We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Our Jungle House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khao Sok National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Our Jungle House
Save Saved
You added Our Jungle House to your Saves list
183 Moo 6 | Khlongsok, Phanom, Khao Sok National Park 84250, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Half-Day Hike
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Unfortunately for us we only had the opportunity to stay here for 1 night but I will say we will be going back for sure!

The location is fantastic, we stayed in Thai House which is almost on the river and had the most beautiful cliff face view. The house was simple but very clean and had everything you should need. We were travelling with our 6 month old daughter so I was a little concerned before we arrived that it would be a struggle but I needn't have worried. Bodie (the Manager) and his lovely wife are so friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble. In fact the entire staff made you feel completely at home.

We ate dinner in the restaurant and both my partner and myself thoroughly enjoyed it. Service quick and very friendly.

If you love being surrounded by nature, want to feel at home and have a relaxing stay with great hosts Our Jungle House is a must. If you like TV, air con and stuffy staff then this place isn't for you.

Thanks Our Jungle House, see you again very soon.

Room Tip: Thai House is great but if you have a preference ask the staff to recommend one suited to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    95
    25
    9
    17
See reviews for
76
149
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amstelveen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in the Jungle house (and one night overnight safary on the lake). The staff was there for only 2 weeks. We really liked them all. The managers and his wife are so friendly and it was good talking to them. The atmosphere was relaxed. We also like the treehouse and the trips we made. Only the elefant trekking was disappointed because it was so unnatural and touristic. We further liked the national park to us it was really different from what we had seen in Thailand so far.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Amazing place to stay and experience the tubing descente of the river and the elephant trek.
Sleep in a tree house is something you will never forget.
No swimming pool but even better the river close to your house.
Goddhi and Tu are so nice and will arrange any transportation for you.
The food is excellent and all people so friendly and helpful.
Next time, we will stay longer to have enough time to stay one night at the lake.
Don't miss Khao Sok park and " our jungle house"!!!
Alain

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

It was always going to be a bit of an experience going to the jungle,and this place truly is.

We stayed in the romance treehouse and this seemed to be the pick of the bunch.

The rooms smelt quite damp but this was forgivable being where we were, in the middle of the jungle. However, the showers being completely cold water (instead of hot water like informed it would be by the time of our stay) was a major let down, especially after getting dirty in the jungle etc during the day and just wanting a shower to be clean. Freezing showers are not pleasant.

The worst part was most definitely the bed. It was absolutely rock hard. After 2 nights of sleeping on this (or at least attempting to, it was very uncomfortable so neither of us had any rest, let alone romance), our backs were very sore and this is not what you want from a holiday. In the jungle or not, I don't see any valid reason for the bed to be so rock hard. Why not just get a more comfortable mattress so people can sleep well?

Location is quite nice and very scenic.

As for meals, the staff are lovely however extremely slow - 40 minutes for a sandwich (on more than one occasion) type of thing, and the food very limited (and expensive which is annoying when youre in the jungle and have no choice, however it was our choice to go and stay in the jungle so can't really complain about that). The thai style food was very nice (which is what you want in Thailand lol), the rest I wouldn't bother with as it was very poor quality.

The most disappointing part of our stay was my girlfriend leaving her iphone next to the bed when we checked out - our mistake obviously for leaving it there, but when we called up to let them know and try and arrange for us to pick it up, housekeeping or any of the other staff 'couldnt find it', when we both know it was definitely left there. Even though it never would have happened if it weren't for our initial mistake leaving it there in the first place, this was very disappointing.

Apart from the issues mentioned, the staff are very nice and it is truly a scenic jungle experience, with great value tours offered. Just beware you know what you're getting yourself into before going there so you can decide if it's the place for you or not.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We were there for two nights. It was perfect. I love the tree houses, the food was great, Dick Sandler is a perfect host. What strikes me was how careful everything is done. The lights shine on the ground in the night, so that you find your way to your tree house, but they do not pollute the night sky! He has little light stoppers on top of the night lamps, preventing butterflies and moths and other animals to be tricked into death. Very considerate! We did the Rafflesia hike, and saw one of them in full bloom - what a sight!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed in the Half Moon Treehouse - we chose this resort specifically because we wanted to be as close to the wildlife as possible. We loved it - from our verandah we saw monkeys and hornbills. If you are afraid of creatures you may be better off somewhere else - the bathrooms are open at the top so you shower with a view of the jungle - fantastic! The jungle is incredibly noisy at night, but this seemed to work like white noise on a baby - slept like a log! The staff were lovely - very laid back but friendly and helpful. The food was lovely - recommend the Penang and Massoman curries. We did a night safari with a guide, ?Dang?, and saw loads - spiders, scorpions, centipedes, moths, slugs, mouse deer, porcupine, loris, owls. The guide commented that Our Jungle House is one of the better accommodations for wildlife, as it is actually in the jungle rather than in the village. We also did the river tubing - after a hefty jungle hike, what better way to spend a hot afternoon than draped across an inner tube gently bobbing down the river, watching monkeys and mangrove snakes.
We stayed in a variety of places and types of accommodation in Thailand and this was our favourite - beautiful rustic accommodation and lovely staff in a fabulous setting with loads to do (especially if you are interested in seeing wildlife). Wish we had had longer.....

Room Tip: Worth getting a room by the river - Half Moon had a view of the river and karst opposite and felt ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Just wanted to post a warning for any people planning to stay here. We had to unfortunately cancel our trip to Thailand due to to all the flooding and the government travel advisories. Our medical insurance would not cover us if we went! We booked the hotel months in advance and paid the amount to stay....when I emailed the hotel to cancel, with more than two weeks notice, they refused to give us a refund even when I explained the situation. All the other hotels we had booked had no problem giving a refund, as did our airline even give a full refund.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleTreehouse, Manager at Our Jungle House, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
My apologies for the cancellation of your trip. We feel your review of our service is unfair, as we did not have the opportunity to welcome you to our resort. So, please give us a chance to redeem your opinion - Our Jungle House is a wonderful place, and we'll be waiting for you with open arms. We are very sorry that you are unhappy with our inability to refund your deposit of one room night, and equally disappointed by the monsoon floods that have affected public opinion as to the safety of visiting Thailand right now. We hope you can come Thailand at some point in the future, and we will hold your deposit as a credit to future visits. As you requested, we have sent an official cancellation email, so you can claim the loss with your travel insurance, as you mentioned in your email to us. As mentioned in our email correspondence, we ask for the cost of the first room night as a deposit to hold your reservation, and, also as mentioned in our email correspondence, we point out that the credit is non-refundable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Our Jungle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our Jungle House

Address: 183 Moo 6 | Khlongsok, Phanom, Khao Sok National Park 84250, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Khao Sok National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Khao Sok National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pioneer of ecotourism in Khao Sok for over 20 years, Our Jungle House is a place apart. Situated in 25 acres of privately owned rainforest, three species of monkey and other fascinating wildlife are frequent visitors. The jungle here is a nature lovers paradise where you can go trekking, ride an elephant, adventure down the river, go on a night safari, and escape to the fairy-tale scenery of Cheow Larn lake.Our tree houses and bungalows blend into the surroundings, so you can enjoy the luxury of these elegant houses while living at one with nature. Air conditioning and hot water are not available; instead, your room will look out over a clear stream to majestic limestone cliffs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Our Jungle House Hotel Phanom
Our Jungle Hotel
Our Jungle Surat Thani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Our Jungle House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;