We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in Khao Sok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Our Jungle House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khao Sok National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Our Jungle House
Save
You added Our Jungle House to your Saves list
183 Moo 6 | Khlongsok, Phanom, Khao Sok National Park 84250, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“The best place in Khao Sok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is the most amazing place to stay in Khao sok!
The tree houses are simple but stunning in the most beautiful location, we spent the nights laying on the balcony looking at the stars and were woken by the sound of gibbons in the national park and watching the monkeys on the cliffs!

the resturant was amazing, resonable price and delious food, espically the dry curries (the basil one was great) the staff were great!

we did the half day hike in the national park with the most amazing guide, i can highly recommend it! was quite the hike in some places but i learn't alot and saw many things i wouldn't have seen with out the guide, plus he made us coffee using only bamboo!

on the evening we went to the hot springs which was quite nice although extremely hot!

we hope to return to the takine treehouse soon! i can highley recommend you stay here and if you can't get a room eat here!

Simply amazing!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    98
    25
    9
    17
See reviews for
78
159
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at the Romance tree house for three nights. It had a big bathroom, nice balcony with the amazing view of the river and a big mosquito net for the bed. I am no hardcore camper and I was able to enjoy the treehouse. There were ants on the floor, Mosquitos and moths everywhere. We didn't see any lizards or monkeys. I felt safe sleeping under the mosquito net. We did the elephant trekking, canoe trip, lake day tour which include a cave tour. That was amazing!!! We also did the six hr hike at the national park. The food was amazing. You must try the pad Thai! And the main lobby/ restaurant/ bar had free wifi. You pay for everything at the end of your stay. All the meals, drinks, and tours. We privately arranged transportation with our jungle house. It was a bit pricey but we wanted a hassle free journey. I heard the public buses were unreliable and we didn't want to miss our flights.

Tip: if you want to get a massage, do it in the village. It costs 250 thaibaht. It's double the price at the jungle house.

Otherwise, I recommend this place and would stay here again.

Thank you Our Jungle House!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at Our Jungle House in the beginning of February and it was wonderful. The staff is very friendly, the food was great, and you can't beat the cost. The actual tree house was very nice and exceeded my expectations. The only negative thing about the tree house was no hot water but it was really not that big of a deal. One of the best things about our time there was listening to all of the different jungle sounds while going to sleep.

We also did the Lake Tour excursion while we were there. This tour was very fun but beware that the lake tour involves an optional cave tour. The cave tour was fun but they do not mention any of the details of what the cave visit actually involves. We thought we were just going to walk into a cave and walk out. What we did was hike, swim, and climb in the cave. It was a great time but they instruct you to bring towels, extra clothes, etc. but keep in mind you have to haul all of that stuff through the cave! Also, have a water proof bag for the tour to prevent damage to your camera. Another good thing to have is a headlamp instead of a hand held flashlight. I am happy I went on the cave portion of the lake tour but I wished I was better prepared for it.

I would highly recommend Our Jungle House if you come anywhere near southern Thailand.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a few nights in middle o January and really enjoyed it! The accomodation was some of the best we stayed in during our holidays and it was fairly cheap.

In the end, the things we loved the most were the things we've seen other people complain about on here - things like animals coming to visit in your room (we had monkeys on our balcony and lizards on the ceiling), the noise of the animals and the open air bathroom / ceilings, the lack of fly screens (big beautiful windows with a full view ofthe cliffs and river), the relaxed attitude of bodhi and his staff and the location away from everything.

We stayed in the mango house (were upgraded from the Thai house we had booked) and did the elephant trek, hot springs and massages. All were great, but dissapponte we couldn't do the river tubing as the river was a little low but thankfully the reception lady let us know it wasn't really worth it at that time.

Thanks for a great visit and some brilliant chats bodhi and staff!

Just be aware that the buses from khao sok to the east (as woth most on thailand) aren't hugely reliable, we waited on a Sunday for 2.5 hours for a bus to Phuket.

Def recommend for anyone wanting a relaxing stay in beautiful surrounds - it took us about 3 days to adjust back after we left!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while doing excursions in the area. The little houses are excellent. Basic, but in very good condition and spotless. It is off the main road in Khao Sok, next to the river and so is a much quieter location than most of the others.

Food was good and very well priced. Staff all very friendly and helpful. The tour guides they used were all excellent - informative, talkative, etc.

Only points to note are that the beds are VERY hard and that there is not hot water. Although a cold water shower is very refreshing after a sweaty day.

Room Tip: There are a range of houses available - have a good look at the website and consider the size of you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

When first enquiring and booking our stay via email with Our Jungle House all emails were very quick, professional and friendly and it was easy to book our stay.

We arrived in Khao Sok from Surat Thani by Public Bus and then got a taxi from the bus drop off point to Our Jungle House.
We got a warm welcome from the American owner and our bags were carried up to our tree house. We had initially booked the Honeymoon Treehouse but I think the Hideaway and Honeymoon Treehouses are very simillar so we didn't mind.
We couldn't believe the view and location of the treehouse, from the balcony was the view of a huge cliff and the treehouse was situated next to a river. We were so excited!
All you can hear in the Jungle constantly is the loud sound of Cicadas and at night it sends you off to sleep nicely.
The treehouse was very large and had a big bathroom and small balcony. It was very clean and had a fan, electricity sockets and a large mosquito net.
The only thing that could have improved our stay was hot water in the shower but understandably it might be hard to have hot water in the jungle.
In the room a brochure of optional trips and activities were provided that could be booked at reception.
The restaurant food was very nice and all staff were very friendly and helpful.
The owner and other staff would often come over to chat whilst we had dinner.

We opted to do an elephant trek and it was our favourite trek whilst we were in Thailand. A car picks you up at your chosen time and takes you to the trek which is about 15minutes away. Although it cost a bit more than most elephant treks do in Thailand it was well worth it. My partner and I rode an elephant each for around 2hours through the forest and rivers, the scenery was incredible. It was an amazing experience, we even saw snakes on the trip! We had never ridden an elephant before and were a bit dubious as to whether the elephants would be treated well but you could tell the company cared for the animals properly.
Afterwards we fed them bannanas which was fun.

On our second night in the tree house a bat flew into our room but exited quite soon after. If staying at the treehouse it is a good idea to take some monsquito spray to use on yourself just in case and insects and animals may come into your room as you are staying in the wild after all.
Also I would recommend bringing a torch as it gets very dark at night, especially when walking back to your treehouse from the restaurant.
About 6am on the day we departed my partner and I were looking out of the window of our treehouse and saw monkeys playing on the cliff opposite. Slowly they gradually travelled over to the trees near to us and we ended up about 2 metres away from them. This was a once in a lifetime experience that we will never forget, seeing wild monkeys playing in the trees so close!

When leaving we needed to get to Khao Lak - about an hour away by car, we asked the owner if any taxis would be able to take us there directly as we had been messed aound with bus companies when getting to Khao Sok so wanted a hassle free journey. He soon arranged a taxi to take us there for a good price so we were very thankful!
Another good thing was that there was a laptop free to use by guests which came in handy for searching the internet.

We would definately stay at Our Jungle House again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hideaway Treehouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mytholmroyd
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We are a family of four (kids aged 10 and12) who stayed for 4 nights in mid dec. We stayed in cliff 1 and 2 then went on the lake trip for a night. We don't normally do 'tours' but both the lake trip and elephant rides were beyond expectations. Bodhi and the team were excellent, and soon sorted any difficulties such as double booking with an upgrade. The maitre d, Sia runs the restaurant faultlessly and the cleaning regime is thorough. Yes there are animals and creepy crawlies, yes it is in the jungle. That's what we liked. The location by the river is spot on. We would definitely stay again and recommend to all.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Our Jungle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our Jungle House

Address: 183 Moo 6 | Khlongsok, Phanom, Khao Sok National Park 84250, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Khao Sok National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Khao Sok National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pioneer of ecotourism in Khao Sok for over 20 years, Our Jungle House is a place apart. Situated in 25 acres of privately owned rainforest, three species of monkey and other fascinating wildlife are frequent visitors. The jungle here is a nature lovers paradise where you can go trekking, ride an elephant, adventure down the river, go on a night safari, and escape to the fairy-tale scenery of Cheow Larn lake.Our tree houses and bungalows blend into the surroundings, so you can enjoy the luxury of these elegant houses while living at one with nature. Air conditioning and hot water are not available; instead, your room will look out over a clear stream to majestic limestone cliffs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Our Jungle House Hotel Phanom
Our Jungle Hotel
Our Jungle Surat Thani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Our Jungle House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.