We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Guest Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glacier View
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homestead Guest Cabins
Save
You added Homestead Guest Cabins to your Saves list
31200 W. Lee Drive, Glacier View, AK 99674   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent two nights in cabin #2. We loved everything about our stay. Sandy and Dan have thought of everything. We wanted to pick blueberries and they were able to tell us where we could go to find them, then Sandy gave us the ingredients to make them. (And they were delicious.) The cabin is conveniently located close to two of the glacier trekking companies. The kitchen in the cabin is fully equipped to cook meals and there is a charcoal grill, too. But if you don't want to cook every meal, there are several places in the area where you can get a good meal. We especially enjoyed talking to Sandy about her life in Alaska and all the different things she and Dan have done. HIghly recommend Homestead cabins!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent one night in the small cabin and it was fantastic. The cabin is very cute and beautiful! You are in a small wooden cabin in the wood except that you have all the amenities (shower,small kitchen...). We even saw a moose and her calf!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Dan and Sandy were fabulous hosts during our stay in Cabin #2. The comfortable accommodations and hospitality were second-to-none. We cannot say enough great things about the cozy cabin and the wonderful, quiet setting which surrounded us. We can't wait to return this winter for another visit. There was plenty to do within the area from 4-wheeling to a wonderful hike in the mountains; what a view! Certainly a must see when visiting Glacier View, Alaska! Simply fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay – were supposed to stay only one night, but just couldn't resist staying longer! The cabins are cosy and very well decorated, with as much thought and attention to detail as if it was a home to the hosts. It seems like the hosts thought of everything you might want to have at hand during the stay – the kitchen is fully equipped up to the smallest detail, the barbecue is waiting for you behind the cabin, the list of nice restaurants is on the table as well as maps of some hikes in the area, and some books and DVDs are there in case of a rainy day. Sandy is extremely friendly and helpful - we spent quite some time chatting with her. And to top this all, the prices are very reasonable!
In short, the best accommodation we had during our trip in Alaska, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

we stayed one night at Homestead cabin. We had the smallest cabin. It was extremely comfortable and the hosts were wonderful. It's a good location, close to the Matanuska glacier. What a find! We loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Beautiful cabins with all luxuries in Glacier View. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin for one night to go for a early morning glacier hike and wished that we had stayed longer. It was comfortable and the decor was very cute. The kitchen is well equipped. We did not cook but anybody who wants to cook will have all the tools.Do buy groceries breakfast etc if you will be staying at these cabins. There are no grocery stores nearby. Loved the stay. It is Glamping at its best!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Web site: http://www.homesteadcabinsak.com/about-the-cabins.html

Our friends (4) and us (3) booked cabins 2 and 3 for one night. I just wish we had time to stay longer in this beautiful part of Alaska and in these lovely cabins. If I ever move to Alaska I would love to have similar cabin somewhere in the area. Gorgeous views everywhere you look.

Both cabins offer comfortable accommodations and nicely equipped kitchens. Cabin #3 has a spacious bathroom with washer and dryer; the owners even supplied the detergent. The bathroom in cabin #2 was a bit small however.

I loved the way owners decorated the cabins, they paid attention to the smallest details; the towels in the bathrooms were cleverly coordinated; all three sets from the same collection, but each had its own pattern or color. Great idea! Same was done in the larger cabin #3.
Each cabin has a charcoal grill and a fire pit. Both the charcoal and the firewood were generously supplied by the owners. On Sandy's advice when we booked, we purchased Alaskan salmon, shrimp, and salads at a supermarket in Palmer on the way to the cabins and had a great grilled dinner at night.

Dan and Sandy have a nice hiking trail just steps from the cabins. We saw a mama moose with a baby there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homestead Guest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Guest Cabins

Address: 31200 W. Lee Drive, Glacier View, AK 99674
Location: United States > Alaska > Glacier View
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Glacier View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three cozy hand crafted log cabins available year round in a quiet peaceful setting 1 hour from Palmer/ 2 hours from Anchorage - 5 miles from the Matanuska Glacier. Cabins are fully furnished with bedding, linens, dishes, stove, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, complete kitchen, private bathroom with shower. Cabins sleep 2-4, rate based on double occupancy. Hiking trails, recreational activities abundant in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Homestead Guest Cabins Alaska/Glacier View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestead Guest Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.