We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Our Jungle House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khao Sok National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Our Jungle House
183 Moo 6 | Khlongsok, Phanom, Khao Sok National Park 84250, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed in the Half Moon Treehouse - we chose this resort specifically because we wanted to be as close to the wildlife as possible. We loved it - from our verandah we saw monkeys and hornbills. If you are afraid of creatures you may be better off somewhere else - the bathrooms are open at the top so you shower with a view of the jungle - fantastic! The jungle is incredibly noisy at night, but this seemed to work like white noise on a baby - slept like a log! The staff were lovely - very laid back but friendly and helpful. The food was lovely - recommend the Penang and Massoman curries. We did a night safari with a guide, ?Dang?, and saw loads - spiders, scorpions, centipedes, moths, slugs, mouse deer, porcupine, loris, owls. The guide commented that Our Jungle House is one of the better accommodations for wildlife, as it is actually in the jungle rather than in the village. We also did the river tubing - after a hefty jungle hike, what better way to spend a hot afternoon than draped across an inner tube gently bobbing down the river, watching monkeys and mangrove snakes.
We stayed in a variety of places and types of accommodation in Thailand and this was our favourite - beautiful rustic accommodation and lovely staff in a fabulous setting with loads to do (especially if you are interested in seeing wildlife). Wish we had had longer.....

Room Tip: Worth getting a room by the river - Half Moon had a view of the river and karst opposite and felt ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    94
    25
    9
    17
See reviews for
75
145
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Just wanted to post a warning for any people planning to stay here. We had to unfortunately cancel our trip to Thailand due to to all the flooding and the government travel advisories. Our medical insurance would not cover us if we went! We booked the hotel months in advance and paid the amount to stay....when I emailed the hotel to cancel, with more than two weeks notice, they refused to give us a refund even when I explained the situation. All the other hotels we had booked had no problem giving a refund, as did our airline even give a full refund.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleTreehouse, Manager at Our Jungle House, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
My apologies for the cancellation of your trip. We feel your review of our service is unfair, as we did not have the opportunity to welcome you to our resort. So, please give us a chance to redeem your opinion - Our Jungle House is a wonderful place, and we'll be waiting for you with open arms. We are very sorry that you are unhappy with our inability to refund your deposit of one room night, and equally disappointed by the monsoon floods that have affected public opinion as to the safety of visiting Thailand right now. We hope you can come Thailand at some point in the future, and we will hold your deposit as a credit to future visits. As you requested, we have sent an official cancellation email, so you can claim the loss with your travel insurance, as you mentioned in your email to us. As mentioned in our email correspondence, we ask for the cost of the first room night as a deposit to hold your reservation, and, also as mentioned in our email correspondence, we point out that the credit is non-refundable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I honestly do not have a good word to say about this place, I don't know how other people had such good things to say about this place (let me say at this point that we are backpacking, staying at very basic guesthouses and hostels so our expectations are far from high, hence this disappointment with this place, being our most stay so far). We stayed for 3 nights in the ‘cheapest’ option accommodation- Jungle House. We arrived at 7pm and had a mediocre welcome from the American receptionist and was shown to our accommodation (with no offer to help us with our bags). By this time it was pitch black and very difficult to see where we were going. We were not offered any flashlights. The Jungle House had only one small working light inside, the other was not working and they made no attempt to fix it. This meant you had to go round the room with torches to try and see anything. Hardly what you would expect when paying 800baht a night (and as I said this was the cheapest option!!).
We went to get some dinner in the restaurant, and waited a while for anyone to acknowledge us, and we had to help ourselves to the menus. We finally had a Thai girl come over to take our order. We had a Tuna salad and Chicken and Chips. The food was pretty poor, and overpriced. The salad was so-so, but very small for 80bahts. The chicken was greasy and the chips were literally deep fried air, no potato in sight.
We went back to our hut, and realised that the lock was faulty at the top of the door, so at a slight push, would open. Hardly very safe in the middle of the jungle! Also, the ceiling was partially exposed so any creature could climb in without difficulty. The room was slightly damp, as were the bedsheets, and being wet season, it’s not very warm at night, so this was not exactly pleasant. Moving around in the room was a joke with torches, not being able to see where anything was. The toilet is outside the hut, with only half walls, completely exposed, so not exactly appealing going to the toilet in the middle of the night. Suffice to say, we both slept very badly that night, and in fact all 3 nights of our stay.
The next morning, we went to have breakfast (served in the bar above the restaurant- this is not explained anywhere, we just had to guess). Breakfast was very poor. We had the set breakfast, two poached eggs with toast, tea or coffee and juice. The eggs were uncooked. The toast was rock-hard and literally flew off our plates onto the floor as we tried to cut it. This ‘delicious’ breakfast cost us 100baht. We decided not to waste our money by eating there again.
We wanted to do the hiking trails on our own, but they provided us absolutely no information whatsoever. The reception staff were very rude and completely unhelpful. They did not acknowledge us and even when we said ‘hello’, we only got grunts back. We headed out on our own to the National Park entrance, a good 20 minutes walk down the dirt track road, so not exactly the best location. NOTE: The walking trails in wet season are quite dangerous! They are slippy and not market very well. I wouldn’t recommend doing the North trail, the lookout point is pointless,as you can’t see anything, and the waterfall is impossible to get to as the markings and signposts end after about an hour and you have no idea where to go, and it’s a slippy and difficult path. Beware of the leeches also, they are everywhere.
After returning and having an ice cold shower (delightful!) in a completely exposed outside bathroom where the two neighboring huts are able to see right into, we ventured into town (the road leading up to the park entrance, then down towards the main road). This walk is not easy down the dirt track which is ok in the day, but at night it is pitch black with no lights along the way. Had we not had a torch, we would have had to stay permanently at the guest house because it’s impossible to see where you are going and they do not offer flashlights. The guest house make no attempt at making it an enjoyable place to stay at night. There is never any music. No TV. The ‘library’ is laughable (two shelves with no more than 20 books, half on which aren’t in English). The food is extremely poor. The atmosphere is terrible.
On our last night, we were sat in the restaurant using the internet, researching our next destination and finding places to stay. We asked to settle the bill, as we were leaving early the next morning. They seemed inconvenienced by this. They asked us to pay in the morning, but as we were leaving at 8.30am, we wanted to get it sorted. They weren’t not exactly helpful, and all we wanted to do was pay! Probably because they were just about to close up reception and couldn’t be bothered. They tried to overcharge us for food we had never had. We went back to our computers, and after closing up they turned the internet off. This was at 9pm. It says in the handbook wifi is available until 11pm. Also, despite the handbook saying the rooms are cleaned and made up daily, in 3 days are room was never cleaned.
This guesthouse has no positives. The food is poor and rooms are too basic and extremely overpriced. I cannot believe that some of the treehouses and huts are over 2000bahts, and they don’t even have basic facilities such as hot water (despite the manager repeatedly telling guests they are going to upgrade this). In comparison to the other guesthouses in Khao Sok, this is much more expensive for much poorer facilities. The internet works intermittently (if at all, especially when they turn it off without informing you!). The offer massages for 200baht more than other places in town. I wish we had stayed in the main part of town; under 5 minutes walk to the park entrance, with shops, bars and restaurants on your doorstep, it would have been a far better and cheaper option that staying here.
The best thing about this place was leaving it. I would never recommend this guest house to anyone. They do not deserve your money. Stay elsewhere!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere, your money would go alot further
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleTreehouse, Manager at Our Jungle House, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for your expression of concern. I am so very very sorry to hear that you did not have a good time with us, and hope that the rest of your vacation was enjoyable. If you would be so kind as to give us a second chance, we will be happy to host you again with a free room (and we can put you in a treehouse, too).
We are indeed a nature resort, so the jungle is all around. Some people like staying in the jungle, while others find it more challenging to live with the elements all around. Since we are located in a rainforest, it is wet in the rainy season and dark at night. I’ve tried controlling the weather, but have yet to succeed. Instead, we send all guests a pre-arrival information pack with suggestions on what to bring and what to expect.
We are a small, family-run resort, and every guest’s experience is important to us, and since almost all of our guests report enjoying their stay, we feel terrible that you found our place less than adequate.
I apologize for the unsophisticated level of service, we were in the process of training new staff, and it seems their learning curve was not yet to your expectations. We try to provide a friendly atmosphere, but even the best of us can have a bad day, and it was unfortunate that you did not have a chance to see the friendly, engaging side of our staff that delights so many of our visitors.
I accept full responsibility for this matter, and I hope this message has addressed some of your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bassano del grappa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

we have been in khao sok national park for 4 days and we chose to stay in our jungle house resort. we couldn't make a better choice because the owners are very friendly and can organize for you amazing excuritons in the jungle. the treehouses and bungalows are very suggestive and are located along a nice river and not to close to each other ( not like other resorts nearby). the restaurant has good dishes both thai and western food.
we suggest every nature lover to spend a few days there. enjoy your holyday!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at their Mango House, right by the river and surrounded by beautiful trees. One morning a group of monkeys playing nearby woke us up, but it was ok!! There is plenty to do around the grounds, and a trip to the lake was our favorite part! Khao Sok is beautiful, definitely a must-see while in Thailand! The delicious food that comes out of Our Jungle House's Kitchen is enough to keep you around longer!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Stayed with two friends during a recent trip round Thailand and 'Our Jungle House' was by far and away my favourite accomodation and location of the trip.

Our treehouse was amazing. We had a large double bed and some bunkbeds, which was more than enough room for three female travellers. It had a lovely balcony which had stunning views of the river and cliffs. At night you feel like you are right in the thick of it, as you can hear all the amazing sounds of the national park.

Bodie and the staff were lovely, and always there for advice or just a nice chat over breakfast. They can also organise activities for the daytime, such as a jungle trek, elephant treks and tubing (the later two we tried and would highly recommend).

Only criticism would be that there were a few holes in the mosquito nets and that our room was not cleaned throughout our two night stay. However, it is worth noting that this is an eco lodge in the middle of a national park, so perhaps not cleaning the room is deliberate (also to be fair to them, it really didn't need cleaning either).

I would absolutely recommend 'Our jungle treehouse' for couples, travellers, or anybody who wants to stay somewhere that is a little more unique. It was certainly a refreshing change from Khao San Road in Bangkok!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed in the Romance treehouse for 1 night and had an awesome experience, I only wish we could have stayed for more than 1 day. Bodie and the staff were great and experts at answering our questions and giving advice on what to do in the area. the food in the restaurant was very reasonably priced and very tasty as well. It was great to sit out on the balcony of the treehouse and watch the monkeys play in the trees and just soak up the scenery. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Our Jungle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our Jungle House

Address: 183 Moo 6 | Khlongsok, Phanom, Khao Sok National Park 84250, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Khao Sok National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Khao Sok National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pioneer of ecotourism in Khao Sok for over 20 years, Our Jungle House is a place apart. Situated in 25 acres of privately owned rainforest, three species of monkey and other fascinating wildlife are frequent visitors. The jungle here is a nature lovers paradise where you can go trekking, ride an elephant, adventure down the river, go on a night safari, and escape to the fairy-tale scenery of Cheow Larn lake.Our tree houses and bungalows blend into the surroundings, so you can enjoy the luxury of these elegant houses while living at one with nature. Air conditioning and hot water are not available; instead, your room will look out over a clear stream to majestic limestone cliffs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Our Jungle House Hotel Phanom
Our Jungle Hotel
Our Jungle Surat Thani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Our Jungle House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Our Jungle House to your Saves list