We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique getaway in the rainforest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Hills Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khao Sok National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elephant Hills Tented Camp
Save
You added Elephant Hills Tented Camp to your Saves list
170 Moo 7, Khao Sok National Park 84250, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A unique getaway in the rainforest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My partner and I stayed for one of the 3 days/2nights packages and had the opportunity to stay at both camps. The camps are well maintained and the 'tents' really are amazing with running hot and cold water and solar electricity. The staff organise the itineraries very well and are both friendly and helpful. There is a lot to do at Elephant Hills - interact with elephants, canoeing, kayaking, rain forecast walks (not for the faint-hearted!), swimming in the lakes etc.

The 'tents' themselves are really an experience. If you're after a unique experience that involves the outdoors but still want a touch of comfort at the end of the day when you come back to camp, then this is it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephant_Hills, Camp Coordinator at Elephant Hills Tented Camp, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Sums_H

Greetings from Elephant Hills.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Thailand. I am delighted to here that you had a wonderful time and I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us.

I look forward to hopefully seeing you in the future.

All the best.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    71
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
149
314
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

As a family we cannot say enough about Elephant Hills. There is something magical about the place and the people that are associated with it.

My style of camping - a queen size bed with en suite. You can't get any better than that. Set in the middle of a tropical rain forest this is a hidden jewel in the Thai tourist industry.

We were fortunate enough to have a 3 night/4 day stay and so really got to immerse ourselves in what Elephant Hills has to offer. The staff - AMAZING. Our guide Por as well as Number One and Wiki - truely beautiful people. Mark and the staff at base camp superb. Nothing is too much trouble.

The attention to detail for visitor comfort is humbling, the lack of commercialisation of the place refreshing. The input that the camp has in the local community with sponsoring 3 local schools is outstanding. Each night guests are entertained by 1 of 3 local schools performing Thai customary dances. You are introduced to Thai food first hand with nightly cooking and tasting sessions.

Stay longer and head out to the floating camp on the lake, the serenity is unreal as is the temperature of the freshwater lake that you swim in. Trek through the National Park jungle and experience wild life in its natural habitat - you never know what you will come across. But the best part is the "Elephant Experience" - prepare food and then feed Asian elephants. Get wet while washing them down and then replant some of next years crops to aid in the food chain.

This is how my children experienced the real Thailand and I would like to thank Elephant Hills for giving us this lifetime opportunity.

Room Tip: There are 35 tents at the site each containing a queen size bed. Make sure when you leave your tent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephant_Hills, Camp Coordinator at Elephant Hills Tented Camp, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Brenda B

Greetings from Elephant Hills.

Firstly, I would like to thank you and your family for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thailand. Secondly, it gives me and my staff great pleasure to read such a fantastic review and I would like to thank you for that.

It is always rewarding to hear that we have managed to make our guests feel special and that they had an unforgettable experience.

I look forward to hopefully seeing you in the future.

All the best.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had a wonderful stay but in this review I want to express my gratitude that someone somehow at the camp saved my 5-year old son's blue elephant teddy bear and favourite pillow. We left it behind in the tent and only discovered this when we returned to our Surin Beach, Phuket hotel. Our son was inconcolable - throught our local travel agency magic happende and the teddy bear and pillow was delivered to our hotel (three hours away) the next day!!! Thank you so much for making this happen:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephant_Hills, Camp Coordinator at Elephant Hills Tented Camp, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Charlotte D

Greetings from Elephant Hills.

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated. I am delighted that you has a great experience with us. With regard to the returning of your 5 year old son's favourite pillow and teddy bear, it was only a pleasure for us to be of service.

Your review has been printed out and given to those members involved in the returning of these possessions and your thanks has been extended to them.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

All the best.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

What an experience. If you aren't in-love with elephants and the thai landscape, then you will by the end of this camp.

Although quite a long drive from Phuket, the camp is set in a national park where all you will hear are gibbons, insects and birds. We were surprised at how busy we were kept, which we loved.

The accommodation was great and more luxurious than anticipated. The permanent tents were clean, tidy and had a real natural look and feel to them. Although they are not air-conditioned, the fan was surprisingly sufficient.

Of the spare hour you will get in the busy schedule, lie back in one of the two hammocks that are either side of your tent and take a moment to close your eyes and immerse yourself in the surrounds. It's a truly peaceful and relaxing moment.

The staff spoke very good english, were approachable and very friendly. They were always happy to take photos and help out where they could. The drivers to and from the camp were very good also.

Day 1: The elephant experience was phenomenal; feeding and bathing them was unforgettable. We learned quite a lot and time spent with the animals was adequate. There were plenty of opportunities for photos and small videos which was nice. The kayak down the river was beautiful and we even had the opportunity to take a quick dip in the lake.

Night 1: At night they showed a movie, held a short cooking demonstration and a dance presentation by girls from the local school. The night program was a surprise and wonderful. Having the young girls come dance for us was quite special and a great initiative between schools and the camp owners.

Dinner that night was lovely. A range of dishes were prepared and everyone there that night sat together and had a good old yarn. A great time to meet new people and find out about their recent journeys.

Day 2: The jungle trek was great. We trekked through streams, up hills and over rocks and bridges, spotting the odd snake which I was too fond of. Make sure you wear sandshoes, sunscreen and insect repellant. The walk can be tailored to your fitness needs, but no matter where you go it is very slippery. Our guide, Number One, spoke extremely good english, was friendly and quite the comedian. Our great experience can be mostly attributed to him! During the trek we stopped for a 'jungle lunch'. Unfortunately my partner and I got food poisoning, resulting in my partner, who ate more than I did, being violently ill for four days and requiring an injection. We believe it could have been the chicken or pork which was not refrigerated and only wrapped in banana leaf before cooking, which the guides claimed to act 'like a fridge'.

Overall, a great experience - just be weary of the jungle lunch..do not eat the meat. Great for couples, friends, families and sole travellers. Not suitable for kids under four.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephant_Hills, Camp Coordinator at Elephant Hills Tented Camp, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Alisha232

Greetings from Elephant Hills.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad that you had a memorable stay with us and that you were happy with your experience.

I would like to express my concern and apologies for you becoming ill after our tour. I would also like to reassure you that I have looked into the situation and taken on board your comments regarding the meat on the jungle trek. All our jungle treks now have ice boxes to keep the meat cold before it is cooked.

Lastly I would like to thank you again for the review and we hope that we will see you again in the future.

All the best.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

It wasn't quite what we had expected but we really enjoyed our stay. It's quite s long drive from phuket but that's our fault for not researching it. We had a great time with the elephants but would have loved longer. We only stayed one night with heavy rain which meant lots of noise in the tents but we didn't get wet at all. The canoe trip was fun but the mangrove trip was a bit lame blocked by a fallen tree and it was too rough to take the boat to the beach. Boat guide drove fast in heavy rain which wasn't much fun for the less adventurous in our group

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephant_Hills, Camp Coordinator at Elephant Hills Tented Camp, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear AndyFuller

Greetings from Elephant Hills.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thailand. I am glad that we were able to make your stay enjoyable.

I look forward to hopefully seen you in the future.

All the best.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you are in Phuket area and have a few days to spare i highly recommend Elephant Hills in Khao Sok. Beautifull location. Tents luxurious and well equiped. Trips are well organized, you'll be on route all day, safe busses and cars. Guides very helpfull and friendly. Did a 4 day / 3 night trip.Elephant sanctuary was very very nice. Kids loved feeding and washing the Elephants. Nice pool for the kids, beautifull views during breakfast. The cooking demonstrations where nice, food delicious. Had a great time here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephant_Hills, Camp Coordinator at Elephant Hills Tented Camp, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Joker_44e

Greetings from Elephant Hills.

I would like to thank you for your kind patronage of our establishment on your recent visit to Thailand. As always it is great to hear from a satisfied guest.

Thank you for your review and I wish you all the best in the future and hopefully we will see you again soon.

All the best.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The tented camp is one of the most beautiful locations I have ever stayed in. The view of the mountains at breakfast time is not to be missed. The "tents" are more luxurious than one expects and even in the foul weather we had (you take the chance in monsoon season) stayed dry and comfortable. The elephant sanctuary itself is a very nice day out and the animals are well looked after. The guides are very pleasant and knowledgable. If you want something different for a few days to break up a beach/city holiday, this is it. Ps: the rainforest floating camp is incredible also, book at least one night there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephant_Hills, Camp Coordinator at Elephant Hills Tented Camp, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Stephenjhill

Greetings from Elephant Hills.

I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us during your recent visit to Thailand.

On behalf of the staff at Elephant Hills I would like to thank you for the positive review and to express our pleasure in knowing that we have another satisfied customer.

We hope to see you again in the future.

All the best.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elephant Hills Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Hills Tented Camp

Address: 170 Moo 7, Khao Sok National Park 84250, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Khao Sok National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Khao Sok National Park
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Hills combines the African Safari tent camp idea with the breathtakingly beautiful environment of Khao Sok in Southern Thailand. Furthermore, the resort offers 2-5-day soft adventure tours, including kayaking, lake explorations, mangrove expeditions, jungle treks and the unique Elephant Hills elephant experience. Here you get to wash, feed and interact with Asia's largest land animal in a sustainable and fun way. Elephant Hills does not offer Elephant riding out of respect towards the elephants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elephant Hills Tented Camp Hotel Surat Thani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Hills Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.