We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a nature lover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khao Sok Paradise Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Khao Sok Paradise Resort to your Saves list
Khao Sok Paradise Resort
119 Moo 6 | Klongsok, Khao Sok National Park 84250, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vilnius
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great place for a nature lover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We planned two days and one night in Khao Sok and for this we booked Mountain view Bungalow direct through Khao Sok Paradise Resort internet page, but, as it was under maintenance upon our arrival, we were upgraded to a tree house, of which we selected a Standard as it had Windows both in the room and in the bathroom – perfect. The tree house has all necessary equipment, even TV (we never even switched it), A/C (very quiet!), hot water, shower and bathroom. All was freshly renovated and very clean. The decor was simple and pleasing, very suitable for living in nature (albeit with all modern comforts). There were warnings about possible visits of creepy-crawlies, but (pity almost) we had none, probably because of dry season. Note – they provide only soap bars, so if you need shampoo or shower gel, you will have to bring them along or buy in the village mart.
We took food at the hotel – lunch, dinner and breakfast. Both European selections (had only one salad) and Thai food were very good, and had Thai was superb, same as fruit shakes – perfect cooling after jungle trekking. Additional pleasure was to enjoy company of resident geckos and squirrels as well as to observe butterflies and pond herons hunting down in the grass. Though note – if you will be having breakfast early, socks are advisable, as it is rather cold.
The only hitch was bed. It was hard (no, very hard), not too big for too persons and only one blanket is provided (though second was given when requested). However, not overly comfy sleeping conditions were atoned by possibility to fall asleep under sounds of crickets and wake up hearing whoops of gibbons.
We booked trips (night safari and lake trip) and transportation back through Khao Sok Paradise Resort, all was arranged very well, maybe not with German exactness, but still everything worked perfectly well. Our driver was most considerate and we reached our hotel in Phuket in short time and very conveniently.
The Resort people also provided all necessary information for walking around on our own, which is very simple, indeed.
Summing up, the stay was very nice and atmosphere was like visiting family in their home. Very commendable place!

Room Tip: Depends upon how much you are afraid of small wildlife: if you are, choose place with more isolated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    62
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
44
123
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virum, Denmark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights, with our kids (2 and 5 years) We had one of the bigger cabins with a huge terrace. The room was really nice, and clean. The staff where very helpfull and friendly. we booked Elephant trek and Canoo trip from here and they where very nice trips. Food was also exelent, and varied.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed in this resort after checking a lot of reviews of many different resorts in khao sok. communication with Grace was very helpful,she offered us simply everything that we were looking for. so we book the rainforest gateway package for 4d/5n along with return transfer from railstation and to airport.
When we reached surat thani our friendly chauffer was waiting for us and we have been greeted well. On the way he explained a lot about khao sok. we reached around 7pm. we discovered that the reception is very casual,we were being sitted and check in process started. Was a bit confused as everyone is very casually dressed,a name tag cud be nice :). A young lady escorted to our room(cant remember name now), once we saw the room we were happy. we booked for a tree hut. AC was working fine,hot water too.
Next morning we woke up to this amazing view of the mountain,fresh air and birds chirping,we were very happy overall. all the tour packages were explained and guided to us efficiently,we enjoyed every moment of it. we will like to mention about Big,Nopporn and Nu for being amazing tour guide. We went for night safari,saw tarantula and sivet cat. Nam talu cave tour was also extraordinary.
also we will like to thank the Manager of the resort Eric and his beautiful wife Tan and the baby girl for an amazing holiday.
Food was excellent,however i will like to pint out that being a muslim we had a bit of hard time as we couldnot eat anything apart from prawn and vegetable for 5days :(, still thinking of that amazing Tiramisu though.
Overall i suggest everybody to try this resort as this is one of the best in the area. Thanks a lot to all of you. Asma and Walid

Room Tip: I will suggest tree hut for couples as its very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

After a few months full of stress i needed a place to relax and enjoy my free time. My husband booked a treehouse for us two in the Paradise Resort. The staff is very friendly, international and helpful, whatever i wanted to do they helped me and it was easier to tell my problem in my mothertongue which is german.
the treehouse was very comfortable and decorated with sweet details. You have the feeling to be part of the nature not just in it. I slept fantastic in this cosy bed and i felt like a new person after this holiday.
We booked a trekking trip in the jungle and the river tubing to see the area around this resort - it was amazing and we had so much fun. Another offer was a cooking class. I didn't expect that green curry is this delicious. I really love it but without chicken because i am a vegetarian.
all in all i can highly recommend this Resort. I wish you guys all the best - i had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

If you are looking for an experience in a tree-house, this is not the place. The bungalows are built with metal pipes and gives the feeling of home Meccano robot, with a small tree, decorating the terrace.
Roofs are corrugated sheets of metal, or even fiber-cement .
Inside are coated by plywood boards .
At night, we had an unpleasant experience because you could not sleep because of the noise on the roof.
In the morning, when we went to the terrace, we discovered , was full of feces and food waste.
Our bungalow "luxury", was right behind the kitchen, where the mixture of smells of food they cooked and septic tank, or sewer, which was in the rear was unbearable.

"Another problem"
We had a great shock when we saw water very brown flowing out of the taps, and water only improve after we find the tap for a while. Even then, it was not a constant brown tint in the water. Needless to say the poor water quality is totally unacceptable for a hotel.

We stayed at this resort for one night in August 2013. We were supposed to stay for 3 nights but we could not support more than one day.

This was the only hotel we stayed in Thailand where the reception was rude, just did seem bothered by issues outside, which were not to be sold activities (very expensive).
They continually tried to push us into doing the most expensive tours they provide and didn't want to listen to our enquires about cheaper options. We decided to walk just 5 minutes down the road to the national park and enquire about doing the trek ourselves without a guide. I would highly recommend doing this. It saved us 500 baht each and the paths are well sign posted and very easy to follow without the need of a guide or experience.

In the village of Khao Sok, there are many sites that offer activities for less amount of money worth.

This could have been a hotel I would recommend for friends and others, but sadly a few things made sure I'm not gonna do that.

We ended up moving down the road to a new, clean, very friendly small resort less than half the price!

Overall it was a very disappointing stay. I do not recommend it at all.

I forgot ! personally recommend the restaurant, " Pawn" ( In the center of Khao Sok) the food is really great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric L, M.D at Khao Sok Paradise Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear IT-traveler,

Greetings from Khao Sok and thanks you for spending your time reviewing us on Trip Advisor,
For safety reasons and by Thai law, our tree houses, which are at tree level, are being held by metal structures, you probably would not feel safe sleeping in a house held by a tree only by a windy night and in an area where humidity thermites are a real concern.

The roofs made of corrugated sheets of metal provide the best protection during the rainy season, which is particularly intense in the Khao Sok area and lasts about six months every year. As about the noise on the roof, that is probably due to intense fauna activity which is very high during the night time, most animals hiding during the day. Do not forget we're in the jungle.

Concerning the open terrace, which is cleaned after each service, you have probably noticed that it is animated with geckos and small lizard which give a lot of charm to the place, and constantly remind us that we are in their habitat and not the opposite. These being life beings, and not very disciplined they tend to do their business wherever they need to. That is why our terrace is cleaned before and after each service.

The brown color of the water is due to sulfur and iron oxide present in the wells where our water comes from. Analysis have proven the water is suitable for showering but is not suitable for drinking, hence the reason we provide our customers with drinking water in their rooms.
We have now solved this issue by placing an additional water filter on our water system.

We do understand your concern about saving a few hundreds Bahts on the service of a guide, and that is probably due to your high experience of the jungle but we DO NOT advise anyone with less experience to go in the national park without a guide that would be suicidal. The park we are talking about is actually 700 square kilometers of jungle with many species of wild animals.

You are right about the possibility of finding in Khao Sok, many sites providing cheaper tours and these are ok for people willing to go on tours with groups of about 30 to 40 people and often without an insurance. We believe in quality and therefore prefer to organize more private tours four our guests with experienced local guides and without any doubts the group being insured.

We are very sad that your experience with us makes you not recommend our resort but we are very pleased to read your opinion in order to improve our service.

Sincerely yours,

Eric Limbos

M.D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The tree houses are fantastic. Lovely jungle setting & good views. The national park is about 1 km away from the hotel. There are also good tours. great food. strongly recommendable. we had a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Spend here 3 knights. The place is great, the staff is so friendly en the food is amazing. We loved the treehouses, it has everything you need in the jungle. We recommed this place!!!! We hope to come back some day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Khao Sok Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Sok Paradise Resort

Address: 119 Moo 6 | Klongsok, Khao Sok National Park 84250, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Khao Sok National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Khao Sok National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our eco-resort is situated in a privately owned area, quiet and peaceful. You will be welcomed by our friendly staff. We offer distinctive leisure activities such as the Chiew larn lake trip, jungle treks, elephant treks,canoeing, jungle survival trips and much more. Let us be part of your unforgettable experience in Thailand and make the journey of your lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Khao Sok Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Sok Paradise Hotel Khao Sok National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khao Sok Paradise Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.