We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room in lovely pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbot Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eynsham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Talbot Inn
Save
You added The Talbot Inn to your Saves list
Oxford Road, Eynsham OX29 4BT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Eynsham B&B and Inns
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent room in lovely pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days recently. Room, in the annexe, was super, nicely laid out, very clean and comfortable. A little traffic noise but nothing too bad. Staff very good and helpful. Only downside was the evening meals - very basic pub grub, enormous portions. Would have preferred half the amount of better presented food. Overall good.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    36
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
43
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely 2 night break at the Talbot Inn. The local village is a short walk away with some traditional English pubs which are worth a visit.

There is a bus stop just outside the Talbot which runs directly into Oxford and is really convenient. There is also a late night bus service from Oxford so on the Saturday night you can get a late bus back to outside the pub, saving on expensive taxi fayre!

Room really nice, really large and comfy beds..

We ate an evening meal at the Talbot and it was lovely, great value for money, very friendly staff.

Breakfast was lovely, only criticism is the coffee was a little weak for my tastes!

In summary a great place to stay to enjoy Oxford and the surrounding area at a great price.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed the night whilst visiting family. My Mum recommended it as she lives near in Farmoor. Excellent food, really comfortable bed, the room had all the facilities required, spacious too. Breakfast was cooked to order and filling, set us up for a day shopping in Oxford. Really recommend this Inn, close to Oxford, but not too close and a regular bus service late into the night for those seeking the night life.
Excellent Beer too!
Parking a bit tight but available. It is on a main road near a toll bridge so egress in the morning can be slow during rush hour

Room Tip: Double room was great and spacious enough with all you need facility wise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Didn't stay here, five of us just dropped in for a couple of pints and dinner. The staff were friendly, the beer was good and the food even better. They had a game casserole on special, which was excellent, and my daughter had a steak which again was top notch. She is a student at Oxford and said that she had been out to places there that charged three times the price for something half as good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed at the Talbot a couple of times whilst away on business and its a good place to stay. Getting there in the rush hour from Oxford is a bit of a challenge - not helped by the 5p toll bridge just up the road, but obviously not the Talbot's fault. The pub is on the main road, but the traffic didn't cause me a problem on either stay and parking was fine.

The added advantage of the Talbot is several good real ales and decent food, and at decent prices too.

The room(s) that I have stayed in are good and comfortable, with tea making facilities and wireless internet so all good. The only fault/issue I have is that breakfast is not served until 7:30am, and indeed its not really possible to check out before then either. Working in the city and the travel challenges that provides, I really need to head off at 7:30 to get into work on time. So if breakfast was served from 7am like most other establishments then this would be 5 star from me.

I will definitely stay there again as its one of my top choices in the area and the prices are keen too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The first impression was that there wasn't much parking, but having found the overflow car park we were happy to leave the car there for the weekend. There are frequent buses into and back from Oxford so no need to use the car. The room was lovely overlooking the river, but obscured by a marquee, which was a shame. The breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked, with a good variety of cereals, yogurts and fruit, but we had one evening meal in the pub which was rather disappointing. All in all a good stay in a nice location conveniently situated for visiting Oxford.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

What a lovely place. we arrived for an off-the-cuff meal, took a while ordering as everything on the menu sounded delicious!! Waiter was very patient as we dilly-dallied around, finally we whittled it down to moules and garlic mushrooms to start, and four main courses.

The starters we beautiful. I believe the mushrooms are on the lunchtime menu as well, and seem to be a firm favourite with the locals.

For mains we had the Rump steak, cooked to perfection with a beautiful creamy Stilton sauce; Cod and chips, with possibly the best mushy peas ever made; a chicken Caesar salad, which was my attempt at going healthy, but didn't last long as i was soon diving into the chips on my partner's plate opposite me!

The final main course, which deserves it's own paragraph, was the Sweet Potato, Spinach and Chick Pea Curry. the most beautiful dish I have tasted in a long time, the sauce was delicious, the vegetables were beautiful and soft, with a very generous helping of rice on the side. Absolutely gorgeous, Definitely something to write home about!!

I believe the chef here is new, and he/she is doing a very, VERY good job. The portions are big, the food delicious, and a lot of choice - even the salads on the side of our dishes were dressed, which says something in itself!

I am looking forward to coming down from Wales again and spending a weekend in one of the rooms available, it is a lovely location, on a direct bus route to town, and surrounded by numerous walks by the river. the perfect setting to take some time out and chill, something none of us do enough!!

complements to the chef, and big congrats to Trevor. this Inn is going places. watch this space!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Talbot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Inn

Address: Oxford Road, Eynsham OX29 4BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Eynsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Eynsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Talbot Hotel Eynsham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talbot Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.