We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extraordinary service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Zinc

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Barra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Zinc
Save
You added Casa Zinc to your Saves list
La Barra, La Barra, Maldonado, Uruguay   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 La Barra B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“extraordinary service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Me, my husband & our 1 1/2 year old son stayed at Zink two nights in november & those where the best at our whole trip!
We have been travelling a lot & stayed in hundreds of different b&b & hotels in varying classes. We have never experienced such lovely service as in Zink.
And staying hetre is as cool for young friends, old couples, small familys , business, alone or just married ones.
Thanx :)
/Anna,Henrik & Leon

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011 via mobile

Casa zinc is beautiful! The rooms are so well designed, clean and the bed is amazing. Breakfast was lovely, we got a little tired of the same thing after 6 days but it was still nice. The owner was really helpful and all the staff very friendly. Definitely stay here if you want to avoid the high rises of Punta del Este. La Barra is about 10 mins out of Punta but so much nicer.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Really cool small house - with a wonderful staff. The owner Aaron knows everything about the area and will give great recommendations for dining and touring. We loved having bicycles available to get around but ended up walking everywhere mostly. Restaurants in the area we tried were Pura Vida and Baby Gouda- both were excellent! The town is a perfect size with great views of the beach a short walk away. The only negative was some barking dogs in the area which woke us a few times each night, which isn't the property's fault. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We spent three of the best nights of our honeymoon Casa Zinc. The house is expertly decorated in an antique, rustic, shabby chic motif that feels warm and welcome. All of the staff offered great suggestions on beaches and restaurants in the area. While it is not beachside, it is a short walk to the main stretch of shops, bars, and restaurants. The friendly staff went above and beyond to accommodate our travel woes (cancelled flights due to airline strikes). I would highly recommend, and can not return soon enough!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Varas, Chile
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Casa Zinc was such a find, we extended our stay until the very last day of our honeymoon.

The place, the decor, the impeccable service ( Stephanie and Victoria) was a cut above most 5 stars.

The owner, Aaron Hojman, is a charming person, who happens to be blessed with superb taste, contacts, and the capacity to bring things to life, such as Casa Zinc.

We thought it was a restored building at first but he explained it started out as a showcase for his pieces of architectural objects and furniture collection. this means our room in particular was a marvel of black and white tiles, huge crane hand basin, massive re-enameled footed tub (bath), and huge planks of wood flooring, a fabulous bed and backboard made from ancient pine (the mattress was new and perfect, as was the bedding ), and the rest of the furnishings were an envy inducing long drawer cabinet, stenciled with numbers for each drawer, a classic architects desk. All the desk lamps were classic worn aluminum. The ceiling lights were converted industrial. The room windows were massive and recovered from an old Uruguayan train station. Huge roller blinds let us sleep in regardless (the sun comes out very early on the Atlantic coast).

Everything else was a series of details that only added more and more to our experience:
collections of our favorite US and European magazines (not discards, most were latest issues),
loaner bicycles and locks,
ipod compatible clock radio.

breakfast was fresh squeezed orange juice, cereal, crackers, fresh hot mini Uruguayan croissants, toast, jam, yogurt, milk, coffee, and fruit on request. The best thing was the flexible time allotted for this ever important meal, from 8:30 am to 4 pm (if I'm not mistaken), which really makes you feel like a spoiled guest. the best detail was the warmth and smiles of Victoria who prepared breakfast each day for us.

The owner, Aaron was in the midst of several of his own projects when we met him, but he still made plenty of time to sit down and tell us about his place, his previous homes, the style he cultivates, and show us article after article allusive to the theme.
On our last day, he called us on the phone to say goodbye (he was in Montevideo) and make sure everything had been to our liking.

Stephanie, who was in charge of the afternoon, was a pro. She recommended the right restaurants, and then called to confirm if they were open and had tables. if not, she would let us know so we didn't wander around lost.

A trip to the nearby Trading Post was also an opportunity to see similar pieces for sale.

great experience and we thank Tripadvisor for finding Casa Zinc.

Room Tip: Let them recommend which one is best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united states
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

Nestled on a quiet side road off the main highway through La Barra, Casa Zinc is a designer's dream. Aaron, his wife and his wonderful staff take great care of guests, offering endless advice on how to best enjoy Uruguay. The posada is very beautiful, filled with antiques from Aaron's store down the street. The rooms are large enough, the beds comfortable. The plumbing needs some kinks worked out. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Zinc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Zinc

Address: La Barra, La Barra, Maldonado, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Maldonado > La Barra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in La Barra
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Casa Zinc Hotel La Barra
Casa Zinc Uruguay/La Barra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Zinc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.