We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night in the campground” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mangaweka Adventure Co -

Mangaweka Adventure Co -
Hwy One, Mangaweka 4746, New Zealand
+646 382 5744
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 attractions in Mangaweka
Type: Bodies of Water
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Mangaweka Adventure Co, New Zealand is a great family stop. Raft or Kayak on the Rangitikei River with your whole family, ages 3yrs and up. Camp overnight at Awastone with riverside views, power sites and hot tub. Free walks in the area. Great food at the cafe under the DC3 on SH1. Mangaweka has it all for your family entertainment in New Zealand.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A night in the campground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Had a lovely night with the family in the Awastone camp ground - great location and really good facilities. Love to come back with friends and enjoy a longer stay.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We took 3 kids on the papa gorge trip and had a fabulous time. The scenery was amazing, the guide was fantastic, the cafe was lovely and the staff were all incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. Whilst it is often difficult to find an activity suitable for all 3 kids, this one was a fun experience for all of us. it wasnt very challenging which was fine for our youngest, but the 14 year old wanted a bit more adventure, so we did spins on the rapid, bounced off the cliff and they all climbed up a rock ledge and jumped off into the gently flowing water. We only wished that we had camped there.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunterville, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Enjoy the thrill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The river the scenery and the thrill of the ride. I strongly recommend this if you are passing through Mangaweka.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent fun for all of us.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We took a party of 6 teenagers and two adults for the Papa Gorge trip and had the best time. Fun friendly staff made the whole trip including the safety briefing interesting. The opportunity to take kayaks as well as the raft meant that we could try our hands at both. The cafe was excellent, the equipment was top notch and I would recommend this company to anyone. We intend to visit again for a longer trip and we are already looking forward to it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Paddling perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

There's no better weekend than paddling through stunning gorges.
Remote and tranquil, yet easily accessible with no long drives or epic portages.
Relaxing paddling in awesome company.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mangaweka Adventure Co -? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangaweka Adventure Co -, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mangaweka Adventure Co - to your Saves list