We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What isnt there to like.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peacock

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Peacock to your Saves list
The Peacock
Henton OX39 4AH , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Henton
Carrick on Shannon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What isnt there to like.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have been going to the Peacock for quite a few years but never stayed overnight. I am pleased to say that we were not disappointed. We had a warm welcome from Martin who immediately upgraded us! What a great start !
Our room overlooked fields to the rear and was quiet, clean, comfortable, and more than adequate for our needs. The two single beds had been pushed together and were so so comfortable, we had the best nights sleep, especially after a long soak in the deep bath.... just what the doctor ordered!!
I would definately recommend The Peacock, its a perfect base for a weekend exploring all that the Chilterns has to offer. A traditional English Inn full of olde worlde charm, complete with log fire, traditional English ale and great food....what isnt there to like?

Room Tip: If there is no king size bed option and you like a bed bigger than a double, ask for a twin with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    34
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
34
54
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chinnor, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I organised a reunion for 100+ people that I worked with a number of years ago. We had people from all over the country arrive and Martin and his staff could not have done more to make this a fantastic night. We had a great hot buffet that everyone enjoyed. We managed to fill all the rooms in this beautiful Inn. We are looking forward to our next event here next year. Highly recommended for your event.

Room Tip: Room 12!! Lovely room with a four poster bed.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

A reunion of a delightful group of people who worked, or used to work in the 'Licensed Trade' met for a very congenial evening at this lovely quaint hotel. A local resident arranged the event, and the venue for 100+ could not have been better. Staff here are friendly and very helpful, costs were very good for what was on offer, and the buffet arranged for the evening meal was really excellent, much more than was expected. Accommodation is becoming a little dated, but everything was very clean and tidy, and everything worked ! Don't expect luxury rooms, but you will never beat it for 'value for money', and the setting is lovely.The owner wants his guests to enjoy their stay and goes out of his way to be helpful. Enjoy your visit !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were visiting our Son and his Family in nearby Chinnor and he suggested that we stay here. What an excellent recommendation. Friendly staff, excellent house keeping, open fires, and First Class Food.The Inn is located at the end of a lane and has a large car park. On our visit they were catering for locals and visitors. The staff were particularly helpful with our 4 yr old Grandson who can be a little boisterous. All in all an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Nice friendly place with good beer and food, plus all the mod cons, highly recommend, why go stay in a boring trabel inn somewhere when you can get charm like this, I particularly liked the breakfasts, which really set me up for my day

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Trying to find a dog friendly hotel in the area was not easy and the peacock ended up being one of two options. Following a horrendous drive down from Scotland, we wondered what was in store for us at the hotel. We could not have been more surprised. Upon check in we received a warm welcome, were upgraded, and shown to our room. The room was clean, spacious and everything we were looking for after 10 hours stuck in M6 traffic! Our young pup was equally delighted at the space!

We had a great nights sleep both nights. Breakfast was cooked to order and was fresh and probably the best poached eggs i've had in years. We only ate dinner one night at the hotel but the food was delicious. It wasn't the cheapest meal, but it was value for money and it's not like us to eat three courses, but the food was too good to pass up.

Martin and his team were fantastic from start to finish and made us and our pup feel very welcome, appearing at every meal with some crackling for him to keep him occupied while we ate. This is a great place to stay if traveling with dogs as there are so many lovely walks. The next time we are in the area we won't bother looking for somewhere else to stay, it will be the Peacock every time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Like a home from home. They make you feel so welcome and the dogs too. Hope to come back to take the dogs for a walk, just stayed here for our sons pass out at RAF Halton. Clean and tidy, our meal was really nice and a good breakfast.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peacock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock

Address: Henton OX39 4AH , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Henton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peacock is a friendly Country Inn set at the foot of the beautiful Chilterns in the picturesque Hamlet of Henton, near Thame. It's the ideal location for Business and Leisure with easy access to Oxfordshire, Buckinghamshire and Hertfordshire. Our 25 bedrooms are available as double or single and have recently been refurbished to provide comfortable modern facilities all with en-suite bathrooms, flat screen televisions and tea/coffee making facilities. We pride ourselves on being a comfortable and cosy country inn offering warm, friendly customer service in a relaxed environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Peacock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peacock Hotel Henton
Peacock Hotel Oxfordshire
The Peacock Henton, England - Oxfordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peacock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.