ask for the best room throw a dice say a little prayer, cross your fingers and hope for the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had my birthday carvery dinner here on Trafalgar day! with family.Great service especially waitress Hannah and a measure of its value and popularity was the packed car park.Carvery disappointing as although veg brill I was asked what meat I wanted and told 'We don't do lamb.No lamb so I opted for beef which was very tough and I left it.However the large banner outside declares 'THE BEST CARVERY IN SHROPSHIRE'.As the pub is in Staffordshire how can it be the best in Shropshire?The border is very close but its definitely in Staffordshire.Anyway,the biggest disappointment was no lamb and a poor cut of beef.Will probably try again as we were probably unlucky with the beef but yorkshire puds very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We have called in a few time at lunch and a good meal but called in for meal tonight and there was no meat that was not overlooked. My meat balls on my spaghetti where rock hard the duck dry and the chicken in the curry was in vile. And even when they agreed to it nothin was taken of the expense bill

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have visited the Swan many times for lunch, usually having the carvery and once again Barbara (the chef) excelled, everything was cooked to our liking.Good food, excellent service from all the staff. However, we have noticed that the wooden dining tables have become rather sticky which is not very pleasant.We suggest a good clean with a scrubbing brush !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a nice pub with pleasant rooms. The food was OK but not fantastic. We had fish and chips, and the carvery and we enjoyed our food, but it could have been better; the batter could have been a bit crisper for example. There was no salad choice on the menu. One good thing is that they will prepare gluten free gravy to go with the carvery to order.

Service was good, and the prices are reasonable, but I think we will try somewhere else next time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is a pub we used to visit quite regularly a few years ago but hadn't been to for a while.
We fancied a carvery for sunday lunch and after looking at local places to eat decided to return here to see if the quality of the food was as good as we remembered.
Well what can i say, this was probably one of the best carvery's i have ever had.

There was a choice of 4 meats: Beef, pork, turkey and gammon, boiled & roast potatoes and a choice of at least 5 vegetables, an absolutly delicious gravy and all the various accompanyments to compliment whichever meat one wants.

The service was very good, i did have to wait rather a long time for my second drink but the pub was extremely busy with quite a few large tables.

Our waitress was very pleasant and bought my drink with an apology which i accepted without any fuss.

I have to say this pub has a very welcoming feel and the food is exceptional, in fact after seeing their christmas menu we are seriously considering it for this year.I would highly recommend the Swan at forton to anybody

Room Tip: Try the carvery you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Swan at Forton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Forton

Address: Eccleshall Road, Newport TF10 8BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Swan at Forton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan At Forton Newport, Shropshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan at Forton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.