We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub, my favourite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Victoria

The Victoria
85 Dovecote Lane, Beeston, Nottingham NG9 1JG, England
0115 925 4049
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 20 restaurants in Beeston
Price range: $22 - $33
Cuisines: European, Dessert, English, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Victoria is a genuine free house located in the town of Beeston in Nottinghamshire. Known for its welcoming atmosphere and fantastic food, the pub is a firm favourite with locals and visitors alike.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great pub, my favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Eat and drink here regularly.
Great food and fantastic choice for vegetarians.
Menu always changing.
Good coffee.
Brilliant wine list and a constantly varying selection of beers for the other half.
Kids only welcome until 8pm and not at all welcome in the bar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    50
    39
    18
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Notts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“OK food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

It may be an age thing, but am I the only one who thinks the Victoria is in serious need of a tidy up ? The food is fine, but its not a place that you want to dress up for. Perhaps its me.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“For a pub in Nottingham - exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I don't claim to have tested every single pub in Nottinghamshire, but The Victoria certainly stands out from what is available around central Nottingham (and Victoria just about makes it to this category as it is just outside the Beeston train station, which is 5 minutes on the train from the central station). The menu covers a lot of options (especially for a pub), is always fresh (they update the menu daily as things come and go), and really well made. From my experience, the food is consistently good, whether it's a starter, main, or desert. The selection of ales, beer, and even wine are good. It has a large outside area, with a covered roof, which often expands the sitting area substantially.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good main, disappointing dessert”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Have been here a few times. Love the range of veggie choices. Usually reliable with nice food but went today. Overlooked naan bread but lovely curry. Lumpy mash in my partner's meal but nice otherwise. The greatest disappointment was the creme brûlée which was crap. Bland, too cold and not sweet enough. Lovely key lime pie. Food needs to be more consistent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“complacent”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Have been coming here for years, one of the few places with decent enough food and wine. We wanted a quick snack, and opted for ham sandwiches - which used to be very good here - everything you would expect - thick slices of fresh home cooked ham, and a choice of good bread. Yesterday we were fobbed off with very thin, fatty ham which looked and tasted as if it had come from a very poor supermarket packet. The bread was poor. We complained, and were told that it was the way in which the ham had been cut that made it taste different to normal. If they are cutting standards with ham sandwiches I hate to think what they are doing to the cooked food, beer and wine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Victoria also viewed

Beeston, Nottingham
Beeston, Nottingham
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Beeston, Nottingham
 

Been to The Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.